We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You do not miss anything...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland

Save Saved
You added Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emmastraat 2, 1211 NG Hilversum, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Hilversum
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You do not miss anything...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have stayed for two nights in the "Grand-Hotel" in Hilversum.

The first impression was the Lobby, which originated in the late 50s, I think. Next to the reception I could see a refrigerator, which did rise the question: Will there be a minibar in the room? No.
You can buy drinks at the reception 24/7, even in your night suite. :-)

The room was ok, big enough for one, but loud! The windows and walls are that thin, that I needed to sleep with earplugs. But that might just be a personal problem.

The hotel is in the center of the town, in direct view of a church, which reminded me of the actual time every hour.
A lot of younger people use the main road to show-off, always full throttle when passing by. So the night was quite after the youth went to bed, which is around 11pm on weekdays. I was happy not to stay over the weekend.

I would suggest to get another hotel, in a quiter area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
9
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hi i knew HILVERSUM from the old days when this was the grand hotel unfortantly its not anymore it looks great from the outside very art deco the location is perfect but thee the good news ens its overpriced we paid €145 a night its staff are unfriendly basically told to get out of the romm at 11am on a sunday asked nicely to leave at noon was bluntly told NO , ITS ALSO DIRTY THEbreakfast a joke dont go dont bother thanks for reading enjoy Hilversum oh and do eat at Lusk restraunant if you go there my goodness they can cook Paul

Room Tip: the best tip i can give is book some other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed here with trepidation after reading negative reviews and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. The staff were so friendly and made us feel immediately at home.
Yes the hotel is an older style but you are in Hilversum, a small town. The rooms were large and had everything we could have wanted. We had free wifi and a great buffet breakfast included. The location is fantastic as we could walk into the centre of town, to the markets and the train station. We were visiitng our son and when he drove to visit us he was given parking. We also celecrated our 30th wedding anniversary while we were there and we were given a beautiful flower bouquet. I cannot fault the Amrath Grand and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed there for a week.Nice and cozy hotel but not many choices in breakfast. A church nearby whose bell may be disturbing to some people. Wi-fi is there but not secure as my laptop was attacked with virus though anti-virus was there in my laptop. Lots of eating places nearby but as such nothing more can be done in city itself..

Room Tip: rooms on 2nd floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks and had a pleasant stay. The staff is friendly and the breakfasts are find for a quick bite and coffee. The rooms are average and nothing special but they were roomy. The hotel is a 1930 historical mark of a famous designer so they don't dare touch it or update the hotel. I didn't mind the dated look of the hotel as the price was just right.

On a Friday night there was a party (rave) of sorts in the theater and there was a lot of music during my stay but it was only for a night and then someone on the staff or a person staying at the hotel yelled at the kids to leave around 1AM.

There's a great little ice cream store just outside the hotel and it's very popular on hot days. The hotel also faces a very nice looking church which makes a nice view.

The centre of Hilversum with all the shops and shopping mall is a short walk away and there's a good Indonesian restaurant nearby as well as a great place called the Open Keuken. The ribs and food here is really good. The restaurant next door is really good as well. There's an Albert Hijn's just up the street as well to get groceries.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our room was large, but outdated. It was clean and had free WiFi. Breakfast was not included and we did not eat there, so I cannot comment on the food quality. Staff was very friendly.
It's an average hotel with a great price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland

Address: Emmastraat 2, 1211 NG Hilversum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hilversum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Hilversum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hilversum
Hilversum Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.