We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way to do Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haarlem Hotelsuites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Haarlem Hotelsuites to your Saves list
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Kleine Houtstraat 13, 2011 DD Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Way to do Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We could not be happier with our decision to drive into Haarlem, stay at Haarlem Hotelsuites, and visit Amsterdam via train.
Million-mile-an-hour Martin, who runs this pastiche of accommodation and restaurants, could not do more to ensure satisfaction. He is deserving of complete praise.
We're not talking grand accommodation here; just sensible, clean, intelligent value and service.
The bonus is Haarlem is a great place in its own right.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the neighbouring swill joints, fun though they be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the Lange Veer II, which is 2 floors above a Vietnamese restuarant, up the steep stairs. This is more of an apartment than a hotel. The room quite large by Dutch standards, with a seperate living room with pullout couch and TV. There is room to sleep four. There is a small fridge and kettle. No stove, but I beleive there was a microwave.
We stayed in July and the room did get a bit warm. There was a fan and lots of windows to keep the air circulating. The balcony in the back, off the bathroom, has a nice view of St Bavo's Church, but mind the railing. It is a bit low and one could easily slip over, especialy if one has had a few drinks or was at the coffee shop across the street. Location is good. Bars, restaurants, shopping are all within walking distance. My only compliant is the shower is a tight squeeze. I'm 6'2" & about 200lbs. Anyone larger will have a hard time getting in as the shower door doesn't open up too musch because it is right next to the toilet.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony. Go to the supermarket and get some drink and store in the fridge to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I have made quite a few trips over to Amsterdam/Haarlem over the years and this was probably the best place we have stayed at. There are so many good things we can sat about staying here, but we don't want to because if they become too popular we might struggle to book again. So go stay somewherelse! Besides the stairs were very steep, the bed was very soft and that bathroom door just didn't close properley. So you really wouldn't fancy it now, would you? So I wouldn't stay there if I was you! But we will be, because we loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Lange Veer 1 which was on a quite noisy street, but the bedroom was at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda NL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Even though the De Gravin apartment is in the city centre, it is tucked away up a small side street, so very quiet and calm. It's an absolute gem - spacious, pristinely clean and comfortable, with modern furnishings in a quirky building. There is everything you could want in the kitchen, and the bedrooms are most comfortable. It is warm and cosy too. A particular strength of HotelSuites is the quality of the staff - helpful, friendly, genuine and prepared to offer advice about where to eat and what to see. We had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here. We will definitely return!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in all four apartments several times.

Have taken family and friends also who have all loved the apartments and the ease of booking through to checking out!

All the apartments are clean, airy an homely. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Haarlem.

My mother & I travel to Holland often an now choose Haarlem over Amsterdam. It really is a great 'city break' destination. The fact you are only 10mins from beach (which is stunning) but also only 15/20 mins from Amsterdam makes it a perfect base!

The hosts / cleaners for Haarlem Hotel Suites are really nice and helpful people!

Mrs Manning

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked - De Gravin hotel suite in Haarlem for 3 nights, family of 4. From the moment we arrived, we were pleasantly greeted by Martin, who provided a very good introduction to both Haarlem and the hotel room. A short walk from reception had us in our modern, two storey De Gravin suite. Our two boys (12 & 14) loved the climb up the spiral staircase to their separate bedroom. Beds were comfortable and the room well equipped for our stay. Location was perfect, close to shopping, food, transport etc., This was our final stop after travelling in Italy & France, and would easily be as good as any accommodation we stayed at in Europe. Hope to visit again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at De Lange Veer 1 a couple of weeks ago. Check-in for De Lange Veer 1 is round the corner at 40 Korte Veerstraat, where the owner takes you through all the usual formalities; he's quite charming and looks to have a decent business model going in the area, with various apartments locally plus a busy brasserie right opposite the apartment - that's usually where he'll be if not in the reception office.

When you get to the accommodation, the first thing you'll see is that A) it's above a restaurant - no worries here, we heard no noise at all during our stay; and B) that it's reached by a very steep staircase with a 90º twist at the top, where you find a tiny landing with the door to both this and the second floor apartment. We didn't see the apartment above us but it was accessed by what appeared to be an even steeper staircase. It's just the way they build them - tall houses with steep stairs!

However, once you've negotiated the stairs, the apartment is fine - it was clean and tidy with a front lounge overlooking the narrow street below, a flatscreen TV, kettle and coffee maker with cups & saucers, teabags, coffee and creamer. There's also a fridge and some cutlery, together with some large plates and some serviettes. A large fold -down sofa bed, armchair and coffee table are also included. From the lounge you walk through to the bedroom, where there's a large wardrobe and table. Another door leads off to the bathroom and shower-room/WC.

The bed in this flat is a splendidly comfortable affair - twin divans with superb sleep-inducing qualities - just the thing after a day pounding the streets of Haarlem.

Bathroom and shower room/WC were spotlessly clean - the shower worked well (poor showers are always a personal bugbear of mine when away from home), and there was a hairdryer under the sink. One point about the shower-room is that the high window is overlooked by the flat above - not a major issue really, due to the angle, but disconcerting… a sheer roller blind would be a reasonable idea.

Parking is much the same as anywhere these days - and in Haarlem it's either tricky or a doddle, depending on your perspective; you will be charged to park anywhere in the centre of town - the nearest underground car park, called 'Apellaar' is a few minutes walk away and is very handy, very clean and secure. It is however, one of the more expensive options if you choose to leave the car there for any length of time. Other cheaper car parks are located further away from the centre.

There are plenty of restaurants as soon as you step out of the door of the apartment. We avoided those on the 'Grote Markt' on the advice of the apartment owner - and indeed, some of the prices were somewhat creative! Two restaurants of note here: Pasta di Mamma in Damstraat and the excellent 'Delphi', a Greek restaurant tucked away down Gravinesteeg. I'll review these separately.

Breakfast is easy: turn right out of the front door, cross the road and enjoy a superb coffee and croissant in "The Coffee Bakery", where you can sit on the comfy high stools in the large window and watch Haarlem life go by. There's free WiFi here too (I couldn't get it to work back at the apartment).

Overall, the apartment is very good, very central and really convenient for everything in Haarlem. Amsterdam is only a short train ride away, as is the coast. Keukenhof Gardens are about 30 minutes drive south.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haarlem Hotelsuites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haarlem Hotelsuites

Address: Kleine Houtstraat 13, 2011 DD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Haarlem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haarlem Hotelsuites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelsuites Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haarlem Hotelsuites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.