We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the middle of Haarlem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals to your Saves list
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in the middle of Haarlem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Neutral
- Standard breakfest, not too bad
- Perfect if you have no car

Pro
- Central close to cathedral (old part of the city)
- Free water dispenser / apples on each floor
- Modern bathroom

Contra
- Bit too loud in first floor as bars are around

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    112
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
89
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salamanca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I arrived with my friend on the night of 18th of April, we booked our stay via vakantieveillingen however they still gave us an upgrade to a junior suite! the room was quiet, we both slept very well, shower also funcioned perfectly. the ability to make coffee in the morning free of charge was also perfect! the team of the hotel were friendly, unfortunately we were not able to stay longer tan one night! but I would defenitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Easy 15 min walk to train station, close to Grote Markt and Cathedral. Hotel is modern, clean and staff very friendly and efficient.We did not have breakfast, which at 23 euros per person was the most expansive in the Netherlands. This is a walkable city with a lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: We had room without a street view so it was quiet and great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Excellent front desk staff, incredibly clean rooms, central location and fresh, good breakfast options. Staff were efficient, helpful, exceptionally polite and professional. Lots of places to walk/run right outside the door, but not sure if there was a hotel gym or not. Many restaurants nearby. Bottom line: this is a well run mid to high range hotel.

Room Tip: I've stayed in both the front and back of the hotel. The back is a bit quieter, but the front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stated in this hotel for one night. Welcoming staff, attractive foyer and very pleasant, well appointed rooms. Comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms. Good value given the excellent central location. Did not have rooms with views so experienced none of the problems noted by others. All very quiet. Did not have breakfast in the hotel as the Euro18.50 seemed excessive given the amount of choice 100 metres away at half the price! Although they do not have their own car park, there was one very close by - a little pricey but really convenient. Would definitely stay here again when next in Haarlem.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were lazy and took a short but pricey €50 taxi ride from Amsterdam airport (4 of us so not too bad). The train station (as we found the next morning) is an easy 10/15 minute walk through town. Location is very central, just off the main square around the Cathedral and close to the canal - good spot. The hotel is modern - rather ugly from outside - but inside it is perfectly fine. We liked our room although 2 single beds instead of a double wasn't really what we wanted, but they were very comfortable. Mini bar was a nice extra. All in all, for €123 I thought this was a bargain, and can highly recommend the Grand Hotel Frans Hals.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is the best hotel, by far, I have stayed in for some time. Its location is very central to Haarlem, literally minutes from the main square. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was very comfortable and had everything you would expect to find. The bed was VERY comfortable as well. All the staff we met were charming and very helpful with local directions and nothing was to much trouble. Haarlem station is about a 15 min walk away and there are many bus stops and taxis near by. Haarlem is a lovely town and a little less expensive than its neighbour Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Address: Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Haarlem
Best Western Haarlem
Haarlem Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.