We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stempels Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haarlem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stempels Hotel
Save
You added Stempels Hotel to your Saves list
Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a tour group. The rooms in the hotel vary; most people had "standard" rooms while mine had a decorated ceiling, elegant chandelier, and fireplace.

There was noise from two sources: people outside the hotel and from the church bells, which played every quarter hour, it seemed. Fortunately both noise sources went away by the time I wanted to sleep.

The hotel is just a few blocks from the main square and an easy walk to everything you'd want to see.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
25
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing. The decor is very nice, the room is big and clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. The location is perfect, it is near the train station, the restaurants, the main place of the town...could not ask for more! I would absolutely recommend this!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

we are two girsl ,When I bathed in the smaller bathroom cabinet ,Iwant more fresh air ,I have not close the door tightness, so the water flow out , the hotel staff and manager let us to open the door ,say we have not close the door tightness, as to let the ceiling leak in the next floor, I said it is your business,not mine,because your facilities. and the manager have a bad attitude ,reject say sorry to us. After ten minutes,when we wash our underwear,we found the washbasin blocked off, then the staff comes, the waitress in Africa threaten us not to wash everything in the washbasin,and want to push me into the bathroom, I found I am in dangerous situation,so I let the African to get out ,she unplug our the hotel door card ,so the room in the dark. the staff say you can call police, in this circumstance,as a tourist,I have nothing to do, I only want to say your action to shame of your country. In holland ,we met so many helpful people ,your behavior is shameful.

Room Tip: pool service ,they dont know service meaning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
196 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our Country Walkers tour booked this hotel for the group and it was very charming. It was originally the printing and engraving site and now is a lovely hotel in the historic district. We had a large room with king size bed on the second floor. Very comfortable. Plenty of towels but no wash cloths. No view from our room, but we were out doing things so it didn't matter. Also didn't hear street noise on this side.
A decent breakfast buffet was included. We ate one group dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent.
The location was perfect for exploring the historic center of the town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

From flexible check-in to perfect location in the old city center to good internet and friendly service, this hotel is perfect for business or vacation travel. I love the history of the building and the updated rooms and baths within the classic envelope and wood floors. The always remember your name in the office or restaurant. You can't walk to the train station into Amsterdam but all the best shops and good eateries are close, beds are very comfy, only negative is that main floor noise flows up the stairs to front 2nd floor rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We chose Stempels based on tripadvisor reviews and are very glad we did. Our junior suite overlooking the church was quiet, clean and comfortable, and although there was only one dormer window, the room was well-lit. (We did wish they offered free wifi instead of having a desptop in the room.) The building is charming and has historical character. Unlike some other reviewers, we found the staff to be very friendly and professional (helping us over the phone as we struggled to navigate into the city center, promptly providing extra towels, serving trays of tea and hot chocolate during the big storm that hit while we were there, and offering friendly and prompt assistance when we accidentally locked ourselves out of our room safe.) We also really enjoyed the hearty and well-varied breakfast. We were so glad we chose to stay in Haarlem, which is charming and makes a great base for easy day trips to Amsterdam. It was especially convenient to be able to leave our car in the parking garage located very near Stempels and rely on local trains to explore the area. Stempels' location and ambiance is charming and convenient -- we'd stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my first visit to Haarlem and a friend who now lives here recommended Stempels.
Glad he did: I arrived late so restaurant was shut (no noise - may be a problem ?) so went straight to the room after some friendly check-in banter during which I found out about the past of the building as a banknote press site.
The door to the room is odd in that it was part-glass but a curtain gave privacy. The room was midsize, very clean and with a large queen bed. Furnishings all modern with a PC in your room for you to use (also free wi-fi - well done). Bathroom was spacious and clean with a powerful shower. everything worked. Towels more 3* than 4* but OK.
All in all a good choice also given location behind the main church just off the central square.
Breakfast perhaps not great but adequate - usual buffet system.
Will return esp at €100ish rate.
ps - Really liked Haarlem...worth spending a day there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stempels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stempels Hotel

Address: Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Stempels you are welcome to eat, drink, having a party, to enjoy performances, to organize meetings and stay overnight. This all happens on the premises of the former Joh. Enschede complex, where for many years the Dutch banknotes has been pressed as well as post stamps for a lot of different countries. In other words, a place with a rich history, renovated into a modern hotel-restaurant, full of cosy atmosphere, right in the centre of the monumental heart of Haarlem. The well known Haarlem restaurant owner, Frans van Cappelle, wish to extend a warm welcome to you. On the first, second and third floor of the building are seventeen hotel rooms. The first and second floor are attainable by lift, but if you are in good condition, we recommend the old monumental staircase.There are four comfort rooms, six superior rooms, five luxury rooms, one junior suite and one suite. All rooms are provided with Hästens beds, airconditioning, a flat screen television set, a computer, free (wireless-) internet facilities, toilet and a shower. The luxury rooms and suites also have a bath. Like everywhere in the building one can find original decorations and ornaments in the hotel rooms.Staying at the front of the building one has a magnificent view of the Klokhuisplein and the St.Bavo church. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stempels Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stempels Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.