We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Magneet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Magneet to your Saves list
Hotel de Magneet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kleine Oost 5, 1621 GR Hoorn, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hoorn
westyorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A lovely hotel in a remarkable location, both for the town and the harbour. My wife is disabled and we have to take care when choosing hotels, and this was perfect for us. The owners and staff were both efficient and kind, and always put their customers` needs first. The room was very clean and very comfortable and the owners suggested that we borrow one of their stools which helped my wife in the shower. The food was good with plenty of choice of cheeses, meats and breads for breakfast and a well presented and appetising evening meal, which tasted marvellous. We enjoyed our stay so much and will return with the family. Congratulations must be handed to both the owners and staff who ensure your stay is as perfect as possible.

Room Tip: The ground-floor room was perfect for those in a wheelchair, and one can borrow a stool to help in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Exceptional and friendly services from check in till check out.
Great location for Hoorn five minutes walk to harbour and environs ten minutes drive to ring road.
Good continental breakfast.
Rooms slightly dated.
All spotlessly clean

Room Tip: Free car park opposite hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in October 2013. The room was a triple off a main courtyard. It was clean and spacious with a good sized bathroom and a walk in shower.

The owners were friendly and very helpful. They offered an accessible room (without pre-booking), loan of a local cycle map and even a late breakfast when we got the time wrong and overslept.

This excellent service and the short walk to local restaurants and amenities means that we would have no hesitation staying here again or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a little gem.
Very friendly and helpful owners. The room we had was in the courtyard next to a small lily/fish pond and was peaceful and delightful. Everything in the room was more than adequate.
The continental breakfast was very acceptable. Parking is in a small,quite tight car park just over the road, but also the street parking is OK. It's a very short walk into the centre of Hoorn and its lovely old steets with buildings leaning rather precariously in different directions.
Its a half hour train ride into Amsterdam and given the traffic and parking problems there, the best way to have a day in the city.
Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Reading some of the negative reviews, I did wonder if these had stayed in the same hotel! This is a great little place, a stone's throw away from the harbour. We decided to visit Hoorn at the end of a holiday to the Mosel wine festivals before heading back to Newcastle via the ferry from Amsterdam. The 3 night stopover was a perfect introduction to this beautiful town and area. the welcome we received was really friendly, the room was spot-on, and breakfast was waht i would consideer to be a good continental selection. There is a car park but also plenty of street parking in the vicinity. We shall return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I can only agree with all the positive reviews. We had a garden room which was a nice surprise and very convenient. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom seemed recently refurbished. Location is excellent by one of the lovely canals, close to town and the sea, but quiet. Breakfast was quite basic, but the delicious hot croissants made up for that! Hoorn itself is a very picturesque and interesting town, so all in all a very nice stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel was a great find. A pity we could stay only one night. The location is fabulous right next to the East bridge entrance to the old town of Hoorn.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable and located in individual 2 level buildings behind the main building. We had an upstairs room for four and the ceiling height was a little low at the sides of the bedroom but as the children used these beds it was no big issue. The room was certainly more spacious than a number of others we have stayed in.
The real asset at this hotel was the friendly staff. Extremely welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. From the email prior to our arrival advising directions to the helpful tips on the scenic route as we left, it was the full service. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely look it up again if/when we return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Magneet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Magneet

Address: Kleine Oost 5, 1621 GR Hoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Magneet 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Magneet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Magneet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.