We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haarlem Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stempels Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haarlem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stempels Hotel
Save
You added Stempels Hotel to your Saves list
Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Haarlem Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Charming hotel in the center of a charming town. Easy walking distance to everything in town including the train station. Staff went out of their way to be accommodating and everyone speaks English. The only improvement could have been with the breakfast. It is a small buffet and often one or more items were out and they were not replenished quickly. Loved having a pc and free internet in the room. The best bed ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
22
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lancashire england
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I reviewed this hotel in 2010, when I was there for a wedding. This time I was back to visit the same couple and their baby! The hotel was just as I remembered it, so everything I said in the last review still stands.
One good thing was I had booked a double room for two but I did mention in the email that I would be on my own for the first night - I only did this because of the local tourist tax which is pppn. When I got the bill they had charged me single occupancy for the first night - something a lot of hotels haven't done when I've been in this situation.
And this time I brought my own kettle!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stempels April 2012

Stempels is a restaurant/brasserie in Haarlem which does a sideline in accomodation and has a bar attached on the end.

It is located inside a beautiful old building right on the central square of Haarlem where the Cathedral of St. Bavo is located. The bells chime often but are mild and un-instrusive, adding a pleasant background noise to the general ambience of the town.

Rooms are well presented and well kept, and most important the beds are super comfortable. I got a wonderful view of St Bavo Church.

If you book here I would recommend a half board option where you get breakfast and dinner included in the price of your room for a little extra.

The restaurant itself serves very good food, it is minimalist and luxurious and you can order a wine accompaniment for an extra €27.00 (not included in the hotel price). The food is excellent and the courses are well balanced with a good combination of flavours well matched with the wine.

Concierge service is excellent and I was contacted by mobile after I had mistakenly left my washbag in the bathroom after leaving.

Overall a highly recommended place to stay, the only negative thing I can think of was the occasional bang coming from downstairs which is understandable as they are running a busy Brasserie. No noise at all after 11pm until I was woken pleasantly by the Church bells around 9am. Best night's rest I had in all of Holland.

One thing I would add is that the bar gets very busy in the evening (perhaps busier for me as I was staying on a Friday night) so expect a lively crowd when you arrive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for complete quiet, but the noise is only slight from the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I've stayed here a few times, the hotel staff speak excellent English and the hotel is clean and tidy, the rooms vary a lot in size but are all very comfortable, beds are excellent.

One nice touch is a PC in each room for a bit of surfing.

Location couldn't be better, right next to the cathedral in the centre, its a bit pricey but given the quality and location its worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel is beautiful and very reasonably priced. I really enjoyed staying here. It's close to everything and it's the perfect setting for a trip to Haarlem which is a very romantic and old city.

Room Tip: I stayed in the upgraded suite and it was very big for Europe
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
229 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
345 helpful votes 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nice small hotel in the historic city centre of Haarlem, a 10-15 minutes’ walk from the railway station. All rooms are different as this is a restored factory building. Good service, comfortable bed, computer with internet connection for free in the room. I was there only one night on a business trip but I was happy with my stay. It is a very nice place for tourists as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed in this hotel alone, with my wife and this time with my 7-year old son.
Hotel is specially designed in an old house where papers where printed.
Very clean, great design, great rooms and very cenral location at Haarlem.
It is also a good place to relax with family instead of busy Amsterdam. And Haarlem is just 15 minuets aways by train.

Room Tip: Write a request to them to get a bigger room with an extra bed. And also order breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stempels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stempels Hotel

Address: Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Haarlem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Stempels you are welcome to eat, drink, having a party, to enjoy performances, to organize meetings and stay overnight. This all happens on the premises of the former Joh. Enschede complex, where for many years the Dutch banknotes has been pressed as well as post stamps for a lot of different countries. In other words, a place with a rich history, renovated into a modern hotel-restaurant, full of cosy atmosphere, right in the centre of the monumental heart of Haarlem. The well known Haarlem restaurant owner, Frans van Cappelle, wish to extend a warm welcome to you. On the first, second and third floor of the building are seventeen hotel rooms. The first and second floor are attainable by lift, but if you are in good condition, we recommend the old monumental staircase.There are four comfort rooms, six superior rooms, five luxury rooms, one junior suite and one suite. All rooms are provided with Hästens beds, airconditioning, a flat screen television set, a computer, free (wireless-) internet facilities, toilet and a shower. The luxury rooms and suites also have a bath. Like everywhere in the building one can find original decorations and ornaments in the hotel rooms.Staying at the front of the building one has a magnificent view of the Klokhuisplein and the St.Bavo church. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stempels Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stempels Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.