We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant De Engel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant De Engel
Heereweg 386, 2161 DG Lisse, The Netherlands
+31 (0) 252 21 18 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 25 Restaurants in Lisse
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely place for a drink or two on a sunny day; good food; very friendly & attentive staff. Glad we found this place!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in a very unassuming building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was staying in one of the rooms above the restaurant and decided to eat dinner at de Engel. I was not disappointed. The friendly and attentive waiter recommended some great dishes, so I started with a nice, flavorful French onion soup. My main course was a very tender and juicy steak, and, with the waiters recommendation, dessert was a chocolate mousse. Very nice meal. Decor was tasteful in modern in the restaurant, while a bit more "old school" in the bar area. Great experience. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

beautiful restaurant very modern and relaxing. The food was really lovely and the staff were so friendly and attentive.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Awful: like stepping through a time warp”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This reminded me of the restaurants I frequently encountered when I first visited the Netherlands more than 20 years ago. In that time food in the Netherlands has improved enormously, except apparently here.

The bar area was dark, with no windows and had carpet on the tables. I don't think I've seen that for at least 10 years. So we abandoned the bar and ate in the restaurant, which at least had windows.

The lunch menu was completely uninspiring. I had an uitsmijter (bread, cheese and two fried eggs), because the pancakes being served when we arrived looked really thick and unattractive. I thought (correctly) that they couldn't make a mess of an uitsmijter. My wife had the only salad on the menu (chicken), but this turned out to be a bowl of fried (greasy) chicken served with french bread.

It was cheap, but that is the only plus point.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I went to the Engel in Lisse for lunch. My husband had the tosti xl which sounded like a variation of the ubiquitous Dutch tosti. This consisted of two pieces of bread, one covered with ham, cheese with mustard pickle all warmed under the grill. So say it looked unappetising is an understatement. He could only eat half.
I had a regular broodje gezond which was okay but the red pepper/paprika slices still had the membrane attached and the tomato slices complete with discoloured stalk.
This restaurant probably does okay because of its location but I couldn't recommend it for the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant De Engel also viewed

Lisse, South Holland Province
Lisse, South Holland Province
 
Lisse, South Holland Province
Lisse, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant De Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant De Engel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.