We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stempels Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haarlem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stempels Hotel
Save
You added Stempels Hotel to your Saves list
Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Excellent hotel. Enjoyed our stay. Room was nicely decorated, clean and very tidy. We arrived early and they let us check right in.

Loved hearing the churchbells. We were right above the kitchen and we didn't smell anything (as opposed to another poster).

If we ever find ourselves in Haarlem again, we will be staying here. Very nice..

  • Liked — Computer in room with free internet!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
23
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

Positives:
Rooms were, overall, clean; computer w/ free internet service in your room; flat screen tv in each room; quiet at night; water pressure in showers great; beds are pretty comfortable and pillows are nice and fluffy, not flat. Town is 15 minutes by train to Amsterdam.

Negatives:
Our room was near/above the restaurant area; initially our room smelled of fish; we asked to switch rooms to which non were available...the cleaning staff was sent up and did a re-cleaning. It did seem to help the problem.

Hotel soap/shampoo samples appeared they were re-filled and opened before. Thankfully we brought our own.

Staff:
Not really any problem with the staff. They were the type of people just do their jobs, and nothing more than that.

  • Liked — Internet Service provided in the rooms with computers
  • Disliked — The hallway windows remained open and smelled of fish from their restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

Pretty new hotel - only been around about a year but the actual building was built around 1600s. Great hotel for the money. The staff are ver knowledgeable & accommodating, especially for some of us Americans that are needy like my husband and I. Great location. But, you will hear the church bells everyday, which I have no problems with. I'd rather her church bells than the ambulance sirens.

  • Liked — Price, staff & location
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stempels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stempels Hotel

Address: Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Stempels you are welcome to eat, drink, having a party, to enjoy performances, to organize meetings and stay overnight. This all happens on the premises of the former Joh. Enschede complex, where for many years the Dutch banknotes has been pressed as well as post stamps for a lot of different countries. In other words, a place with a rich history, renovated into a modern hotel-restaurant, full of cosy atmosphere, right in the centre of the monumental heart of Haarlem. The well known Haarlem restaurant owner, Frans van Cappelle, wish to extend a warm welcome to you. On the first, second and third floor of the building are seventeen hotel rooms. The first and second floor are attainable by lift, but if you are in good condition, we recommend the old monumental staircase.There are four comfort rooms, six superior rooms, five luxury rooms, one junior suite and one suite. All rooms are provided with Hästens beds, airconditioning, a flat screen television set, a computer, free (wireless-) internet facilities, toilet and a shower. The luxury rooms and suites also have a bath. Like everywhere in the building one can find original decorations and ornaments in the hotel rooms.Staying at the front of the building one has a magnificent view of the Klokhuisplein and the St.Bavo church. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stempels Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stempels Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.