We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old mint of the Netherlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stempels Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haarlem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Stempels Hotel
Save Saved
You added Stempels Hotel to your Saves list
Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The old mint of the Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

In the center of old Haarlem opposite the old Bavo catherdal (1559), this hotel is in the best spot in Haarlem. You can park your car in an underground parking next to the hotel. This hotel is in a beautiful old building, that used to be the old mint of the Netherlands.
The owners have done a great job in maintaining the old details (wooden ceilings etc ) of the building. The rooms are spacious, light, luxurious and simple at the same time. The beds are simply great (Hästens beds). The breakfast is good. The lunches and dinners are fantastic. Even only for one night, we enjoyed it very much and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
20
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent a coule of days at the Stempels as part of a wedding party. I had a very spacious and comfortable room (superior room). The staff is very friendly and attended rapidly to my request of an iron (not in room). The bed was great and shower with the right pressure and hot water. Very clean and simple decor. Breakfast was good value for money. This is a must for anybody visiting Haarlem. You cannot ask for a better location (5' walk from the oldest museum in NL, the Teyler museum). I haven't tried the restaurant but I went to the cafe and it has a great atmosphere. Prices are very reasonable.
One minus point, though: no coffee maker in the room (for the times you are too lazy to change from your pijama's to go downstairs) and the computer, which is way too low and can do with an upgrade.

Room Tip: I had room 10 and it was less noisy than the rooms other friends got (I was not facing the church bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My room was fantastic, clean, spacious and stylish. The woman at the front desk was very helpful with directions to the Frans Hals Museum. The bed was so comfy and I slept so well. The Brasserie downstairs had very good food for lunch and the waitstaff were very kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise from Amsterdam and were very happy. The staff were very pleasant and helpful upon checking in and throughout our visit and the room was good sized and quiet despite facing the street (double paned windows no doubt helped). Although it was just at the top of the stairs, we didn't hear noise from down below because of a double door "foyer" arrangement which effectively sealed off the main room itself from that area. Only drawback was that the doors were fairly substantial and hard to prop open, but all in all, a small price to pay for a restful night's sleep. Bed was very comfortable, room was air conditioned and had a computer with free internet. Location was about as central as you can get as it is right beside the St. Bavo Church and not far from the Grote Market. Although there is an underground parking facility nearby (De Appelaar), it was almost full when we arrived on a Sunday afternoon. Virtually empty the next morning, however. It does have an elevator that makes it easier to haul up luggage. Hotel is about a short block away. Later, we chose a fixed price dinner which was enjoyable with good service. Breakfast was self-service with a good selection and quality, but like most hotel breakfasts, it was a bit pricey. Popular bar downstairs and cafe with outside tables. Note: The street right outside the hotel shuts down to full vehicular access at 11:00am, so plan accordingly if you need to be collected by someone who does not have a pass to drop the bollards after that (local taxis do). Easiest location seemed to be at the entrance to the parking garage where there is a good pickup/drop off area. As we had been to Amsterdam before, we enjoyed Haarlem much more than Amsterdam as it is smaller, quieter, cleaner, and friendlier. Our stay at Stempels also made it more enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As we had substantial luggage for a cruise, we requested a room with elevator access (some rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

A delightful hotel in the center of the pedestrian area of Haarlem, with very friendly and hospitable staff.

Large rooms, nicely furnished, clean and well kept.

The only disadvantage of this hotel's location - which is right in the heart of the marketplace, the restaurant and night-life area - is that rooms that face onto the street can be quite noisy late on Friday and Saturday night due to all the revelry taking place in the pedestrian mall below. I don't think this would be a problem anytime other than Friday and Saturday nights in the summertime - but, if you plan to stay here over a summer weekend, it would be a good idea to ask for an 'inside room' when making your reservation.

Rooms on the second floor of the hotel (inside or outside) will be quieter, because there will be less noise coming up the open stairwell from the restaurants and bars on the main floor.

All in all, though, an excellent hotel, with very gracious and hospitable staff. I would happily return.

Room Tip: On summer weekends, ask for an inside room (not looking out onto the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was at the hotel for a two-day conference last October and also stayed there. The location is excellent, right on the town square in the old city centre, surrounded by restaurants, cafes and shops. It is a very charming boutique hotel, which is converted from an old printing facility where many old Dutch banknotes and stamps were printed - hence the name of the hotel.

I had a room on the top floor and my room and bathroom were super spacious, clean, modern and cosy. The bed was very comfortable. The room even had a desktop computer - I can't remember if there was complimentary internet on the computer but I think so.

We were in two different meeting rooms - the rooms were cosier than conventional meeting rooms, more like private dining rooms but equipped with meeting equipments.

The breakfast buffet was fairly small but sufficient and decent. We had lunch on one day in the hotel - the dining room was nice, albeit a little formal. Food-wise, the lunch was average.

I don't remember for sure but I think there isn't any elevator in the hotel. As my room was on the top floor, I had to climb quite some stairs to get there. Guests who are less mobile may want to double-check about the availability of elevators or request for rooms on lower floors before booking.

I would definitely recommend this charming hotel to anyone visiting Haarlem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights with work. All staff were extrememly helpful and friendly. Rooms were modern, clean and pleasant to stay in. Breakfast was good every morning. Location is central Haarlem so easy to get anywhere by foot, also on the town square so excellent location for sampling local caf's and bars. Would definitely recommend and intend to stay on my next visit to Haarlem

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stempels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stempels Hotel

Address: Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Stempels you are welcome to eat, drink, having a party, to enjoy performances, to organize meetings and stay overnight. This all happens on the premises of the former Joh. Enschede complex, where for many years the Dutch banknotes has been pressed as well as post stamps for a lot of different countries. In other words, a place with a rich history, renovated into a modern hotel-restaurant, full of cosy atmosphere, right in the centre of the monumental heart of Haarlem. The well known Haarlem restaurant owner, Frans van Cappelle, wish to extend a warm welcome to you. On the first, second and third floor of the building are seventeen hotel rooms. The first and second floor are attainable by lift, but if you are in good condition, we recommend the old monumental staircase.There are four comfort rooms, six superior rooms, five luxury rooms, one junior suite and one suite. All rooms are provided with Hästens beds, airconditioning, a flat screen television set, a computer, free (wireless-) internet facilities, toilet and a shower. The luxury rooms and suites also have a bath. Like everywhere in the building one can find original decorations and ornaments in the hotel rooms.Staying at the front of the building one has a magnificent view of the Klokhuisplein and the St.Bavo church. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stempels Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stempels Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;