We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming historic hotel on the square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stempels Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haarlem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stempels Hotel
Save
You added Stempels Hotel to your Saves list
Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Charming historic hotel on the square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our Country Walkers tour booked this hotel for the group and it was very charming. It was originally the printing and engraving site and now is a lovely hotel in the historic district. We had a large room with king size bed on the second floor. Very comfortable. Plenty of towels but no wash cloths. No view from our room, but we were out doing things so it didn't matter. Also didn't hear street noise on this side.
A decent breakfast buffet was included. We ate one group dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent.
The location was perfect for exploring the historic center of the town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
26
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

From flexible check-in to perfect location in the old city center to good internet and friendly service, this hotel is perfect for business or vacation travel. I love the history of the building and the updated rooms and baths within the classic envelope and wood floors. The always remember your name in the office or restaurant. You can't walk to the train station into Amsterdam but all the best shops and good eateries are close, beds are very comfy, only negative is that main floor noise flows up the stairs to front 2nd floor rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We chose Stempels based on tripadvisor reviews and are very glad we did. Our junior suite overlooking the church was quiet, clean and comfortable, and although there was only one dormer window, the room was well-lit. (We did wish they offered free wifi instead of having a desptop in the room.) The building is charming and has historical character. Unlike some other reviewers, we found the staff to be very friendly and professional (helping us over the phone as we struggled to navigate into the city center, promptly providing extra towels, serving trays of tea and hot chocolate during the big storm that hit while we were there, and offering friendly and prompt assistance when we accidentally locked ourselves out of our room safe.) We also really enjoyed the hearty and well-varied breakfast. We were so glad we chose to stay in Haarlem, which is charming and makes a great base for easy day trips to Amsterdam. It was especially convenient to be able to leave our car in the parking garage located very near Stempels and rely on local trains to explore the area. Stempels' location and ambiance is charming and convenient -- we'd stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my first visit to Haarlem and a friend who now lives here recommended Stempels.
Glad he did: I arrived late so restaurant was shut (no noise - may be a problem ?) so went straight to the room after some friendly check-in banter during which I found out about the past of the building as a banknote press site.
The door to the room is odd in that it was part-glass but a curtain gave privacy. The room was midsize, very clean and with a large queen bed. Furnishings all modern with a PC in your room for you to use (also free wi-fi - well done). Bathroom was spacious and clean with a powerful shower. everything worked. Towels more 3* than 4* but OK.
All in all a good choice also given location behind the main church just off the central square.
Breakfast perhaps not great but adequate - usual buffet system.
Will return esp at €100ish rate.
ps - Really liked Haarlem...worth spending a day there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a difference 15 minutes outside Amsterdam can make!
We stayed at Stempels for 4 nights to attend a friends wedding. We were greeted upon check in with a warm, friendly and pleasant welcome.
Our room was (No 20) was bright, spacious and the bed is so comfortable that it was a shame getting up in the morning. Our (huge) windows faced onto a street with a café and other hotel, but even with the deliveries and general hustle and bustle you could hear very little in the room (no sleepless nights had!)
There is lots of seating outside the hotel, which is located on a nice corner behind the Church. With nice weather it is very enjoyable to site and have a few drinks (food is very tasty too) and watch Haarlem go by. Lots of shops, cafes, and bars within walking distance.
The cost is quiet reasonable, and even though I didn't have the breakfast it seemed to be a good selection (there are loads of cafes close by for some variety).
If I was traveling to Haarlem again, or knew anyone going, I would be recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Haarlem is easily accessible by Bus or train from Amsterdam train station or Airport - worth a visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A lovely property with many historical details awaits your arrival. The hotel is situated in a lovely square with a quick walk to a peaceful canal. The rooms all vary with wonderful historical details and views of the square and cathedral. The public rooms are tastefully decorated. A wonderful Dutch breakfast is served. The restaurant and bar are very nice and offer very tasteful cuisine and charming atmosphere's. There is a great wine cellar in the historic basement too! The management is very responsive, polite and a delight to work with on reservations. The Haarlem setting for the Stempels Hotel is just perfect. It is a charming town. With a short walk, pass wonderful shops, antique stores, and eateries, is the train stop with a quick and direct route to enjoy the beauties of Amsterdam. Staying here is a must!

Room Tip: Send a mail to inquire on available rooms for your dates. The hotel will respond with rooms and thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Leaving a horrible experience at Amrath Hotel (see other review), we moved over here and would give them five stars on Customer Service! Not only did they take care of us when we were in the hotel, but we ate so well in Haarlem based on their food recommendations. Breakfast is pricey, but again includes amazing customer service and all you can eat. And the hotel is so well located, you could skip that all together and not be inconvenienced. We stayed in the Junior Suite, which was large with a sitting room and a view of the cathedral.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stempels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stempels Hotel

Address: Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Stempels you are welcome to eat, drink, having a party, to enjoy performances, to organize meetings and stay overnight. This all happens on the premises of the former Joh. Enschede complex, where for many years the Dutch banknotes has been pressed as well as post stamps for a lot of different countries. In other words, a place with a rich history, renovated into a modern hotel-restaurant, full of cosy atmosphere, right in the centre of the monumental heart of Haarlem. The well known Haarlem restaurant owner, Frans van Cappelle, wish to extend a warm welcome to you. On the first, second and third floor of the building are seventeen hotel rooms. The first and second floor are attainable by lift, but if you are in good condition, we recommend the old monumental staircase.There are four comfort rooms, six superior rooms, five luxury rooms, one junior suite and one suite. All rooms are provided with Hästens beds, airconditioning, a flat screen television set, a computer, free (wireless-) internet facilities, toilet and a shower. The luxury rooms and suites also have a bath. Like everywhere in the building one can find original decorations and ornaments in the hotel rooms.Staying at the front of the building one has a magnificent view of the Klokhuisplein and the St.Bavo church. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stempels Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stempels Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.