We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and very good spa area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spaander

Save Saved
You added Hotel Spaander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Spaander
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Haven 15-19, Volendam NL-1131EP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Volendam
Modena
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place and very good spa area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

It is located in a very nice place, just in front of the sea, in a pedestrian zone, rich of shops and restaurants. You can easily go in Amsterdam by public transport. The staff is kind and the reception and the publics area are very cosy. It also has a very nice swimming pool and three different kinds of sauna. The rooms are spacious and typical sea-style furnished. I suggest this place also because it is really close to a no traffic zone along the sea ideal for running.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
37
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel in Volendam, but we were advised to come here for dinner to its lovely restaurant. The walls are covered with painting, drafts and sketches of fishermen's life starting from 19th century and all this art is worth to be seen! Very nice to have an eat in such an interesting atmosphere. The restaurant has good service and simple, but true delicious food, not expensive. Recommend to come here for the uncommon experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Genesius Rode
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We arrived just after 21 h, and the kitchen was already closed. The staff could not help us, and in Volendam after 21 h it was very hard to find something to eat.
The hotel is oldfasioned. Nice for tourists, but not for business man an a trip.
Difficult to reach do to works on the road. Dangers to drive in the dark near the sea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Fantastic hotel in the perfect location for Volendam, Marken and Edam. The Staff were excellent and the facilities were ideal. Hired bikes from the hotel for a short 28km ride on the safe cycle routes and we are looking forward to returning. Brasserie Cathrien was right on the money for food and service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was a nice hotel for an escape and a break. Volendam is a fishing village converted to a tourist area. Getting to the hotel by car was a headache, posts are put up on the street blocking traffic on the GPS routes and it took a few requests for directions to find a circuitous route to the hotel. If going by car make sure to phone ahead and ask for directions!
The location is right on the lake and our room windows faced the lake over the hotel parking lot. Parking was free but limited, although this wasn't a problem for us.
Our first assigned room had poor wireless internet connections but the front desk was very accommodating in getting us a room closer to the end of the building where the wireless transmitter was located.
The hotel is right in the middle of all the tourist shops and right by the harbour. We didn't pay extra for breakfast but it looked very good.
The building itself is quite unique, very old style with twists and turns. You have to pass through the bar/ lunch room area to get to the elevator and stairs. The rooms are older (in keeping with the decor) and the furnishings and decorations older as well. The whole hotel's decor is very Dutch and cluttered with lots of amazing pictures and nicnacs.
There's a great seawall walk of about 2km to Edam (of cheese fame). It's a great area for bike riding and hiking through the Dutch countryside.

Room Tip: Get a seaview with balcony closer to the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Hi, I was there last week and it is a very quiet and nice place not only for those who travel for business, such as me, but also and especially for those who travel for leasure. Nice position, nice eating and woderful rooms full of typical paitings. Outside there are many good restaurants and shops. If you plan a small and quiet holiday in Holland, please have a look at Volendam...you won't regret!:-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I loved this hotel, and I loved Volendam. It was the highlight of our trip. The decor of the hotel simply swept me in. We were initially planning to stay in Amsterdam, but when we got there we discovered that Volendam is not part of the city but another town itself! Our first thoughts were to switch and move back to the city center, but when we got there, whoa! Volendam is what a local traveller's dreams are made up of. Though it initially seemed like we were making a mistake by not staying in the city center, if I were to recommend Amsterdam to someone I would tell them to live in Volendam and travel to Amsterdam instead! There is an excellent frequency of buses from Amsterdam to Volendam and back (116, 110, 118) and the countryside road between the two cities is breathtaking. It's a lovely little fishing village, and full of local history. This hotel is at the heart of that local history -- with over a thousand paintings of fishermen from back in time, and made in an arty, classy way. The bathroom could have been a bit bigger, but it was not so bad. Didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant or have the breakfast, but it looked like a nice place to sit in. Sadly, our room didn't have the view of the harbour, but the next time I'm going to go to the hotel (which I most certainly will!), I'm going to insist that we do!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western
Address: Haven 15-19, Volendam NL-1131EP, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spaander 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spaander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.