We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment in central Haarlem…” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haarlem Hotelsuites

Save Saved
You added Haarlem Hotelsuites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Kleine Houtstraat 13, 2011 DD Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great apartment in central Haarlem…”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at De Lange Veer 1 a couple of weeks ago. Check-in for De Lange Veer 1 is round the corner at 40 Korte Veerstraat, where the owner takes you through all the usual formalities; he's quite charming and looks to have a decent business model going in the area, with various apartments locally plus a busy brasserie right opposite the apartment - that's usually where he'll be if not in the reception office.

When you get to the accommodation, the first thing you'll see is that A) it's above a restaurant - no worries here, we heard no noise at all during our stay; and B) that it's reached by a very steep staircase with a 90º twist at the top, where you find a tiny landing with the door to both this and the second floor apartment. We didn't see the apartment above us but it was accessed by what appeared to be an even steeper staircase. It's just the way they build them - tall houses with steep stairs!

However, once you've negotiated the stairs, the apartment is fine - it was clean and tidy with a front lounge overlooking the narrow street below, a flatscreen TV, kettle and coffee maker with cups & saucers, teabags, coffee and creamer. There's also a fridge and some cutlery, together with some large plates and some serviettes. A large fold -down sofa bed, armchair and coffee table are also included. From the lounge you walk through to the bedroom, where there's a large wardrobe and table. Another door leads off to the bathroom and shower-room/WC.

The bed in this flat is a splendidly comfortable affair - twin divans with superb sleep-inducing qualities - just the thing after a day pounding the streets of Haarlem.

Bathroom and shower room/WC were spotlessly clean - the shower worked well (poor showers are always a personal bugbear of mine when away from home), and there was a hairdryer under the sink. One point about the shower-room is that the high window is overlooked by the flat above - not a major issue really, due to the angle, but disconcerting… a sheer roller blind would be a reasonable idea.

Parking is much the same as anywhere these days - and in Haarlem it's either tricky or a doddle, depending on your perspective; you will be charged to park anywhere in the centre of town - the nearest underground car park, called 'Apellaar' is a few minutes walk away and is very handy, very clean and secure. It is however, one of the more expensive options if you choose to leave the car there for any length of time. Other cheaper car parks are located further away from the centre.

There are plenty of restaurants as soon as you step out of the door of the apartment. We avoided those on the 'Grote Markt' on the advice of the apartment owner - and indeed, some of the prices were somewhat creative! Two restaurants of note here: Pasta di Mamma in Damstraat and the excellent 'Delphi', a Greek restaurant tucked away down Gravinesteeg. I'll review these separately.

Breakfast is easy: turn right out of the front door, cross the road and enjoy a superb coffee and croissant in "The Coffee Bakery", where you can sit on the comfy high stools in the large window and watch Haarlem life go by. There's free WiFi here too (I couldn't get it to work back at the apartment).

Overall, the apartment is very good, very central and really convenient for everything in Haarlem. Amsterdam is only a short train ride away, as is the coast. Keukenhof Gardens are about 30 minutes drive south.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A great location for exploring Haarlem . Rooms are good and clean. Not cheap and breakfasts are very expensive, best eat out, but overall a nice hotel. Free wifi which is great and you hear the cathedral bells chiming very melodically from your room.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flensburg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the Lange Veer 1. Were on a business trip and this was definetly a good alternative to a hotel room, wich can get a bit boring. You have more space and privacy here. The flat would also be perfect for a couple travelling or two friends, the sofa in the living room can be used as extra bed so you can sleep in seperate rooms. It is no luxury, but nice and clean. The location is great, just in the center of Haarlem and close to a canal, where you get the typical "Amsterdam feeeling". In the early evening you can hear som noise from the street in the bedroom, but it stopped both nights I stayed there and during the night it was really quiet. Would defnetly stay there again - alone or with company :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at De Gravin suite which is located in the heart of the old town above a restaurant. The apartment is well appointed with living room, bathroom, two bedrooms and full kitchen (although missing a dishwasher).

Free wifi, BBC on the TV is enough for evenings in but there are lots of places to eat out locally.

Beds comfy andthe "roof terrace" a real suntrap.

In terms of criticism, the apartment could use a "deep clean". On the surface there were no problems but look down the side of furnature and you'll see thick dust. Also it is a good price for two bedrooms, but you have to pay per person with no per person benefits, and that puts the price up.

Location is good, 10 minute walk from the rail station and less than 30 minutes from Amsterdam.

Parking is to be had in nearby multi-storey and that worked out at about £60 for four days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry City, N Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in the Spaarne apartment which was outstanding.It was a huge apartment with large windows in the sitting room looking out over the beautiful Spaarne canal. We could have spent all day just watching the amazing variety of boats,barges and sailing boats majestically navigating the canal.The apartment was very quiet although it is above a restaurant which happened to be closed during our stay so it may be noisier at other times.The location of the apartment is perfect, just 5 minutes walk to the city centre.As for Haarlem itself I now much prefer it to Amsterdam.It has amazing history, architecture, fantastic restaurants and bars/cafes.It also has its own beer "Jopen Bier" which alone makes the trip worthwhile! And it's only 10 minutes by train from the beach resort of Zandvoort aan Zee.What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We enjoyed two nights at this apartment and Haarlem is a great city to visit with easy access to Amsterdam. (20 minute train ride!) I emailed several times confirming and reconfirming our accommodations and each email was quickly and courteously answered.

We arrived at the check in and that was taken care of quickly and we were escorted to our suite--the Gravin (I am spelling that wrong.) You walk up a steep flight of steps into the living room/dining room. Up a few steps to the kitchen, up a few steps to the bathroom and large bedroom with a queen bed. There is a spiral staircase that takes you up to another large bedroom that has two twin beds. There is also an outdoor, rooftop patio, complete with a small table and two chairs. The couch in the living room folds out to a bed as well.

The apartment is large, roomy, clean and comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need for cooking. Refrigerator, stove, an microwave included. There is even a washing machine and plenty of drying racks as well. We enjoyed the break from typical hotels and felt like we were in an IKEA showroom! (My teenagers LOVED it!!)

The Gravin is situated over a restaurant and it was very noisy in the evenings. We spent little time in our "flat", so it didn't concern us, but if you plan to spend evenings in, you may be disturbed by it. I slept on the fold out couch and am a very light sleeper, but was not bothered at all. I think it quieted down about midnight, and after that, no noise at all. (Of course long days of sightseeing will provide a good night of sleep for anyone!!)

Parking: the closest lot is P1 DeKamp, and it is clearly marked as you enter the city. Just pay attention to the signs. As you exit the parking lot, walk to Gedempte Oude Gracht street and head NE (away from the river.). Turn right (north) on Klein Houstraat and continue about three blocks to Korte Veerstraat. (You will see Lambermons restaurant on corner with a big green egg out front.) Turn right and in the middle of the block is #40, where hotel reception is.) The parking is 2 euro an hour, then 2.50 euro for overnight. We were there two nights and a day and half and the full cost was about 42 euro. All of the lots are the same price except for P5 Appelaar (which is twice as much). There is also a parking garage-Cronje that is just north of the train station that is half of the price of the other lots. Haarlem is a small town and it wouldn't be too long of a walk if you wanted to save money on parking.

This is a great value, close to excellent restaurants and shops. The people who run it are very nice and helpful--I highly recommend staying here.

If you have mobility issues, the stairs may be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stayed here for just one night with 3 friends, and stayed in suite "Spaarne". Booked through their website and received a confirmation email within a minute! Check-in was a bit strange as the reception was unavailable and we had to fetch our key from Lambermons restaurant across the street, where we were greeted by very friendly staff who accompanied us to the apartment. Upon arrival we noticed towels were provided for only 2 people, this was solved swiftly.
The apartment itself was great, it had a big living/diningroom with open kitchen and 3 windows to the street and Spaarne, which is the big waterway through Haarlem. Furthermore 2 bedrooms with 2 twins each, with a lot of storing space. They are situated at the back so very quiet. A bathroom with separate shower and a separate toilet. The stairs up to the apartment are quite steep.
I liked the details, all the kitchentools you could think of for a longer stay, very comfortable couch and seat, huge TV, bathroom amenities, good bedlights and comfortable beds.
Definately recommended for short but especially longer stays!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haarlem Hotelsuites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haarlem Hotelsuites

Address: Kleine Houtstraat 13, 2011 DD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haarlem Hotelsuites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelsuites Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haarlem Hotelsuites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.