We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, poor location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kennemerboulevard 250, 1976 EG Ijmuiden, Velsen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Millarville, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, poor location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Check-in went smoothly. Our room was quite nice with a comfortable bed but not great pillows. The room was relatively quiet. This was my first time in Holland, I should've done a little more research on the location. The town of Ijmuiden is very industrial. Looking at the pictures of the hotel, marina, beach etc. it looked like a great spot. Unfortunately, there is a huge steel mill very close by and many industrial buildings. Perhaps in the summer when the weather is warm, you can overlook the industrial area and enjoy the beach/sea/wind. The hotel itself was fine but I wouldn't stay there again because of the location. We had appetizers and drinks in the restaurant when we arrived because our room wasn't ready. There were only a couple of other people in the restaurant so the service should've been great but it was very slow and I found the food to be expensive and mediocre at best. We didn't eat there again. I also found this Holiday Inn to not be up to the same standards as they are in Canada or the U.S. They could be a little more generous with their toiletries and the look of the hotel in general is a bit drab. We were very close to the bus line which was convenient for a day trip to Haarlem, which we loved. I'm glad we only had 3 nights in this location before we moved on to Amsterdam. One night would've been enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten_M188596, Manager at Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear sir, madam,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay in our hotel.
We will discuss your remarks about the service with our restaurant staff.

Kind regards,

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    75
    58
    10
    9
See reviews for
25
76
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms are so cold there is wind inside.
Staff and management is not good.
Food is not good.
Service is the inadequate.
I believe this is not a usual Holiday Inn quality hotel.
NOT SUGGESTED AT ALL!

We came here to attend a 4 seminar. The room was so cold that you could feel the wind inside! The hallways and the elevators are warmer than the room! When you call the hotel staff to check if the heater was broken they sent the waiter in the restaurant! The heater was stopping every 15 minutes by itself. The warmest air the heater was giving out was so cold that even the hotel staff who came to check the heater said: "it gives kind of an warm air! but this is it we are sorry. we have climate control! Then we believe we have different understanding of climates!" Me and my friend here would like to point out that this is a branch of an INTERNATIONAL CHAIN OF HOTELS.we have the right to expect to stay warm enough!
The water in the room was getting off balance and a bit colder when we were taking a shower. It did it every 2-3 mins by itself!
The seminar lasted long hours during our stay and when we came out of the seminar; we could not find any food. Even when the room service was open and we went to the restaurant they told us that we could not eat there only room service was open.
Moreover, the only food I could find was a frozen pizza at the room service and it had a HAIR in it! When I called to order a new one or to have it deducted from my bill: The room service said that they have to CHECK how much of the pizza was eaten!!!!
Also; the restaurant food was expensive. Almsot everything was OVER SALTY and generally never came as ordered. Once we went for a lunch there were 6 tables and 1 waiter. Everyone went to the counter to self order it. We even needed to get our own spoon for the soup.
When we wanted the hamburger and ordered it "very very very well done": inside it came in a form of pink mince!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Su S,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room temperature, customer service and food selection which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

stayed 5days in this HI during November 12, for a business trip.
Pros: friendly staff, warm bar/restaurant, large room, marina view, correct breakfast. free and fast internet
Cons: far from every thing, no amenities in the bathroom, no currency exchange office (has to drive to Harlem for that), room bit cold

Room Tip: marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear DZtrotter,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am glad to read you appreciate our staff service and rooms. However, I am sorry that on this day you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the amenities and hotel location. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable feedback as this is our best resource of improving our services.

Once again, thank you for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently used our reward points to stay here for 3 nights. Hotel and staff were excellent. Spacious, updated rooms. We had views of Marina and smoke stacks from our room. Breakfast and restaurant were both very good. Delicious Chinese Restaurant also next door to hotel. Lengthy trip by public transportation to city center of Amsterdam. Bus and boat ride combination shorter if transfers coordinate, otherwise longer. At least an hour by bus. Visited Village of Zaanse Shans, nearby on last day. If not centering visit on Amsterdam, it's a good value.

Room Tip: Request upper level room overlooking marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten_M188596, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear sir, madam,

Many thanks for leaving your positive comments at Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to read that you also enjoyed our hotel, its location and the wonderful Chinese restaurant next door. It is also good that you mentioned the sightseeing possibillities like Amsterdam and Zaanse Schans. And indeed, it is not far from the hotel.

Thank you very much and we hope to meet you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went here with about 80 colleagues for a teambuilding day and a party in the evening. The rooms are quite big and you either have a view on the marina or the dunes. Across the hotel is a pavilion and after our teambuilding activities we had a bbq and party there: that was nice. The hotel is close to the beach. IJmuiden is not that interesting, but if you have to stay in the area this hotel is a nice option!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Beriha,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation. We are delighted to learn that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

Since our guests are the center of our focus, it is customary for our hotel staff to continually create and provide the best product always. Therefore, we are pleased that these efforts reflected in your total guest experience.

If in the future you find yourself in our area or if your business travels bring you back to our hotel we would love to have you as our guest again, as it would be a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The best view in Amsterdam
Top security for car
Personnel : 4 star, very nice
room : 4 stars - beautifull big room, desk, table, chairs......

restaurant..

Romantic moment with girl friend ..... she fall in love......
sauna, fitness, ...

Magnific View on the marina from the room, and possibilité to do wind surf on the beach....

Thank you very much !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MANO - VERSAILLES

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten_M188596, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear sir, madam,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed our hotel and its location.

We are looking forward seeing you again in the Holiday Inn IJmuiden Seaport Beach.

Kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There is an old Greek proverb which states: Promise only what you can deliver, then deliver more then you have promised. In case of the Holliday Inn Ijmuiden we can now truly say this is the case.

From check inn all the way to check out we have encountered nothing but positivity. From the team members on check in, the team in the restaurant with especially Andreas who now made our meal in the restaurant most pleasant by displaying his knowledge about the food and wine down to the team members who served our breakfast and asked if everything was in order.

These small touches that have been noted by us during our stay last weekend are exceeding the expectations a Holliday Inn customer would have from a core brand IHG hotel but make the stay special.

This time your team has proven that your hotel is a home away from home and that they are proud of performing their jobs within the hotel. Everyone had a smile on their face and everyone was genuinely interested in the wellbeing of the guests (and they weren't only the guests in our party)

Therefore I would like to thank you for a fantastic stay in your hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ijmuiden
1.2 mi away
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ijmuiden
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
3.1 mi away
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
#1 of 3 in Santpoort-Noord
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
5.2 mi away
NH Zandvoort
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
3.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
NH Heemskerk Marquette
NH Heemskerk Marquette
#1 of 1 in Heemskerk
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
13.7 mi away
De Palatijn
De Palatijn
#1 of 6 in Alkmaar
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa de Klughte
Hotel Villa de Klughte
#3 of 4 in Wijk aan Zee
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach

Address: Kennemerboulevard 250, 1976 EG Ijmuiden, Velsen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Ijmuiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn IJmuiden Seaport Beach hotel is very well located directly at the beach and just 25 minutes from Amsterdam. At just 150 meters from the beach, the hotel offers a panoramical view overlooking the North Sea and the largest channel-locks of Europe. The hotel is a perfect alternative for Amsterdam hotels for both leisure and business trips. We offer 146 modern equipped rooms, including 28 Business Rooms, 100 Superior Rooms, 16 Suites (including 8 Family Suites) and 2 Superior Suites (smoking & non-smoking). Both Superior Suites are equipped with an atmospheric lighted marble whirlpool besides the bathroom, as well as an open fire in the living. Because of the splendid location between the dunes, a full service Marina and the National Park Kennemerduinen , a breathtaking view from all rooms is guaranteed. For all your business and private events the hotel offers 13 multifunctional Conference & Event rooms, fully equipped with modern facilities. Organizing your banquets, meetings, conferences and parties is what we do best. Apart from our internal leisure facilities such as Finnish Sauna, Turkish Steam bath and Fitness Center, we offer our guests relaxation in a variety of ways. Transfer using the Fast Flying Ferry from Amsterdam City Centre will take 25 minutes. Schiphol Airport is only 20 km away and also the cities of Haarlem and Alkmaar are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach Hotel Ijmuiden
Ijmuiden Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.