We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely Business Grade” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Hotel Lapershoek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Hotel Lapershoek to your Saves list
Amrath Hotel Lapershoek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Utrechtseweg 16, 1213 TS Hilversum, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Barely Business Grade”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I visited the Lapershoek for 1 night on a business trip and was not overly impressed with my stay.

To be greeted with a fan upon the table of my room I was aware it would be an uncomfortable night's sleep. This proved to be the case with no air-conditioning and very little air flow coming in from the permanently open windows.

The furniture and decor was dated and my room was also missing an in-room safe.

Breakfast was a simple affair, but adequate and the dinner was average. To eat on the terrace was certainly a plus, but then to lose the WiFi signal slightly frustrating.

With little other option in the HIlversum area so close to the train station, the Lapershoek seems to know it has a captive audience and isn't in a hurry to go above and beyond in improving itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    8
    26
    5
See reviews for
5
12
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Breakfast.... No choice of food. Guests accepted what they could find. No scrambled eggs. No tomatoes. No bread. No tea. No small dishes for jam. No plates! No croissants. No fruit. No cereals. I am staying at this hotel at the moment. Guests are having to ask for all I have mentioned. The tables are not being cleared. When the water was delivered for the tea, it wasn't hot. There were no more than 14 diners at one time having breakfast and people were constantly asking the only waitress in the restaurant to replenish the food. Yesterday's breakfast was similar except that the scrambled eggs were cold. Very disappointing. Probably the worst breakfast I have ever experienced. On the plus side...the coffee from the self-service machine was hot.

Room Tip: It appears that a refurbished room is what you should ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

On my business trips to Hilversum I frequently stay here because of its location to the train station and business meetings.
The terrace is quite nice and so is the breakfast.
The hotel has gone through some refurnishing and modernising.
Make sure your room is one of the refurnished ones. Otherwise you might be in for a surprise.
A simple hotel. Staff can be a bit slow during fully booked days propably due to understaffing.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room from the " new part"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

In July 2013 I had my wedding dinner in that hotel plus booked a room to accommodate my American guests. The hotel room was tiny and the shower didn't work properly. But the most disadvantageous part was the restaurant... The ONLY waiter could not serve all the guests in time, some of the guests were still waiting while others have finished their meal. The food (particularly the ribeye) was horrible. Though I asked to make it well done, it was chewy and completely red inside, I sent the meal back to kitchen and here's what they brought me - see photo. I expressed my dissatisfaction to the waiter, she promised to take it off the bill, but her manager Ms. Bosman refused. To be fair, I should say that they offered us a free coupon for High-Tea but we didn't want to go back there.The children's menu discussed in advance wasn't there - the chef had to cook something for them that moment, and while he did it the kids ate bread with butter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Licated in 350 m from train station it is easy to reach... and comfortable to stay in summer or winter. Friendly staff, excellent and flexible service, nice terrace and a plenty of meeting rooms for business gathering...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed in Hilversum when I was visiting Amsterdam and was very well pleased. It was easy enough to get to from Amsterdam Centraal, and then to get out to the airport (I'm used to taking trains). The hotel is a very easy five minute walk from the Sportpark station- all on the sidewalk.

The hotel is in a residential area, which made it attractive. When I was there, I found it cool and green and quiet. I liked the fact that room was in a large house, but with a full service restaurant downstairs.

My room was an excellent value, in fact, the best value I got on this trip. It was all to a fine standard with a full bathroom, cable TV, comfortable bed, etc. Being on the second floor, it had a very large window. I will include a picture to help give a sense of what staying here is like.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and it seemed to me took pride in their work. All in all, I was very pleased and had a comfortable stay. Also, the value was great. Because of all of this, I will keep it in mind for future trips to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: An nice alternative to downtown Amsterdam, if you are used to taking the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there on a business trip with colleagues. Small rooms, outdated, with no airco. Environment and breakfast were nice, but hotel needs restyling, and fast, because this way of doimg business is not concordant with the year 2013.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Hotel Lapershoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Hotel Lapershoek

Address: Utrechtseweg 16, 1213 TS Hilversum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hilversum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Hotel Lapershoek 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Amrath Hotel Lapershoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Hotel Hilversum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Hotel Lapershoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.