We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb Villa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Trompenberg

Hotel Villa Trompenberg
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Trompenberg to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Trompenberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chr. de Wetlaan 1, 1217 JJ Hilversum, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Superb Villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A beautiful and nicely decorated hotel, which has its own little garden. The closest train station is around a 15 minute walk away (Hilversum Media Park). You can eat breakfast for 10 euros if you want to include it. Only down side was, that there were no supermarkets near the hotel, so you had to bring groceries from the center or from Amsterdam. But I would still recommend the hotel for a quiet escape.

Hilversum itself is a quiet little suburban town, which has a mall with the basic shops in it. Recommended if you don't fancy going to Amsterdam everyday via train (~20 minutes via train).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

+ family run hotel, location is very close to train station, good breakfast with delicious bread, easy entry even after reception close, nice rooms in classical house, free fast wifi, rituals soap

- ?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here for the second time and can highly recommend it. Rooms are really comfi and clean, the owners are very nice. The beds are amazing. I slept like I was in heaven. Breakfast is good also. It's a bit outside of the center of town but it's a nice walk. I wish I could have stayed longer but will stay here on my next business trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Villa Trompenberg for the second time in the past three years and we really enjoyed both of our stays very much. Trompenberg is a small family run Hotel located quite centrally, but quiet and ideal for exploring the region. The Trompenberg has a lovely design and the rooms are very well presented. The beds are awesome - I came with a slight back pain and left without it! The breakfast is excellent and there is free, excellent espresso coffees and teas throughout the day. We will certainly choose this Hotel again when traveling to this area or to Amsterdam, which is less than 30 min away.

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms on the ground level both time and they were both very nice and quiet. The large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Having had several rather unpleasant stays in Hilversum at tired Tulip Inn or the awful Grand Amrath (not to be mistaken with the one in Amsterdam) Hilversum and NH Hotel in Bussum this is a very nice choice. Its a self service villa type hotel with nice big comfortable beds, great baths, help yourself drinks to very reasonable prices and to affordable prices. Since I am a frequent traveller to this area this will be my preferred hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Delightful, classy and charming small hotel in redone old mansion in a quiet and beautiful neighborhood. Loads of character and design. Hilversum has hills! and loads of big beautiful old mansions. Good bed, characterful room, super breakfast for a very reasonable price. In Amsterdam this place would probably run around 300E a night, here it is slightly upwards of 100E depending on the room. Great choice for exploring this absolutely beautiful and unique part of the Netherlands just SE of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if you prefer not to use stairs. Room #4 has a sitting room surrounded by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We I stayed here as a result of a review in Trip Advisor and were pleasantly surprised. We had a long overbite flight from Vancouver and were tired and arrived a bit earlier. They made up the room and we were able to enjoy a very restful nap on a scrumptious bed. The self check in is our first and it was very simple with the code they send you by email to enter. If you wanted anything, you just had to ring the bell. They have new bicycles to rent for 3e per day. It is in a classy area of Hilversum and close enough to commute to Amsterdam. We had a car and took less than 30 minutes. Chandelier over our bed was unique. Breakfast was 10e extra each, but well worth it and recommend. Everything was freshly made and egg could be had any style. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had Room #3. No stairs and easy access and view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa Trompenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Trompenberg

Address: Chr. de Wetlaan 1, 1217 JJ Hilversum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hilversum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Trompenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Trompenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Trompenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.