We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place in town (only place)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hof van Marken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hof van Marken to your Saves list
Hof van Marken
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buurt II, nr. 15, 1156 BC Marken, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marken
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best place in town (only place)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Pretty nice, we booked the suite room which was at the very top of old part of bulding the stairs were a little diffcult to get up with the suitcase but hey thats like most old dutch buldings, great view across the rooftops of Maarken,

If you drive you need to park in the car park which is on the main road and about 10 mins walk which is a pain with the bags, dont try to drive into town the locals get most upset,

Maarken itself is very quiet and a lovely place to spend a day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Cute and romantic hotel in the characteristic island of Marken, two minutes from the bus station and a few metres from the little port...with the bus in 40 minutes you arrive in Amsterdam or you can take a walk to the lighthouse in Marken seeing a lot of nature and animals.
Really recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stopped off here for one night on our way back to England from Sweden. It was near friends who live in Monnikendam - a delightful medieval "city" north of Amsterdam. Marken is an old farming/fishing village which was once an island in the Ijsselmeer but which is now joined to the mainland by a man-made isthmus. The older houses in the area are very close together and have wooden top floors with brick bases to withstand the frequent flooding when this was all part of the Zuiderzee. The hotel is more a restaurant and bar with rooms. But the few rooms they have are full of character and, as far as I know all en-suite. TV with international channels. Excellent views.
We dined with friends but breakfast here (charged extra) was served to order and was just perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room - but beware if this sort of thing is a problem - the stairs are VERY steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Hof is on the lovely island of Marken, which becomes a lot lovelier in the evening when the coach parties disappear, but even during the day, there are great walks and cycle rides that quickly take you away from the crowds. We had a lovely room at the top of the main building with views to the lake on 3 sides. You need to be a bit nimble on your feet as the stairs are very steep. Dinners are not cheap (c€37 a head), but they are delicious. The Azul Spanish red wine is good value at €24. The staff are friendly and helpful. Only small downside, the breakfasts (at €15 a head) are always bread, croissant, cheese, ham, egg, fruit salad and tea or coffee (very good coffee). Bit of variety would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We drove through the area and decided to have dinner in Marken. We came in a little late, but kitchen was still open. We came into a full of ambiance filled dining room and were offered the 3-course dinner for 36 EUR. p.p. Very good and reasonable priced. Recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We just loved our stay in the Hof van Marken. The hotel is nicely located in this old Dutch town close to Amsterdam. We stayed in a cosy room (the suite) and we enjoyed great views of the lake / sea and the meadows. The owners did their best to make our stay feel like a holiday. We would highly recommend the restaurant as well. The chef is keen on using products from local fisherman and farmers. We did not know how he did it, but the combination between the food and the wines was excellent.

Room Tip: The suites have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Yes we did enjoy our stay here at the Hof van Marken as the only hotel (and accomodation) I believe in Marken. If you are a tourist then you expect the place to be touristy and it is (blatantly). Overall we would have to give this hotel positive ratings but also share our experience. OK I come here because I work in the area but bring my wife along for company but still expect to be treated like real guests at a hotel. There are MANY bad hotels in the Amsterdam area (I've been to a few) and this is a GOOD hotel.
Quite charming and unique, we had the Suite which I believe is the best room in the hotel as it is the most expensive (no hotels are cheap in this area) - wonderful views in two directions as the room spreads around a corner. Also the bathroom is a good size with bath and shower combined. Very clean room. Described as a suite but really a reasonably sizeed double room with a two seater sofa. No additional facilities. Only on the second day where we offered a kettle for tea by the very lovely lady staff member. Not all staff (including owners) SEEMED too friendly or helpful, I emphasise SEEMED as this is the way they came across, if they meant to be friendly and helpful then that did not come across. (No offer of refreshment on arrival late evening when the bar and restaurant was closed (this is a hotel) or for an early breakfast before 8am).Actually this is also true for the whole resort, we met as many who were unfriendly as friendly - perhaps they are only human and get sick of English speaking tourists! Beware of the stairs - they are steep and narrow and if you have any form of disability then this is not the place for you.
The breakfast was OK, no choice offered and expensive at 15EUR compared to other hotels.
There are claims that this is the best place to eat in town, probably true but nothing special. We found our one evening meal nice but bland and again not cheap.
Overall a nice experience.

Room Tip: Go for the Studio room if you can afford it - largest, best spec and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hof van Marken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof van Marken

Address: Buurt II, nr. 15, 1156 BC Marken, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Marken
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hof van Marken 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hof van Marken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hof van Marken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.