We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Trip to Holland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Save Saved
You added Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Road Trip to Holland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as part of our return trip from Enschede with my son as we had been there to pick up his belongings after living in Holland for a year. We booked whilst we were enroute and the staff were very helpful as although we planned to visit Haarlem we had not booked a room. The sat nav took as straight to the underground car park which is directly under the hotel and is not included in the room charge but reasonable for an overnight stay. The hotel is very comfortable and close to the town centre, when we were there it was freedom day so there was a fair on in the town square and a free concert in the park. I would definately stay here again and therefore recommend it to, it is the top end of most budgets but its worth it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    95
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
77
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel for one night in august 2013. We enjoyed our stay in spite of the lack of a working airco. It was a pity that the receptionstaff did not tell us when we checked in, that this was not working, so when we were settled in the room - which was a good provided one with tea and coffee facilities, a beautiful bathroom and a really good bed - we saw the little note on the wall which said it was broken down. We thought at that time the windows would provide us fresh air in the night. What we dit not know was that it was a special event week, horecaweekevent so till about 5 o'clock in the morning there was a lot of noise due to the people walking in the below the balcony situated small street. Closing the windows was no option because of the temperature, 32 c. However we enoyed our stay for Haarlem is a very lovely city to visit, lots of terraces and very good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Amazing hotel right in the centre of Haarlem great views of the Cathedral.

Staff were very welcoming and pleased to help with our questions and directions!

We did not eat at the hotel but other guests commented on its variety.

The rooms were clean spacious and very modern with flat screen TV's.

Had no issues at this hotel and would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great location being in the centre of Haarlem. The hotel was very clean and the room was made up every day. Would definitely recommend for a city break. They were able to put our group into adjoining rooms which was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is located in the center near the Bavo church. Lots of restaurants and bars are near. Great shops nearby. I stayed at this hotel three times in three different rooms last month. Check in and check out was smooth, personnel is very competent, for instance I was offered tea in the lobby when I had to wait for my colleague to arrive. Rooms are not very big. They are ok for one person, but may be a bit small for 2 persons. Beds are very comfortable. Bathroom is clean, there is a bath in which you can also shower. Free water in water coolers in the hallways, and free apples also, which is a nice gesture. Breakfast includes bread, croissants, meat cuts, cheese, salmon, cake, jelly and other sweet stuff such as honey. Fruit and yogurt, coffee, cappuccino, juice, milk, tea etc. It costs around 20 Euro, which is a bit expensive. Car park is nearby but very expensive, there is free car parking but it will take a 15 minutes walk to get to the hotel from there. Free wifi is available in the rooms but not very fast when I used it. Haarlem is a beautiful city and well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great hotel. Very comfortable and the staff could not be nicer. Great location near the Church and loads of bars and restaurants. Reasonable room rates. Beds comfy and a nice quiet bar. Breakfast ok but not great value for money. I tend to buy stuff from the suprmarket and make my own. Have stayed at this hotel 7 times. 6 on business and once for pleasure. haarlem is a fantsic place and the people so frinedly. Wide range of restaurants and bars to choose from and for shoppers plenty of choice. Good location for Amsterdam, Rotterdam and The Hague. Well worth a trip.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The West Country
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I am trying hard to be positive about this place. It is not unpleasant or particularly uncomfortable. I had no major issues with the place - it is bland I suppose. Positives first. The staff are very pleasant and well trained. Check in was a breeze.The room I had was at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor. It was ok with a shower over the bath. Single bed with small quilt which I hate. Room was clean and tidy, Free wi fi which was good although connection a little flakey. Breakfast is ok too. Location is great as it is right on the town square so lots of great restaurants and bars just outside the hotel. Close to the shopping area too. Room rates are good.

Downsides - no gym which is a pain. No evening restaurant. Street noise at the front of the hotel. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I suppose this one just does not do it for me. BUT - it is entirely functional and the staff are very nice so please do not let my personal biases put you off. Try it for yourself.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep well avoid the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Address: Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Haarlem
Best Western Haarlem
Haarlem Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.