We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in Hotel Hoorn Holland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Magneet

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Magneet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Magneet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kleine Oost 5, 1621 GR Hoorn, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hoorn
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A few days in Hotel Hoorn Holland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hotel Hoorn is in a quiet street and it was pleasant to stay here for a couple of days. From Hoorn transport is available to Amsterdam or many other interesting places in Holland either by bus or train. Its very easy to get around.

Room Tip: This family run hotel was very comfortable with emphasis to detail. The room was in the garden with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
21
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a lovely small inn with easy driving access and free parking (look for the Hotel de Magneet parking sign across the street and just before the hotel, then park behind other buildings). We had a room off the beautiful patio. Everything is spotless, the bathroom is very up-to-date, the young couple running the inn are helpful and charming and the breakfast was very good and was served in a pretty dining room. The location is great - just out of the hub-bub of the city center but within a few minutes walking to the old harbor and the center. This is not a large or luxurious hotel but a well-run and very comfortable inn that is a very good value. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't know what the rooms are like inside the main building, but we really enjoyed walking thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

There's little to add to the other reviews in that this place is great value for money, it's in a good location (quiet but near the harbour and the centre), has its own car park just over the road, is really clean and the owners are always around and are helpful. Hoorn is a beautiful town and with the station only ten minutes walk away, Amsterdam is an easy day trip. We stayed for five nights and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our little room, #10, was spotlessly clean and overlooked the quiet courtyard and pond. The full-sized bathtub with shower, rather than a shower only, was an unexpected bonus that we appreciated.

The included breakfast was set out beautifully in the dining room - I liked the variety and little extras ... service was warm and cheerful and the dining room well appointed.

The hotel is located near the four harbours and easypeasy walking distance of the old town centre - for sight-seeing and shopping. We were there for the old time Cheese Markt re-enactment done on Thursdays during the high season, and enjoyed it.

We stayed for three nights and can recommend it highly if you will be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hotel De Magneet is very clean but lacking in hotel facilities as it closes each evening at 10pm and closes all day on Sundays after breakfast until breakfast Monday. The only access we had during those times was to the bedrooms and garden like a hostel. It was very disappointing for us as there was a group of 6 people, two people aged 90 and 84, and it would have been nice to sit and chat in the hotel. I only saw one room which was used for breakfast and evening meal, there didn't seem to be any foyer or lounge. It was very clean and the person who looked after us was very friendly and helpful but not helpful enough to stay open for an extra hour the night we arrived at 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Hoorn is a beautiful place and De Magneet is a beautiful surprise! We found everything we were looking for. Staff very helpful, room very clean and we liked the mini apartment (12) we did stay. Position is absolutely perfect.
Very recommended.
We did prefer (good choice) to stay in Hoorn instead of staying in Amsterdam and having a day trip to Hoorn (30 min journey).

Room Tip: We only stayed in room 12 (mini-apartment) and was quite, clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallaght, dublin ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We arrived here with 16 in our party and a baby. The hotel is very pleasant and the staff are very helpful. The Hotel is about 10 minutes from the Centre of Hoorn and is based down near the Harbour. Its location is ideal to explore lots of little streets and old parts of the harbour on the way to the centre.

Rooms? The rooms are very clean, great shower and comfortable. We stayed in room 16 with a small baby and it was a tight squeeze, looking back we could have asked for a bigger room (some of our family had some) but we didnt bother. In fact the rooms outside the main building are actually small chalets.

The breakfast was the usual continental bread and cheeses, eggs, etc, and set us up nicely for the day.

All in all, very little complaints from this lovely hotel on the south east part of Horrn and as said already a super location to explore the town of Hoorn.

Room Tip: If you have a baby request a room like room 11. Huge space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Magneet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Magneet

Address: Kleine Oost 5, 1621 GR Hoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Magneet 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Magneet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Magneet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.