We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Dutch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Old Dutch to your Saves list
Hotel Old Dutch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haven 142, 1131 EW Volendam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Certificate of Excellence
Roebel, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were a night in this hotel.
The service team has been very kind. Our room reaches it to littly for a night, however.
A bad choice, the beds are arranged for couples and a long distance between both permanently arises however.
The toilet is minute and one just passes the basin.
The price is pleasant for a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I walked in not thinking the room rate would be within my budget and was pleasantly surprised with the non-standard low season rate I recieved as a walk-in. Got two rooms, one for my brother and his son, one for myself. Top floor facing the harbor. Enjoyed a couple of beers at the nice bar. Staff was very friendly.
Breakfast was included and outstanding, eggs, bacon, cheeses, tomatoes, breads, coffee and teas with all the trimmings. Got my day off to a good start before catching the roundtrip metro bus into Amsterdam for 7 euro's. It was cold outside but toasty in our rooms.
Cheese store, right down the street and several reasonable restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront, see a few of the old boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were in Volendam for 5 days last April during Flowers festival. Our stay at the Hotel Old Duch was a good experience. The Hotel is in the center of Volendam facing the nice port. The Hotel is charming and very clean. The position is excellent. There is a free parking at about 300 meters. Breakfast is perfect and abundant. Holland in April is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at the old dutch for two nights. Very big and spacius room with a nice view to the ocean. WiFi is free and in a good speed. Parking is very close to the hotel and with NO charge. Small breakfast room with a verity of breads, ham, cheese, tomato, eggs, and more. Totaly worth the room rate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My companion has stayed at this hotel many times and told me it that it was great. I was not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful, the public areas clean and full of character. Our room was on the first floor with lovely views over the harbor. It was large with wooden floors and modern furniture, all very comfortable. The bathroom was equally large with a great shower, fluffy towels and immaculate.
The buffet breakfast was standard European fare and dinner in the restaurant was extremely good with large portions, well cooked. I was amazed to read some of the reviews here as I rated this hotel very highly and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: First floor, overlooking the harbor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

After a rainy cycle ride of 5 hours we arrived at the Old Dutch looking extremely wet and bedreaggled. Despite our appearance, we received a warm welcome. The man who checked us in also went out of his way to ensure that our bikes were safe and dry in the hotel's basement. When we reached our room we found it to be beeautifully appointed and very clean. The only things missing were tea and coffee making facilities and a hair drier.

We only stayed one night and had a lovely meal in the restaurant where the service was excellent. In the morning the breakfast was continental but with a good choice of meats, breads etc. I would definitley stay heres again. Oh and it has obviously had a revamp since the last posts as the decor (especially in our huge triple room) was clean and modern.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Old Dutch lived up to its name..really old! I stayed on the 1st floor, and when the elevator door opened, I see renovation work ongoing (looks like renovation). The walkway is a bit dark, and looks seedy. The room is big, and you can do a tango in there, but that is about the saving grace. The carpet looks worn and stained (I hope it was only coffee stains). The wood furniture looks a 100 years old, yellowed and cracked. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, and I didnt get a good night sleep. So much for trying to get a good rest at a vacation. The most annoying bit is the heater runs on centrally controlled thermostat. If the temperature outside doesnt get cold enough, you will be stuck without heating. If you want accomodation, there are other hotels/B&B which along the same stretch without having to put up with Old Dutch's inadequacies.

This is supposed to be a hotel, but a nearby B&B (which I stayed earlier) had a lot more to offer, and at a lower rate too.

P.S. You need to pay for Wifi at Old Dutch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volendam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
0.5 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen
2.7 mi away
Hof van Marken
Hof van Marken
#1 of 1 in Marken
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Dutch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Dutch

Address: Haven 142, 1131 EW Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Old Dutch 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes away from Amsterdam You will find Hotel Old Dutch / Restaurant Le Pompadour facing the world Famous Volendam harbour. At the Old Dutch traditional hospitality and comfort come together with a first-class view of the former Zuyderzee. With its 33 spacious, well-furnished rooms (for 1-, 2- or 3 persons) our hotel can accommodate various groups of holidaymakers. Small-scaled personal service will guarantee a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Old Dutch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Dutch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Dutch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.