We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, good breakfast, cheap parking, very well situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Raeckse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Die Raeckse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Die Raeckse Hotel
Raaks 1-3, Haarlem 2011 VA, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Nispen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“friendly, good breakfast, cheap parking, very well situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Hotel die Raeckse is very well situated, It is not a luxury hotel, it's clean and the staff is very friendly. We had a basic room, but there are rooms with more luxury. Our bathroom was freezing. The breakfast was very well. As parking in Haarlem is expensive we could buy a parking ticket in the hotel for € 7,50 for a whole day, so that was cheap.
At my next visit to Haarlem I will sleep here again, but take a more expensive room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed here during a convention and the hotel was well situated for the occassion, but still: small room, like being back in the seventies (green/brownish decoration of the bathroom), bathroom was freezingly cold and the door knob of the bathroom was held together with a safety pin (...).
Our room was situated at the street side of the hotel and at night we were kept up by people coming from the club nearby and in the morning we were woken by garbagebins with glass being collected, wipe car driving by etc.
The part of the hotel where the rooms are smelled of overcooked brussels-sprouts...

They do have free Wifi which is much appreciated and breakfast was okay as well, being the cheapest hotel available in Haarlem, this was to be expected, but cheap it was not! Maybe Haarlem is just an expensive city?

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

Great location, large clean rooms, delicious homely breakfast, friendly hosts. Had a lovely relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our two nights stay in this small but very well managed hotel tucked away Harleem. The staff were wonderful so also was the breakfast. Though our room was small, the twin beds were very comfortable. Had a wonderful stay. Would we be coming back? Sure, we will.

Room Tip: Book well ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

room is clean and conducive condition. hotel owner offer great tip on transportation to amsterdam and schipol airport at a bargain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel owner is a chinese couple. We were in Holland on leisure and decided to go for 3 days in London. The lady boss has took initiative to ask us to check out for the 2 nites, and check in again after we come back from London, although we have earlier booking for staying there continuously. They also gave us a fan as the weather was a litle warm.
The hotel room don't have kettle. You can ask for it.
Breakfast is standard. I think it is better than the hotel of the same standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

stayed here for 3 night clean basic hotel breakfast ok .hot water all day nice couple run the hotel 15 minutes from station 5 mins from center will stay again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Die Raeckse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Raeckse Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Die Raeckse
Address: Raaks 1-3, Haarlem 2011 VA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL and Priceline so you can book your Die Raeckse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Raeckse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.