We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ravel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ravel to your Saves list
Hotel Ravel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emmastraat 35, 1213 AJ Hilversum, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Oulu, Finland
1 review
“Friendly, comfortable little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had 5 nights in this hotel recently and found it very comfortable. The service was personal and helpful, and our room, while not huge, was spacious enough. Even though we faced straight on to the main road, we didn't find the background noise disturbing - you would have to be pretty sensitive to find it a problem. We were concerned beforehand about the parking, having read previous reviews, but managed to get parked within 30 metres or so of the hotel every time. We would happily use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice , the first time was at 2002 and the second on 2012 , I was surprised that the hotel remains for 10 years without any renovation. I was expecting some modern touches on the rooms but the only thing the did was replacing the old TV's with flat screens. Anyhow the hotel is located on an excellent location quite noicy for the room overlooking the main strret especially those on the ground floor. car parkings are there on the opposite streets but still are ok. the preakfast was very poor and the rooms weren't perfectly clean , also the room service is only availble before noon so if you were asleep then don't expect any cooperation from their side to clean your room after 13:00 Hrs ! likewise the limited hours for the reception wgich is closed from 23:00 till 07:00 unlike the rest hotels in town which have their fron desk operating for 24 hours.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Ravel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Mr NaZZori,

Thank you for bothering to write a review about Hotel Ravel. It is always good to hear comments, which may help us to improve the hotel and it's services.

Except for the new tv's we have done our utmost to keep the hotel up-to-date and we are very sorry you did not notice the improvements we carried out over the 10 year span you are describing. In recent years we moved the reception next to the entrance and have redone the breakfast area which has nearly doubled in size now. Also, most of our rooms (14 out of 18) have brand new bathrooms with rainshowers, etc. The remainder of the bathrooms will be ready by the end of the year, after which the decor of the rooms will be updated as well. Less discernible improvements are the brand new fire alarm system, the new roof, new central heating, etc. etc.

Please bear in mind we are a relatively small hotel which limits it's service somewhat in respect to operating hours of the cleaning and reception staff. However we aim to meet reasonable demands.

Trusting to have been at your service now and in the future,

Best regards,


Oebele Anema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We only stayed one night but found this hotel to be excellent. The room we were given was spacious, beautifully furnished with a great shower.

The breakfast room is pleasant, we used it in the evening as well and had some very good coffee fromthe rather swish coffee machine

The hotel owner was very friendly.

Recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oebele A, Manager at Hotel Ravel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Mrs 'Reenby',

Thank you very much to have written such a pleasant review. Nice to hear our efforts are appreciated. Especially your remark concerning our coffee machine makes us proud. Never start the day without a good cup op coffee is our adagio.

Best regards,


Oebele Anema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

A cautionary tale: check the details of the property and room facilities carefully. Yes, this is a small friendly hotel with attractively decorated rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful, BUT 'public parking nearby' means parking on a dingy side street several hundred metres away. The road outside is busy and there is nowhere to pull up to unload. When you struggle to the hotel with your luggage (and in our case filming equipment) there is no lift and a difficult staircase to rooms on the second floor. Value-wise, the Hotel Ravel is not great. By today's standards the breakfast was poor and one of our party was asked for a fee to use a hairdryer. Finally, a number of sites will tell you that you can reach Amsterdam by car in 30 minutes from the Hotel Ravel. Not in our experience.

Room Tip: Don't accept anything above the first floor unless you are really fit, have no luggage and looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oebele A, Owner at Hotel Ravel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Mr Bryan D.,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, offering us a change of answering to your remarks.

First of all we are very glad you liked the atmosphere in the hotel and our rooms, always nice to hear.

However we have no private parking (given the location in the centre of Hilversum), in general there is ample free parking available in the streets behind and in front of the hotel. In our opinion and years of experience a convenient parking spot is seldom further than 100 metres from the hotel. The main street may be busy during rush hour (in the morning and afternoon), however it is always permitted to (un)load right in front of the hotel, at least all our suppliers and taxi's do.

With reference to your heavy filming equipment, we were not aware you were struggling so much. We do have a storage room next to our reception and would have been pleased to store your luggage over there and/or would a given your a hand (since we are used to our stairs and our monumental building unfortunately is not designed to incorporate an elevator ). An other solution could have been, to change at least one of your rooms to one on the ground floor.

Except during rush hour, it is pretty well possible to reach Amsterdam in less than 30 minutes, since the travel distance by car from our hotel to the very centre of amsterdam is less than 40 kilometres.

We have several hairdryers available at our reception and never charge for their use (so we assume you were mis-informed regarding this fact), we only make a note which room has borrowed a hair-dryer in order to avoid mix-ups with our clients own hairdryers.

Hopefully we have cleared several issues you might have experienced an hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,


Oebele Anema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was our first stop on a two week vacation in Europe. This hotel was just so charming and cozy - it set a great tone for our trip. The room was large, with two windows to let in the breeze at night. The bathroom had a good shower and a night light. There was a table and chairs, flat screen TV and really comfortable beds. The hosts at the desk all very helpful and pleasant. There is no hair dryer in the room, but just ask at the front desk and they will give you one. There are also umbrellas for the ever changing weather. Good restaurants are just a short walk into town. We did not partake of the breakfast, so cannot comment on it. One drawback - there is no lift, so not a good place in you have heavy suitcases, unless you can get a room on first floor. This is only reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars. Areas is quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for room on ground or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

We stayed here when we first arrived on our bike trip of the Netherlands. We booked the suite, which had a double bed and a hideabed.

We loved it. It was easy to walk or cycle to downtown or to the train station. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was good -- nothing fancy but very good continental fair. Room was clean.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2003

The Ravel is a simple hotel that does what it claims to do well. Rooms vary in size and are fairly compact. But they are well furnished and everything works. Staff are helpful. Bar and breakfast room are small but pleasant. If you want an economical and pleasant hotel this works.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ravel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ravel

Address: Emmastraat 35, 1213 AJ Hilversum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hilversum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ravel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ravel is a beautiful art-deco villa with twenty spacious and tastefully decorated rooms, each with its own bathroom/(rain)shower or bath, flatscreen television, laptop safe and free wireless broadband internet access (WiFi). At Hotel Ravel, you will receive all the personal attention and service that a valued guest deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ravel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ravel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.