We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Stempels in Haarlem” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stempels Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haarlem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stempels Hotel
Save
You added Stempels Hotel to your Saves list
Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Marlton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Stempels in Haarlem”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I got room no 14; the room is very poorly sound insulated so Saturday evening the noise of indoor (door closing, people walking, kids running around) can be heard and the noise from the rowdy crowd outside can be heard even at 3 am in the morning. Not much sleep.
The rooms itself is clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is very good.
Value is average.
Location is great.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street if you want to sleep unless you are a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
22
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

It was raining so we went in for coffee and cakes...very friendly staff and good food.....was a little expensive but overall a good stop to get out of the rain. I would go again if I was in town......

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a tour group. The rooms in the hotel vary; most people had "standard" rooms while mine had a decorated ceiling, elegant chandelier, and fireplace.

There was noise from two sources: people outside the hotel and from the church bells, which played every quarter hour, it seemed. Fortunately both noise sources went away by the time I wanted to sleep.

The hotel is just a few blocks from the main square and an easy walk to everything you'd want to see.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing. The decor is very nice, the room is big and clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. The location is perfect, it is near the train station, the restaurants, the main place of the town...could not ask for more! I would absolutely recommend this!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

we are two girsl ,When I bathed in the smaller bathroom cabinet ,Iwant more fresh air ,I have not close the door tightness, so the water flow out , the hotel staff and manager let us to open the door ,say we have not close the door tightness, as to let the ceiling leak in the next floor, I said it is your business,not mine,because your facilities. and the manager have a bad attitude ,reject say sorry to us. After ten minutes,when we wash our underwear,we found the washbasin blocked off, then the staff comes, the waitress in Africa threaten us not to wash everything in the washbasin,and want to push me into the bathroom, I found I am in dangerous situation,so I let the African to get out ,she unplug our the hotel door card ,so the room in the dark. the staff say you can call police, in this circumstance,as a tourist,I have nothing to do, I only want to say your action to shame of your country. In holland ,we met so many helpful people ,your behavior is shameful.

Room Tip: pool service ,they dont know service meaning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our Country Walkers tour booked this hotel for the group and it was very charming. It was originally the printing and engraving site and now is a lovely hotel in the historic district. We had a large room with king size bed on the second floor. Very comfortable. Plenty of towels but no wash cloths. No view from our room, but we were out doing things so it didn't matter. Also didn't hear street noise on this side.
A decent breakfast buffet was included. We ate one group dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent.
The location was perfect for exploring the historic center of the town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

From flexible check-in to perfect location in the old city center to good internet and friendly service, this hotel is perfect for business or vacation travel. I love the history of the building and the updated rooms and baths within the classic envelope and wood floors. The always remember your name in the office or restaurant. You can't walk to the train station into Amsterdam but all the best shops and good eateries are close, beds are very comfy, only negative is that main floor noise flows up the stairs to front 2nd floor rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stempels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stempels Hotel

Address: Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
#2 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Stempels you are welcome to eat, drink, having a party, to enjoy performances, to organize meetings and stay overnight. This all happens on the premises of the former Joh. Enschede complex, where for many years the Dutch banknotes has been pressed as well as post stamps for a lot of different countries. In other words, a place with a rich history, renovated into a modern hotel-restaurant, full of cosy atmosphere, right in the centre of the monumental heart of Haarlem. The well known Haarlem restaurant owner, Frans van Cappelle, wish to extend a warm welcome to you. On the first, second and third floor of the building are seventeen hotel rooms. The first and second floor are attainable by lift, but if you are in good condition, we recommend the old monumental staircase.There are four comfort rooms, six superior rooms, five luxury rooms, one junior suite and one suite. All rooms are provided with Hästens beds, airconditioning, a flat screen television set, a computer, free (wireless-) internet facilities, toilet and a shower. The luxury rooms and suites also have a bath. Like everywhere in the building one can find original decorations and ornaments in the hotel rooms.Staying at the front of the building one has a magnificent view of the Klokhuisplein and the St.Bavo church. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stempels Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stempels Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.