We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Trompenberg

Hotel Villa Trompenberg
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Trompenberg to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Trompenberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chr. de Wetlaan 1, 1217 JJ Hilversum, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Hotel Villa Trompenberg is a fabulous place to stay. Easy to find, quiet location, close to the centre of Hilversum. The room was fabulous, the breakfast sumptuous, and the staff great. You can even hire bicycles to get about on. The decor is very chic, and we made full use of the free tea, coffee, and chocolate in the breakfast room in the evening. Don't be fooled though, the "breakfast room" has a nice comfy area so you can sit and unwind after a long day. The hotel is self service after 12pm, but that is a good thing, as it means you can come and go as you please, and you don't feel awkward about using the breakfast room. Fabulous all round. We'll definitely be back the next time we visit Hilversum.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Booked this hotel thru Booking.com.
After my stay, upon arriving home, I received a mail from Booking.com, to review the hotel. Which I did (anonymously I was told).
In my review, I quoted most facilities with 7.5 (above average), except for the bathroom 5 (was simply too small) and the service 5 (hotel was maily self-service).
A few days later, I received an angry mail from the owner of the hotel, telling me that he disagreed with my opnions!
I was flabbergasted!
I even sent a friendly answer the owner clarifying my rating.
He answered my mail by telling me 'not to make a reservation in his hotel anymore'!!
What can I say.......
Of course, I reported this behavior to Booking.com but they didn't have the decency to answer me.

Room Tip: Be careful with the owner ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Recently spent 11 nights at Hotel Villa Trompenberg, and would highly recommend it if you're looking for a beautiful, quiet, comfortable place to stay while in Hilversum. The hotel is like a B&B, with no restaurant on site, but there are many nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

Small family owned hotel in a mansion in an upscale neighbourhood in Hilversum (40 kilometers from Amsterdam). Rooms vary in price from 65 euro to about 250 euro, but are all comfortable and classy. The cheapest rooms do not have their own bathrooms or toilets, just a sink. There are common bathrooms, these are kept clean. All rooms have a minibar and phone and TV.
I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years, always easy to park, but don't leave valuables as the owner warned me they break in the cars sometimes. Overall a safe and clean place, very European style. Breakfast is good, but there is no lunch or dinner served and there are no restaurants or bars in walking distance. This is a good quality/price hotel with a very classy touch.

  • Liked — affordable, but classy
  • Disliked — no dining facilities
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa Trompenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Trompenberg

Address: Chr. de Wetlaan 1, 1217 JJ Hilversum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hilversum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Trompenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Trompenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Trompenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.