We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zilt & Zo

Zilt & Zo
Laanstraat 35a, Hilversum, The Netherlands
035 - 628 14 93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 84 Restaurants in Hilversum
Price range: $33 - $65
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Fusion
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Soestdijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

For years already I celebrate my birthday here. Great since the drinks are included in the menu and you can feed your friends for a very decent price! The food is really good compared to the price level and service as well. We were with a group of 20 and didn't have to wait too long for our food and drinks. Drinks kept coming through was is exactly what the group was looking for.
Go here and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Soest, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, Nice theme & good vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The relaxed vibe is great combo with the well thought thru pricing system. Drinks (beer,soda and wine) are included in the three course menu, an excellent plus for groups or the boss buying 'just' dinner. Enjoyed it a lot. Minor down point was they forgot to put on some music. As always takin in the price value argument it's a nice place to go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Is being Dutch an excuse for poor service?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Waited for service, waited for bread, waited for drinks, was given a steak that was well done rather that medium rare, waited for the staff to care. The only redeeming feature was the location and atmosphere, aside from that the big yellow M was calling and as a foodie this is a reflection on how bad this was. I suggest you order clearly and ask the staff to repeat the order, then please do not accept mediocre food as you are the paying guest.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“worth a second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Having family living in Holland we get to visit and dine at some good restaurants , Zilt&Zo is the best we have come across for both quality and value , an all inclusive menu which has something to appeal to everyone , wine and beer is not rationed and kids menu flexible . Definitely our favourite as staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food far from great, interior nice idea!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

First off, the servers were inattentive stood around the bar "babbling". Cheap labor and overpriced food. The food was downright bland, my boyfriend had steak and i had an appetizer and main course salmon that was overcooked. I received something totally different as a side than what was on the menu. We regretted accepting the main course after the appetizer, so dessert was a no go. Sent back more than half the main course and left hungry and DISAPPOINTED. U get 2 points for the interior. To the owner and chef if you want to know how to cook seafood or anything for that matter, take a visit to St.Maarten.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zilt & Zo also viewed

Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 
Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zilt & Zo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zilt & Zo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.