We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spaander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spaander to your Saves list
Hotel Spaander
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Haven 15-19, NL-1131EP Volendam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is an older building and it takes an extra effort to keep it nice. They do a pretty good job of that. We were given the infamous room 116 on our first night. They were full-up that night and we got the looser room. It was noisy over the kitchen and that night they had a big party for a banquet and reception. We were switched to the nice four person suite the next two nights and it was great and quiet (room 231). All rooms are nice and clean. Rates are reasonable. It is a solid 3 star stay. I get frustrated all the time in Europe with star inflation. This hotel lacks high end comfort bedding, toiletries and shampoos, luxury towels, large tv's, upscale lighting, free coffee, and large bathrooms that characterize a 4* hotel. But it is clean, comfy and safe. The parking is good and close. The dining room is excellent and the service superb. The desk staff is friendly, multi-lingual and efficient. I will definitely stay again as long as I do not get room 116.

Room Tip: Any room but 116
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    59
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
60
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spangdahlem, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice now and I would definitely recommend. We like this hotel because of the location on the water and easy access to Amsterdam by bus. Both times we stayed in different style rooms. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is slightly expensive but we find that all food in the Netherlands tends to cost more than home. The only drawback is when driving to the hotel the access dike is only open for a short period of time so you have to plan perfect timing for parking... make sure to ask for the schedule and directions when booking.

Room Tip: Ask about access/schedule for Hotel Parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over Easter as part of a tour group. Room was satisfactory, but little clothes storage space. Bathroom had swing saloon doors, no question of maintaining privacy if needed! Shower very small, nowhere to put soap, shampoo etc except on the floor. Great risk of flooding the bathroom floor, due to shower head swinging round and being positioned 7' high.

Food good, but service incredibly slow. Dinner took 2 hours plus, and vegetables appeared at sporadic intervals.

Good position overlooking the Ijmeer, but access by coach a nightmare for the driver and could take 20 minutes.

A lot is made of the pictures on the walls. If your taste is images of elderly Dutch peasants, so be it, but in our view overrated.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Spent 2 nights on a recent business trip to Volendam. A really beautiful location overlooking the lake. The hotel is decorated in lovely warm and traditonal style. You do feel you are taking a step back in time. The staff are excellent and also wear traditional dress! It is clean and very well kept. Rooms are small but very adequate. Watch out for the fabulous paintings all over the hotel! Great location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was a nice hotel with a nice view. The breakfast buffet was extensive and items changed each day. Only issue I had was with internet access. The Wi-Fi is free, but terribly slow and almost non existent in the rooms. They have a computer in the lobby that I assumed was free to use, but the computer (running windows XP in 2014 sheesh) wanted 5 euros per hour of use. The front desk staff was all very nice and helpful, one working in the evening even helped me with booking my next hotel in Germany. The kitchen/wait staff was efficient but not as friendly.

I think this hotel mostly caters to an older (senior) crowd, but maybe that's just because of the time of year... Either way, it was quiet and comfortable.

I would stay here again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly, however if the term balcony ever meant anything to you it was certainly not as we expected or the view from it, the balcony was 2ft x 2ft and overlooking the door or the kitchen where understandably the staff go to relax cannot see where to attach picture. The other thing is if you are ever presented with room 116 and you are a light to moderate sleeper, then please refuse as the noise between 0210 and 0330 is quite loud. I understand that cleaning has to take place, but as the room is in the position it is in, all sounds, like water, sweeping and moving furniture is amplified.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Right in the heart of the tourist center of Volendam. Really cute little hotel. Lots of charm and character. Breakfast is great, although a tad expensive. Rooms are a bit dated, but relatively comfortable and the balcony we had was cool, had a nice cup of tea before bed. Very relaxing. Walls are a bit thin though, heard a crying baby next to us, thankfully it did not disrupt our sleep, we were so worried. Great location too, close to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Address: Haven 15-19, NL-1131EP Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spaander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spaander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.