We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals to your Saves list
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just by the cathedral, this old hotel has been nicely revamped and made cosy + modern at the same time. The rooms are ok, quiet enough and the beds are very comfy. We did not try the buffet breakfast, which was not included in our deal. We would definitely come back !

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    131
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
104
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Haarlem is a beautiful place and this hotel is just located in the center of this little place near Ámsterdam. The hotel is really nice and comfortable. You must visit this city and stay at the Amrath hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Maybe my standards are too high but I was really disappointed with this hotel.

Tiny room, smelly hallways, dirty sheets. Internet/wifi was awful.

The Front Desk staff was ok, Rob was great, everyone else seemed really un-informed. No one had answers to questions of nearby attractions, directions, tourist information. But Haarlem doesn't seem to be too tourist-friendly a place..

I understand availability was very low but we were put in a tiny room with two twin beds pushed together.

Room service was prompt..

Disappointing..

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces an alleyway/walkway which most likely is more quiet.. The other side fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Neutral
- Standard breakfest, not too bad
- Perfect if you have no car

Pro
- Central close to cathedral (old part of the city)
- Free water dispenser / apples on each floor
- Modern bathroom

Contra
- Bit too loud in first floor as bars are around

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I arrived with my friend on the night of 18th of April, we booked our stay via vakantieveillingen however they still gave us an upgrade to a junior suite! the room was quiet, we both slept very well, shower also funcioned perfectly. the ability to make coffee in the morning free of charge was also perfect! the team of the hotel were friendly, unfortunately we were not able to stay longer tan one night! but I would defenitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Easy 15 min walk to train station, close to Grote Markt and Cathedral. Hotel is modern, clean and staff very friendly and efficient.We did not have breakfast, which at 23 euros per person was the most expansive in the Netherlands. This is a walkable city with a lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: We had room without a street view so it was quiet and great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Excellent front desk staff, incredibly clean rooms, central location and fresh, good breakfast options. Staff were efficient, helpful, exceptionally polite and professional. Lots of places to walk/run right outside the door, but not sure if there was a hotel gym or not. Many restaurants nearby. Bottom line: this is a well run mid to high range hotel.

Room Tip: I've stayed in both the front and back of the hotel. The back is a bit quieter, but the front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Address: Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Haarlem
#2 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Haarlem
Best Western Haarlem
Haarlem Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.