We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tale of 2 halves” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Augusta Hotel to your Saves list
Augusta Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oranjestraat 98, 1975 DD Ijmuiden, Velsen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tale of 2 halves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Deco fabulous. Most of staff friendly. As long as you avoid room 1 then great rooms

Down side is the restaurant food over the top if you're staying more than one night! Restaurant staff miserable and in helpful! Crap bar menu so selection of food limited. If you get a nice waitress she may let you pick off the lunchtime menu which is better

Room Tip: Avoid room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
15
2
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel is placed close to the port area. Intriors are really nice - classic style. Very nice service. the best relation wine to the food in the restaurant I have ever seen - if You chose menu degustativo.
If You are for business in Ijmuiden - place is perfect.
Dont keep Your car under trees outside - birds will put so much sheet on Your it that You can not imagine - I drive to the car wash directly after leaving the hotel.

Room Tip: Dont stop Your car under the trees outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Everything about this hotel - staff, decor, service, food, comfort, everything - oozes charm, elegance and sophistaication.
I arrived in the evening at nearby Driehuis train station and not knowing the area I hadn't realised there would be no taxi rank. I telephoned the hotel reception and the receptionsit organised a taxi for me. Within 20 minutes of arriving at Driehuis I was in the hotel reception checking in.
The stairs are steep, and with luggage they are not easy to navigate. I don't believe there was a lift, but the receptionist offered to help me.
My room, on the second (top) floor was not just spacious, it was huge. A sitting area larger than the average living room in a UK new build house, large corner suite, sideboard with television and dvd player (dvds available from reception at no extra cost). A large bed, comfy bedding. Full size desk with ample space to work and FREE high speed (and I mean high speed) wifi internet. The ensuite was also spacious, elegant and clean with lovely olive oil toiletries.
Breakfast is served in a parlour style lounge next to reception. There is a choice of Dutch or English (cooked) breakfast. I opted for Dutch both mornings and was presented with a bread basket, yoghurt, fruit, egg, cheese (cold meats also available), cereal, fresh juice, coffee and so on.
I ate in the hotel restaurant on the second night of my stay and was not disappointed - I will write a separate review.
If there was one thing I would add it would be tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom, but they aren't a show stopper and I will definitely stay at this hotel again if I am (even vaguely) in the area. I could rave about this hotel for pages and pages - but nothing I write here will do this hotel justice. Go and try it for yourself, I doubt you will be disappointed.

The local area: I am told there is a water taxi from nearby that gets into the centre of Amsterdam within 30 minutes and I am told there are plenty of cycle routes in the area. Certainly the beach isn't far and it is beautiful.

Hope you enjoy your stay at the Hotel Augusta!

Room Tip: I had a corner room on the top floor for 100 euros per night bed and breakfast. I am told all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stayed at the Augusta hotel for only two night because of a working trip in Ijmuiden.

Excellent restaurant and rooms.

The staff was really nice and available for any request. The restaurant served a good dinner. I confirm the good quality of the hotel. I will surely come back for my working trips in Ijmuiden.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Arriving in Ijmuiden, you would not believe that a classy hotel could be lurking in the back streets between the steelworks, locks and fish market. But there it is, looking ok from the outside, but once inside the splendour of the place hits you in the face.
I had been allocated one of the suites on the top floor, and it was wonderful, a huge bed, spar bath, walk in shower, large TV, mini bar, i pod dock and free internet. And with a balcony, but in truth the view is not pretty.
The dining room is wonderful, with a sort of art deco theme, and feeling intimate enough for couples but also able to cope with large groups.
There is an equally wonderful bar, with friendly staff and complete with good beer and a fine selection of spirits.

Room Tip: Light sleepers might need earplugs as seagulls do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Augusta (again) for one night in December. The Hotel is a "hidden gem" - clean and comfortable rooms, excellent food (both dinner & breakfast), friendly & efficient staff and a welcoming bar in which to relax.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I was surprised how charmant hotel and restaurant are... Rooms are very comfortable, everything has a nice stile (old and modern); very tasty food, nice wines. And, what makes your stay in hotel really good and comfortable - NICE AND FRIENDLY TEAM. Further more: excellent service in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner), clean room and fresh towels every day... Highly recommended for business meetings, romantic stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Augusta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Hotel

Address: Oranjestraat 98, 1975 DD Ijmuiden, Velsen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Ijmuiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Augusta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.