We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undeniably good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals to your Saves list
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
436 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Undeniably good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were lazy and took a short but pricey €50 taxi ride from Amsterdam airport (4 of us so not too bad). The train station (as we found the next morning) is an easy 10/15 minute walk through town. Location is very central, just off the main square around the Cathedral and close to the canal - good spot. The hotel is modern - rather ugly from outside - but inside it is perfectly fine. We liked our room although 2 single beds instead of a double wasn't really what we wanted, but they were very comfortable. Mini bar was a nice extra. All in all, for €123 I thought this was a bargain, and can highly recommend the Grand Hotel Frans Hals.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    141
    35
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
109
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is the best hotel, by far, I have stayed in for some time. Its location is very central to Haarlem, literally minutes from the main square. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was very comfortable and had everything you would expect to find. The bed was VERY comfortable as well. All the staff we met were charming and very helpful with local directions and nothing was to much trouble. Haarlem station is about a 15 min walk away and there are many bus stops and taxis near by. Haarlem is a lovely town and a little less expensive than its neighbour Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed for two nights in a twin room in this central hotel.
The staff were friendly polite and efficient and readily gave directions and help; well done to all of them.
Our beds were very comfortable indeed and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean.
Noise insulation and the heating/air conditioning was good and not too noisy. The windows could be opened which is a good point.
Our room was towards the rear or side of the hotel and was quiet.
We did not use the restaurant or bar.
There is underground pay parking next door to the hotel.
Overall a very good comfortable and safe place to stay in the centre of this historic town away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam; yet just 15 minutes away by train and a similar amount (300 direct bus) to Schipol airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Whenever I go to visit my daughter (who lives in nearby Hoofddorp), I always stay here. It's a very scenic 15-minute walk from the central train station, or you can grab a cab and be dropped at the door. The lobby is stocked with umbrellas to borrow and travel leaflets, and a few computers are tucked behind the grand staircase for guests' use. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, with everything one may need. Outside your door there are water chillers and cups, and bowls of fresh fruit should you wish a snack. The desk staff are multi-lingual, friendly and clearly enjoy helping guests with advice about places to eat and things to do in the area. The view is spectacular, with many rooms overlooking the historic town center and church.

And as with every hotel review, I love to assess the breakfast, and this is one of the finest! You can go to the dining room and help yourself, or you can do what I do: pay the same amount, and have breakfast brought to you. They wheel the large wooden table into the room, fold the sides of the table out, and set up the spread before you. I can never count how many kinds of breads, fruits, juices, yoghurts, and cheese there are . . . along with eggs of your choice, coffee, butter, jam, and of course the ubiquitous sprinkles which all self-respecting Dutch people put on their bread and rolls each morning!

And where to eat lunch or dinner? Try Pasta di Mamma next door, or walk 3 minutes more and enjoy the best steaks in town (or even NL?) at Wilma & Albert's -- both are excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the church, if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip with 38 of my colleagues from India and all over Europe for 3 days; 1st impression - hotel staff managed the mass check ins nicely; the hotel is in a fabulous location in the center of the city with the canal and the city square just few meters away, Harlem station and bus stops short walk away; the rooms are nice, clean and comfortable; the staff are nice and helpful,free wifi and the breakfast is standard; the hotel does not have their own restaurant but that is no bother as loads of restaurants (incl. Indian), pubs and bars are minutes away; overall very satisfying

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have been staying in this hotel on business.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are more than adequate.
Actually a drink in the hotel is less expensive that in the surreounding bars and restaurants.
The hotel is right in the centre of Harrlem and a perfect location for wandering around the city.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are of a similar standard which is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

A great place to stay in the dead center of beautiful Haarlem! Very functional hotel with nice rooms and friendly staff.

From my windows, I had an amazing view of the church (cathedral, maybe?).

Breakfast was delicious and varied.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room with windows towards the pedestrian street. You will have a stunning view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Address: Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Haarlem
#2 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Haarlem
Best Western Haarlem
Haarlem Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.