We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient good location by the harbour....but freezing cold in winter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spaander

Save Saved
You added Hotel Spaander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Spaander
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Haven 15-19, NL-1131EP Volendam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Volendam
Georgetown, Malaysia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Convenient good location by the harbour....but freezing cold in winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed that for a 5star rated hitek the bedroom floor is not heated! Its freezing cold n no bedrm slippers supplied. For supposedly €100 a nite it is a big disappointment.
However luckily the reception girl is very friendly n polite n very informative.

The room is small with a unique bathtub. - a sitting tub.

Not too bad if you willing to spend €100 n get cold flooring.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
46
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel right in the middle of a very touristy parade of shops....weird, to say the least! Bit like going to Southend, but without the amusements, just a never-ending parade of tacky souvenirs and photos taken in Dutch costume. Once inside the uninspiring building, we had to negotiate round tables with diners to the reception area, which was to the rear of the hotel. Customer service was friendly & welcoming, and we got to our room (206) with great excitement, only to find our view was a bright green wall and a smell which told us we were overlooking the kitchens!! Not happy with the situation as we had paid in advance for a week's stay, we headed back to reception to see what could be done. We were told that for an extra 20 euros pppn, we could have a room overlooking the sea. As the receptionist could see we were not impressed with this idea, the rate reduced to 10 euros pppn. Still not impressed. In the end, given a room (304) at no extra charge, not ideal as were then looking over the hotels rooftops, but at least we didnt have the waft of chip fat. Our room was not cleaned on the 1st day,as the change of room foxed the cleaningstaff completely, but it was ok after that,apart from the odd toiletry not being replaced. Would we reccommend it? If you have a sense of humour and the patience of a saint, then yes.

Room Tip: choose a sea view to avoid noise and kitchen smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July. We were in a triple room, three separate beds with no option to push them together since they were in wooden boxes and they were all very uncomfortable. We were in room number three, which I do not recommend. It was very stuffy and hot with only one small fan. The hotel book advises to keep the windows closed unless you have a screen, of which we did not. So, with the windows all closed and one fan, the heat was unbearable. The room is right over the restraunt and faces the busy street, due to this we were woken up very early by the staff and delivery trucks. The bathroom is very small and there is no bar fridge.
On a positive note, the staff are very helpful and breakfast is good if you get it included in the room rate. If not, it is probably not worth the price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in June 2012, and, frankly, it was a mistake from start to finish. The hotel possibly has a marvellous past history, but, no longer. It's trading on its past glories, which would be fine if the fittings were all antiques, but they're not, it's become a mish-mash of styles and fittings. The room we had, 117, was very small, and with a minuscule bathroom with poorly laid-out fittings - my wife is 5' 4 1/2" and she couldn't see herself in the mirror, because the mirror had been installed by a member of the Dutch basketball team!

The restaurant served food popular in the 1970s - heavy sauces and fried accompaniments with everything. We didn't like it, probably, elderly Dutch folk do!

The hotel's business is now coach tours, day-trippers and small conferences. Fine, but, therefore, if you want to stay in the centre of Volendam, definitely don't pay anything anywhere near the rack rate - you'll be done if you do.

Room Tip: Don't book in in the first place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

It is located in a very nice place, just in front of the sea, in a pedestrian zone, rich of shops and restaurants. You can easily go in Amsterdam by public transport. The staff is kind and the reception and the publics area are very cosy. It also has a very nice swimming pool and three different kinds of sauna. The rooms are spacious and typical sea-style furnished. I suggest this place also because it is really close to a no traffic zone along the sea ideal for running.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel in Volendam, but we were advised to come here for dinner to its lovely restaurant. The walls are covered with painting, drafts and sketches of fishermen's life starting from 19th century and all this art is worth to be seen! Very nice to have an eat in such an interesting atmosphere. The restaurant has good service and simple, but true delicious food, not expensive. Recommend to come here for the uncommon experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Genesius Rode
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We arrived just after 21 h, and the kitchen was already closed. The staff could not help us, and in Volendam after 21 h it was very hard to find something to eat.
The hotel is oldfasioned. Nice for tourists, but not for business man an a trip.
Difficult to reach do to works on the road. Dangers to drive in the dark near the sea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Address: Haven 15-19, NL-1131EP Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spaander 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spaander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.