We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preserved History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marken

Marken
Marken, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 2 attractions in Marken
Type: Civic Centers
Attraction Details
Buckhorn, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Preserved History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This town used to be only reachable by boat whereas now that the polders have been built there is a road to it. Being isolated for so many years has allowed the town to remain largely untouched by "progress." The wooden clapboard houses are as they were 300 years ago. It is a quaint fishing village that is a short 30 minute ferry ride from Volendam. Volendam in itself is an attraction where many people still wear the old style Dutch clothing. You can dress up in the clothing and have your photo taken. Very reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    84
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rivoli, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A day trip .... back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

First time in winter! An amazing oasis of peace! Just a few tourists, most of the restaurants and shops closed, silence and calm everywhere. Much of Marken’s appeal comes from walking around its narrow streets, surrounded by water and the traditional wooden houses.
If you are in Amsterdam there is a direct bus connection from the Central Station: 311 leaves from the northern side of the station (the side on the river IJ) and in half an hour you can easily reach this lovely fishing village.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Clogs on orde and the windmills at last!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our Marken tour was part of a tour that included Volendam. On the way to Markem we saw the famed windmills - many many of them and were also given a glimpse of their working ;insides'.

On the walk over the bridge to Marken we were fascinated by the opening up of the bridge to let a boat through. Mundane, probably, to many of you but to us landlubbers, and interesting sight.

And then there was Bart with his boots - or clogs to be precise. Funny, touristy, but all part of a pleasant holiday experience.

The countryside was nice too, and so were our driver Steph and the guide Danielle was informative.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Dutch clogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We walked around the cute fishing village and saw the typical green and white homes. We also found a Dutch shoe factory that still makes the wooden shoes. We watched a demonstration. I tried a pair on and found them to be very uncomfortable on my feet.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited Marken as a result of spending a lovely day in Volendam. Theres not much to see as its just a little fishing village with a few shops. If you want to round off your visit to Volendam, take the boat across to Marken and get the bus back into Monnickendam. Loved the boat journey and the beautiful views as we crossed to Marken.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marken also viewed

Volendam, North Holland Province
Zaandam, North Holland Province
 
Marken, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Marken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.