We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low quality Italian, nothing impressive at all” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Il Porto

Il Porto
Havenstraat 32, 1211 KM Hilversum, The Netherlands
035-6230079
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 94 Restaurants in Hilversum
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Low quality Italian, nothing impressive at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Decor and simple Italian menu seem rather attractive but then once inside, the owner is not too friendly and seems to just keep himself behind his counter whilst the local girl does the work and the talking. Food very bland and owner did not seem too impressed when we asked for more parmesan cheese on the salad which was meant to have parmesan on it anyway. Also had to ask for black pepper and balsamic. We had all had a drink each and my son asked for a glass of tap water. He was told that they did not serve tap water and they only sold mineral water. Finally, when we asked for the bill, he expected us to wait indefinitely and made us wait in excess of 10 minutes. I was tempted to walk out and maybe he would have been more prompt with our request for the bill. Don't think we would be rushing back and definitely will not be recommending to friends. Very disappointing but so much potential to be so good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Low quality Italian restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I ate at this restaurant with my family - seven dinners - and at best the meals were average. It may be a good Italian restaurant in Hilversum but it certainly is not anywhere else.

The appetizers were nothing special. Asparagus was overcooked, wrapped in prosciutto. Antipasti selection was average.

Several diners ordered spaghetti and meatballs and received ziti instead, with a tomato based sauce overly spiced with chili powder. We also order a fish special and pork and while they were not bad, they were not very good either. The pork fillets were not tender and the sauce was rather bland. The fish was basically pan fried, sprinkled with garnish - very little added on the creative side. Side of peas were mushy.

Maybe the most disheartening part of the dining experience is the arrogance of the owner/chef. He seems to believe he does no wrong.

As a note, I eaten at Italian restaurants for thirty years in major cities throughout Europe and the US and this does even rank in my top fifty Italian dinners.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilversum
2 reviews
“Great authentic Southern Italian trattatoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Great anitpasti, pasta, pizza but the best is the fresh fish on the grill....

Good food, no fuzz, a bit slow but the food is worth waiting for

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in hilversum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Been coming here for years. The owner is italian and prepares the food himself. Yes it may take awhile but it's worth the wait.
Don't go here if you want fast-food pizza.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilversum
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not bother with il porto”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

There is no way this is the best restaurant in HIlversum. Have just returned from a truly appalling meal there. We arrived at 20.30, and didn't get a starter until 21.30. The food was very average and the service terrible. By 22.30 we still had not received our main courses so decided to leave. There was no apology from the staff or manager, and instead we were manhandled and abused for daring to complain. A truly awful evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Porto also viewed

Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 
Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 

Been to Il Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.