We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Trompenberg

Hotel Villa Trompenberg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Trompenberg to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Trompenberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chr. de Wetlaan 1, 1217 JJ Hilversum, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Leipzig
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“feels like heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here for the second time and can highly recommend it. Rooms are really comfi and clean, the owners are very nice. The beds are amazing. I slept like I was in heaven. Breakfast is good also. It's a bit outside of the center of town but it's a nice walk. I wish I could have stayed longer but will stay here on my next business trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Villa Trompenberg for the second time in the past three years and we really enjoyed both of our stays very much. Trompenberg is a small family run Hotel located quite centrally, but quiet and ideal for exploring the region. The Trompenberg has a lovely design and the rooms are very well presented. The beds are awesome - I came with a slight back pain and left without it! The breakfast is excellent and there is free, excellent espresso coffees and teas throughout the day. We will certainly choose this Hotel again when traveling to this area or to Amsterdam, which is less than 30 min away.

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms on the ground level both time and they were both very nice and quiet. The large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Having had several rather unpleasant stays in Hilversum at tired Tulip Inn or the awful Grand Amrath (not to be mistaken with the one in Amsterdam) Hilversum and NH Hotel in Bussum this is a very nice choice. Its a self service villa type hotel with nice big comfortable beds, great baths, help yourself drinks to very reasonable prices and to affordable prices. Since I am a frequent traveller to this area this will be my preferred hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Delightful, classy and charming small hotel in redone old mansion in a quiet and beautiful neighborhood. Loads of character and design. Hilversum has hills! and loads of big beautiful old mansions. Good bed, characterful room, super breakfast for a very reasonable price. In Amsterdam this place would probably run around 300E a night, here it is slightly upwards of 100E depending on the room. Great choice for exploring this absolutely beautiful and unique part of the Netherlands just SE of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if you prefer not to use stairs. Room #4 has a sitting room surrounded by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We I stayed here as a result of a review in Trip Advisor and were pleasantly surprised. We had a long overbite flight from Vancouver and were tired and arrived a bit earlier. They made up the room and we were able to enjoy a very restful nap on a scrumptious bed. The self check in is our first and it was very simple with the code they send you by email to enter. If you wanted anything, you just had to ring the bell. They have new bicycles to rent for 3e per day. It is in a classy area of Hilversum and close enough to commute to Amsterdam. We had a car and took less than 30 minutes. Chandelier over our bed was unique. Breakfast was 10e extra each, but well worth it and recommend. Everything was freshly made and egg could be had any style. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had Room #3. No stairs and easy access and view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Really a nice place to 'crash'. Room was spacious (you must like 'dark grey walls'), bed very comfortable, breakfast excellent! Bathroom is a bit 'space challenged' (1 person only!). Beautiful quiet neighbourhood and garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed three nights and used this hotel as our base for Amsterdam sightseeing. The hotel itself is very nice - a renovated/remodeled older "villa". We stayed in room 10 which was up one flight of stairs. Stairs in older Dutch houses are very narrow and the steps themselves quite small, so walking down, we had to turn our feet sideways. Not really a problem unless you carry something, just an issue to be aware of. There are rooms on the ground floor as well if the stairs are a problem for you.

Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was simply outstanding. It was huge with a deep, deep tub, large sink, a separate shower with glass doors and an enclosed toilet. Just fabulous.

We had a King-size bed and it was simply heavenly. I don't think I've ever slept as well in any other hotel.

The antique mirror in our room was beautiful, but unfortunately had big cracks. A sign by it said that the damage was done by a "sleep-drunken" guest who thought it was the bathroom door. I found it a bit disconcerting to be looking into a mirror with big cracks, but oh well.

We found the breakfast a bit pricey at 10 euros per person for what is basically a continental buffet breakfast, but the items looked very nice and fresh. We did not eat breakfast there, but what we saw looked good. The breakfast room looks very nice and comfortable as well. There is free coffee and tea throughout the day - a nice touch although I am not a big fan of Dutch coffee!

I did not find the "self-service" reception after 11:00 a.m. or so to be a problem at all. We rarely need service once we are settled in. As it turned out, the light bulb in the lamp by my side of the bed was burned out, so I called the number for the reception some time during the early evening on the day we checked in. I don't think it took even two minutes before there was a knock on our door and the owner brought a new light bulb and changed it. Frankly, that's better service I had in many hotels with an around-the-clock staffed reception desk.

It takes about 30 minutes by train to get to Amsterdam. Although the Hilversum-Noord station is a bit closer than the Hilversum Sportpark station, it's a small station and has no ticket counter. We had a heck of a time coming up with 22 euros in change (no change machine) to get two return tickets to Amsterdam and back from the ticket machine. Also, more trains come and go to or from Hilversum Sportpark , so your trip will most likely be quicker.

We really enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend this hotel. We were here by car which made the back-and-forth into the town of Hilversum very quick and easy. It's about a 15-20 minute walk otherwise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilversum
0.6 mi away
Tulip Inn Hilversum
Tulip Inn Hilversum
#2 of 5 in Hilversum
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ravel
Hotel Ravel
#3 of 5 in Hilversum
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
#1 of 2 in Bussum
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Bussum-Zuid - Hilversum
3.0 mi away
Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Trompenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Trompenberg

Address: Chr. de Wetlaan 1, 1217 JJ Hilversum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hilversum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Trompenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Trompenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Trompenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.