We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spaander

Save Saved
You added Hotel Spaander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Spaander
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Haven 15-19, NL-1131EP Volendam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Volendam
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Hotel full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Spaander in Volendam is a lovely hotel. There are nice views across the Markermeer, towards Marken if you request a room at the right side. The rooms are fine, but I would have expected some tea & coffee making facilities (maybe I am comparing to typical UK hotels where this is the 'norm' these days). The hotel has a pool and sauna, which are excellent to relax in, after a days walking or cycling. I always found the staff to be more than helpful, and thankfully all speak excellent English.

The food is of good quality. Breakfast is buffet-style. I would have preferred to see a bit more selection of breakfast cereals, but again this may be more down to my UK experiences. There are certainly plenty other things to try (hot food, cold meat, bread, croissants etc).

I feel that 'Best Western' do not explain enough about the hotels location. Volendam used to be a busy fishing port and the streets are small and narrow. Access to the hotel can be tricky if you do not know what to expect. There are also restrictions on when the main access road can be used during the summer. Trying to find the hotel via your Sat-Nav will take you into the middle of a one-way system which is still some way from the actual hotel entrance - better to go through town and find the Zeedijk and Noordeinde roads (but do your homework first on access times, as due to the narrow road, there is a 1-way 'timed' system - access-only for 30 mins, then egress-only for 30 mins!). You then have to negotiate what would appear to be a pedestrian-area (but is just the normal road) before turning left at the harbour. Once you reach the car-park there is normally plenty of parking for residents, but it may be busy during the tourist season.

But don't let any of that put you off! The history of the Spaander is worth sampling. Their involvement with Dutch artists over the years makes it a little 'different' from most places. Certainly has bags of character. The surrounding bars and shops mean that you can meander along the dijk and take in the views across the water. The hotel also has a couple of bikes which can be borrowed. We spent a day having a lazy cycle to Edam and Hoorn. The excellent Dutch cycle paths make this both easy and enjoyable.

I would happily return for another visit (been 3 times so far).

Room Tip: Request a room with views across the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
49
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Definitely it is not the place for just a single night.
You have to spend more nights and days at Spaander to fully enjoy the charm of it. It is Holland spirit and soul, welcoming and cosy venue full of color and character. If you plan an overnight break do not choose this hotel, you will be disappointed as you will not have the time to get in the mood. But, if you plan a romantic escape over few days, it is the right place....tough, do it during summer, otherwise it can get chilly....and you will spend much time in the friendly bar to warm up.

Room Tip: Beware of the thin walls between some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I expect this hotel would rate as good in another setting but it cannot transcend its situation. Volendam is a slightly odd - a loud, brash seafront of 10 or so bars and restaurants, populated by masses of aggressive young drunks. I guess a stag do would work here but not the best place for a family to visit.

The facilities in the hotel were good as was the service. A fairly ordinary best western.

Parking difficult and hard to locate. Will not return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were a last minute check in and ended up getting a great rate. This is an old building that has a lot of character and is fun to be in and look around. The only down side was that there were a lot of stairs to climb because there was no elevator. They also included a breakfast with our room and the selection was fantastic. I would easily recommend this location.

Room Tip: if you have a lot of luggage make sure you as for one of the rooms using the elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed that for a 5star rated hitek the bedroom floor is not heated! Its freezing cold n no bedrm slippers supplied. For supposedly €100 a nite it is a big disappointment.
However luckily the reception girl is very friendly n polite n very informative.

The room is small with a unique bathtub. - a sitting tub.

Not too bad if you willing to spend €100 n get cold flooring.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel right in the middle of a very touristy parade of shops....weird, to say the least! Bit like going to Southend, but without the amusements, just a never-ending parade of tacky souvenirs and photos taken in Dutch costume. Once inside the uninspiring building, we had to negotiate round tables with diners to the reception area, which was to the rear of the hotel. Customer service was friendly & welcoming, and we got to our room (206) with great excitement, only to find our view was a bright green wall and a smell which told us we were overlooking the kitchens!! Not happy with the situation as we had paid in advance for a week's stay, we headed back to reception to see what could be done. We were told that for an extra 20 euros pppn, we could have a room overlooking the sea. As the receptionist could see we were not impressed with this idea, the rate reduced to 10 euros pppn. Still not impressed. In the end, given a room (304) at no extra charge, not ideal as were then looking over the hotels rooftops, but at least we didnt have the waft of chip fat. Our room was not cleaned on the 1st day,as the change of room foxed the cleaningstaff completely, but it was ok after that,apart from the odd toiletry not being replaced. Would we reccommend it? If you have a sense of humour and the patience of a saint, then yes.

Room Tip: choose a sea view to avoid noise and kitchen smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July. We were in a triple room, three separate beds with no option to push them together since they were in wooden boxes and they were all very uncomfortable. We were in room number three, which I do not recommend. It was very stuffy and hot with only one small fan. The hotel book advises to keep the windows closed unless you have a screen, of which we did not. So, with the windows all closed and one fan, the heat was unbearable. The room is right over the restraunt and faces the busy street, due to this we were woken up very early by the staff and delivery trucks. The bathroom is very small and there is no bar fridge.
On a positive note, the staff are very helpful and breakfast is good if you get it included in the room rate. If not, it is probably not worth the price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Address: Haven 15-19, NL-1131EP Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spaander 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spaander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.