We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and well appointed hotel in a fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Save Saved
You added Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and well appointed hotel in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

The Frans Hals hotel is right next to the cathedral and near everything in the charming town of Haarlem. Our junior suite was very well appointed and comfortable, with room for our daughter to sleep on a large couch. The hotel staff were very friendly and gave us many useful suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    102
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
11
77
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

First, the staff was so friendly. While staying at the hotel, I got sick and the front desk called around to several doctors to find someone who would see me that day. They were amazing!

The hotel is situated in the city center, close to shopping and many great restaurants. I only wish I wrote this review earlier so that I could remember where I ate! The train station is an easy 10 or 15 minute walk from the hotel. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel and it was quite expensive - about 60 euro or so. The train can take you there cheaper; however, after a flight from the US and luggage for three weeks we opted for a taxi.

The rooms were very clean and spacious. The hotel has free WiFi and a computer station in the lobby if you don't have a laptop with you. I didn't find any problems with the water coolers on each floor. I did, however, find the breakfast to be overpriced for what you get.

The night life is a bit roudy and you can easily hear it in the room. It was worth the location though.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Just of the square, the location of this modern hotel was perfect. Clean, spacious rooms and a very helpful front desk made this a wonderful home base for a visit to a gem of a city. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but it looked ok. On a sunny day, I can see that the front rooms may be loud, because of the popularity of the nearby square; our room did not overlook the street, and we had no problem whatsoever. I used their website and tried to reserve in Dutch, I accidentally booked a single, but all was OK on check-in. Water coolers near the room were a nice touch. I will definitely come back--Haarlem was a great first stop, easy access to Amsterdam, but because we've already been to the big city--it was so nice to partake of all the pleasures (arts, restaruants, shopping, weekend markets, etc.) of Dutch culture in the terrific setting of a smaller town. Easy connection by bus to Schipol.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We lived in Haarlem downtown for 6 years and were visiting our old home town. Location is great in the old centre. Internet is free which it should be, and we did not take breakfast.

Not good:
- When we got the and went to the room there was luggage of another guest in our room, not good. They removed it but it makes you wonder.
- When we entered the bathroom there was a horrible stench due to a faulty shower sink. Anyway fixed it myself
- DVD player did not work initially fixed it.
- Most important problem in this hotel is sound insulation not within the hotel although the corridor sounds are noticable it is the sounds from the outside. The (new) hotel is poorly insulated and in the weekends you will hear every outside sound very loudly.
When checking out we mentioned this and she also could not sleep, living in the centre of town. Well not what I wanted to hear and I said that WE pay for these rooms and expect some minimal sound insulation. She took this personal I think, not good. It is obvious there is a problem with the outside sound insulation. I had to sleep with earplugs in but still woke up 2 times.
- Staff is not bad but should not take things personally, unfortunately not uncommon in Holland and this has often given the country a bad name.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Nice town, nice hotel -- in fact pretty much perfect. I paid discount rate, so very pleased. Staff tries very hard.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
219 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

It is not a best Western anymore but it belongs now to the Amrath Chain. So the new name is Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals.

Centrally located in Haarlem, only steps away from the beautiful market place. It is a 15 minutes walk from the railway station where the trains go for a 15-minute train ride to Amsterdam. But Haarlem in itself is also a very nice place to stay!

Nicely decorated modern hotel with good facilities. Free wire-less internet in the room and in the lobby. Extremely friendly staff. I was too late for breakfast but the staff just let me in and made an effort to fix me a nice breakfast from the left-overs. But the down side is that it takes very long to check-in or out as front desk staff take an overwhelming amount of time for each guest even if there is a queue waiting!

It’s for sure a hotel where I will return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

Very centrally located hotel. Room was adequate just a bit dull.It seemed designed by committee eg. a new flat screen tv but limited choice of tv channels, a couple of Frans Hals prints on the walls to reflect the name of the hotel but the other walls simply painted white. It was very much like a Premier Inn or Travelodge but about 100 euros a night more expensive. Disappointing

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Address: Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Haarlem
Best Western Haarlem
Haarlem Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.