We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Dutch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Old Dutch to your Saves list
Hotel Old Dutch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haven 142, 1131 Volendam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Roebel, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were a night in this hotel.
The service team has been very kind. Our room reaches it to littly for a night, however.
A bad choice, the beds are arranged for couples and a long distance between both permanently arises however.
The toilet is minute and one just passes the basin.
The price is pleasant for a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I walked in not thinking the room rate would be within my budget and was pleasantly surprised with the non-standard low season rate I recieved as a walk-in. Got two rooms, one for my brother and his son, one for myself. Top floor facing the harbor. Enjoyed a couple of beers at the nice bar. Staff was very friendly.
Breakfast was included and outstanding, eggs, bacon, cheeses, tomatoes, breads, coffee and teas with all the trimmings. Got my day off to a good start before catching the roundtrip metro bus into Amsterdam for 7 euro's. It was cold outside but toasty in our rooms.
Cheese store, right down the street and several reasonable restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront, see a few of the old boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were in Volendam for 5 days last April during Flowers festival. Our stay at the Hotel Old Duch was a good experience. The Hotel is in the center of Volendam facing the nice port. The Hotel is charming and very clean. The position is excellent. There is a free parking at about 300 meters. Breakfast is perfect and abundant. Holland in April is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the old dutch for two nights. Very big and spacius room with a nice view to the ocean. WiFi is free and in a good speed. Parking is very close to the hotel and with NO charge. Small breakfast room with a verity of breads, ham, cheese, tomato, eggs, and more. Totaly worth the room rate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My companion has stayed at this hotel many times and told me it that it was great. I was not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful, the public areas clean and full of character. Our room was on the first floor with lovely views over the harbor. It was large with wooden floors and modern furniture, all very comfortable. The bathroom was equally large with a great shower, fluffy towels and immaculate.
The buffet breakfast was standard European fare and dinner in the restaurant was extremely good with large portions, well cooked. I was amazed to read some of the reviews here as I rated this hotel very highly and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: First floor, overlooking the harbor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

After a rainy cycle ride of 5 hours we arrived at the Old Dutch looking extremely wet and bedreaggled. Despite our appearance, we received a warm welcome. The man who checked us in also went out of his way to ensure that our bikes were safe and dry in the hotel's basement. When we reached our room we found it to be beeautifully appointed and very clean. The only things missing were tea and coffee making facilities and a hair drier.

We only stayed one night and had a lovely meal in the restaurant where the service was excellent. In the morning the breakfast was continental but with a good choice of meats, breads etc. I would definitley stay heres again. Oh and it has obviously had a revamp since the last posts as the decor (especially in our huge triple room) was clean and modern.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Old Dutch lived up to its name..really old! I stayed on the 1st floor, and when the elevator door opened, I see renovation work ongoing (looks like renovation). The walkway is a bit dark, and looks seedy. The room is big, and you can do a tango in there, but that is about the saving grace. The carpet looks worn and stained (I hope it was only coffee stains). The wood furniture looks a 100 years old, yellowed and cracked. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, and I didnt get a good night sleep. So much for trying to get a good rest at a vacation. The most annoying bit is the heater runs on centrally controlled thermostat. If the temperature outside doesnt get cold enough, you will be stuck without heating. If you want accomodation, there are other hotels/B&B which along the same stretch without having to put up with Old Dutch's inadequacies.

This is supposed to be a hotel, but a nearby B&B (which I stayed earlier) had a lot more to offer, and at a lower rate too.

P.S. You need to pay for Wifi at Old Dutch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Old Dutch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Dutch

Address: Haven 142, 1131 Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Old Dutch 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Old Dutch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Dutch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Dutch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.