We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Magneet

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Magneet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Magneet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kleine Oost 5, 1621 GR Hoorn, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Hoorn
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Kind hosts - nothing was too much trouble. They were friendly and answered any questions we had about the local area. Delicious breakfast and nice choice of local drinks at the bar. Very close to town and a some lovely restaurants too, especially Brasserie Buiten and Insola Bella.

Garden rooms perfect for getting a pushchair through without needing to use the steps. Travel cot was great. Thicker curtains would have been the only tiny thing I would change.
We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 16, off the garden was really nice and out of the way, with easy access for a pushchair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
21
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We loved our stay in Hoorn. The town is very quiet and a great place to stroll. Our host was the very kindest. Our meals were first class. Our host went far above hospitality by explaining tulip farms, local history, etc...

Room Tip: The new rooms in the new addition have a lovely view of the canal and the new bathroom is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hotel Hoorn is in a quiet street and it was pleasant to stay here for a couple of days. From Hoorn transport is available to Amsterdam or many other interesting places in Holland either by bus or train. Its very easy to get around.

Room Tip: This family run hotel was very comfortable with emphasis to detail. The room was in the garden with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a lovely small inn with easy driving access and free parking (look for the Hotel de Magneet parking sign across the street and just before the hotel, then park behind other buildings). We had a room off the beautiful patio. Everything is spotless, the bathroom is very up-to-date, the young couple running the inn are helpful and charming and the breakfast was very good and was served in a pretty dining room. The location is great - just out of the hub-bub of the city center but within a few minutes walking to the old harbor and the center. This is not a large or luxurious hotel but a well-run and very comfortable inn that is a very good value. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't know what the rooms are like inside the main building, but we really enjoyed walking thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

There's little to add to the other reviews in that this place is great value for money, it's in a good location (quiet but near the harbour and the centre), has its own car park just over the road, is really clean and the owners are always around and are helpful. Hoorn is a beautiful town and with the station only ten minutes walk away, Amsterdam is an easy day trip. We stayed for five nights and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our little room, #10, was spotlessly clean and overlooked the quiet courtyard and pond. The full-sized bathtub with shower, rather than a shower only, was an unexpected bonus that we appreciated.

The included breakfast was set out beautifully in the dining room - I liked the variety and little extras ... service was warm and cheerful and the dining room well appointed.

The hotel is located near the four harbours and easypeasy walking distance of the old town centre - for sight-seeing and shopping. We were there for the old time Cheese Markt re-enactment done on Thursdays during the high season, and enjoyed it.

We stayed for three nights and can recommend it highly if you will be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hotel De Magneet is very clean but lacking in hotel facilities as it closes each evening at 10pm and closes all day on Sundays after breakfast until breakfast Monday. The only access we had during those times was to the bedrooms and garden like a hostel. It was very disappointing for us as there was a group of 6 people, two people aged 90 and 84, and it would have been nice to sit and chat in the hotel. I only saw one room which was used for breakfast and evening meal, there didn't seem to be any foyer or lounge. It was very clean and the person who looked after us was very friendly and helpful but not helpful enough to stay open for an extra hour the night we arrived at 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Magneet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Magneet

Address: Kleine Oost 5, 1621 GR Hoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Hoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Magneet 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel de Magneet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Magneet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.