We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tulips were out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keukenhof

Keukenhof
Stationsweg 166, 2161 Lisse, The Netherlands
+31 (0) 252 465 555
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$71*
and up
Skip the Line: Keukenhof Gardens Tour and Tulip...
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Lisse
Type: Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Keukenhof? That’s the place to see spring blossom. The park is unique, world famous, and has been one of the most popular destinations in the Netherlands for sixty years now. Haven’t seen Keukenhof? Then you haven’t seen the Netherlands. You won’t find such an abundance of colours and fragrances anywhere else. More than seven million flowers form a glorious decor for the most beautiful photos. Come to Keukenhof and enjoy the ultimate spring feeling, the wonderful works of art, the surprising insipration gardens and the many flower shows.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The tulips were out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We headed to Keukenhof Gardens with some trepidation as many reviews said there was nothing to see. We were, thankfully not disappointed as we had already put our trip back.
There was plenty to see and most of the flowers were out, the indoor exhibitions were impressive. The gardens are very well laid out and easy to get round with plenty of stopping places. If possible give yourself plenty of time 2 - 3 hours. Round the corner from the gardens there is a row of market stalls selling a great variety of bulbs -really good value.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,317
    500
    122
    52
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gordons Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Not enough tulips to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I know it was cold and the weather had an impact but the flowers in the fields were not enough, the exhibitions was awesome and fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
255 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Spectacular Field of Dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Well, I read about others comment mostly not a perfect day for them but for us especially with my wife & I who celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary Week in Europe ... That Saturday was a perfect , beautiful day for us knowingly that the weather forecast will be raining that day but I'm telling you that day was awesome, we came there very early not to much people around that's why we enjoyed every moment of it especially for my wife because she truly loves Tulips... and this trip was a surprise gift to her... I would really recommend to visit the garden when you are in The Netherlands whether any season of the year.. Of course the best months would be last week of April thru 2nd week of May...Thank you so much for the flowers field of dreams that makes me & my wife so amused & enjoyed every minute of it , very memorable & unforgettable experience for both of us...!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Day at Keukenhof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We are so glad we included Keukenhof in our Netherlands itinerary. We daytripped easily from Amsterdam, taking the train to Leiden, then walking out of the train station to the tourism office to buy a bus/entrance combo ticket, then rode the bus to the garden. There were plenty of food stands all over the park and lots of great photo opportunities. We were there with our infant and it was easy to take him around with the stoller/buggy. There were also changing tables in the restrooms, which was a nice service. I don't think our Netherlands trip would have been complete without a visit. Please feel free to browse our photos from our visit at http://www.lifewithzachary.com/2013/04/15/tulips/

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overcrowded, overpriced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The gardens were admittedly beautiful, but for us it was impossible to enjoy what with all of the other visitors. Battling the traffic to get the area should have served as a warning to us: it'll be just as crowded inside the park itself. We did go on a day with beautiful weather so perhaps that was the reason for the unexpectedly large swarm of other visitors, but if the Keukenhof is always that crowded I would definitely not recommend going. Why fight a crowd of tourists to visit a landscaped garden when you can bike or drive through the Bollenstreek yourself, exploring the tulip fields themselves? That's exactly what we did after spending approximately thirty minutes inside the park--escaped to the tulip fields and took a visit to the beach near Noordwijk. Recommended: buy your tickets online and skip the line at the main entrance, come with the train to save yourself the traffic headache if possible. Be prepared to pay extra for a map of the park (which you won't need, by the way, unless you're the kind of person who can't find your way out of a wet paper bag). If you don't mind dealing with a swarm of other tourists, this is the place for you---surely a great place to walk through on a rainy or cold day! But don't go if it's warm and sunny--explore the area around the park instead!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keukenhof also viewed

Lisse, South Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Zaandam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Keukenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keukenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.