We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Dutch village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volendam

Volendam
Volendam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$77*
and up
Amsterdam Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus...
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Volendam
Type: Civic Centers, Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Clubs
Attraction details
Egham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dutch village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A dutch authentic experience, close and easy to reach from Amsterdam. It can be done in a day trip and it is really an enjoyable experience if you are also lucky with the weather. In the harbor, they have a lot of places to eat, mostly fish specialties and fries, a lot of shops where one can take photos in Dutch costumes, as well as many souvenir shops. From there one can also take the boat to Marken(close by island), which is also a very nice place, just that smaller and much more quiet.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    186
    62
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Volendam is a must see when traveling Holland. Its a little out of the way but its a very beautiful, quaint little fishing village with tons of Souvenire shops (at fair prices), great buildings, and of course the boats. There are a few restraunts, though the one I ate at wasnt the best (really wish I could remember the name of that for you, but its the one that has the steps outfront and is kind of out of the way of the busy part, near the residential part of the strip.) There is a lot of history connected with this little town and it really does make a great afternoon trip. I highly recommend this little hidden, off the beaten path, location and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Make sure its fair weather outside as it is an outdoor activity. Again, make sure you are in the right location, its right off the water. Stop someone and ask, they will know what your talking about as soon as you mention all of the souvenire shops. Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Volemdam has the famous 'dijk' where all the tourist activity is concentrated. I would suggest to take a little effort to visit nearby Edam or Monnickendam to get a real taste of traditional Dutch villages. They're far more quiet and the atmosphere is more authentic.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't miss seeing Volendam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We tool a local bus (118) to Edam and Volendam, great way to travel as you travel like a local and not just a tourist so you get a better picture of how people do live in the Netherlands.
Yes it can be crowed and yes some would same commercialized but it was my second time to visit and I found it just a fascinating the second time as I did the first, so don't miss this off your list of places to visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGNETIC ISLAND
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful old fishing village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This resort is well worth a visit, it has good restaurants and numerous small shops. Coaches are now restricted to a one-way sytem due to the narrowness of streets.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volendam also viewed

Zaandam, North Holland Province
Marken, North Holland Province
 
Volendam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Volendam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volendam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.