We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Save Saved
You added Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 10, Haarlem 2011 HA, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Yatton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantasic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great hotel. Very comfortable and the staff could not be nicer. Great location near the Church and loads of bars and restaurants. Reasonable room rates. Beds comfy and a nice quiet bar. Breakfast ok but not great value for money. I tend to buy stuff from the suprmarket and make my own. Have stayed at this hotel 7 times. 6 on business and once for pleasure. haarlem is a fantsic place and the people so frinedly. Wide range of restaurants and bars to choose from and for shoppers plenty of choice. Good location for Amsterdam, Rotterdam and The Hague. Well worth a trip.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    99
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
11
75
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The West Country
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I am trying hard to be positive about this place. It is not unpleasant or particularly uncomfortable. I had no major issues with the place - it is bland I suppose. Positives first. The staff are very pleasant and well trained. Check in was a breeze.The room I had was at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor. It was ok with a shower over the bath. Single bed with small quilt which I hate. Room was clean and tidy, Free wi fi which was good although connection a little flakey. Breakfast is ok too. Location is great as it is right on the town square so lots of great restaurants and bars just outside the hotel. Close to the shopping area too. Room rates are good.

Downsides - no gym which is a pain. No evening restaurant. Street noise at the front of the hotel. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I suppose this one just does not do it for me. BUT - it is entirely functional and the staff are very nice so please do not let my personal biases put you off. Try it for yourself.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep well avoid the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you know the Amrath in Amsterdam, this place is NO comparision. My parents were visiting us from the United and States and we wanted a nice hotel for them to stay at without the bustle of Amsterdam. We chose this for the 4 stars. That is a JOKE!. Why this hotel is perfectly located, they use that knowledge as an excuse to provide the worse kind of service that I have experienced at a hotel. Furthermore, the rooms were embarrassingly small. My parents luggage literally could not be opened up on the floor. We then tried to upgrade them to a suite, which was larger, but the cost was 300 euros. My parents would pay this price, but for that they carried their own luggage up the stairs, did not receive breakfast and when asking about other places to each their was no concierge. They said to walk the streets and find something. We could've arranged for them to stay in Amsterdam for this price and received the value of our money. The place is entirely run by people not much older than 20 years old. When we asked to speak to a manager, a guy no older than 22 came out and when we asked for a change in room, he had to go in and make a phone call in the back office before getting us an answer. The whole experience was from another planet and so we ended up moving across the street to the Stempel Hotel and had an AMAZING experience. Stay there instead.

Room Tip: Stay at Stempel Hotel instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is situated just off the main square in the lovely old city of Haarlem.Check in was excellent,well before noon and we were allocated a room to the rear of the hotel.(no view).the room was well equipped with all the usual amenities including an excellent bathroom. Wi-fi was free and good and the rooms were spotless with a huge long bed.(mind you the Dutch are a big race and probably need long beds!).
I would recommend this hotel on a room only basis as the breakfast is overpriced and pretty dire!
There is no restaurant but Haarlem has a host of good places to eat,all within 10 minutes walking distance.
Overall a very pleasant hotel with good rooms in an excellent location.Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: No particular tips.We just went for a standard room and it was satisfactory.There are no rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, the location is excellent and nearby too the city centre and transport links. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and even left a little anniversary gift and card so thank you!!

The rooms are lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely go back and stay again all in all a excellent hotel with lovely staff. We would highly recommend the Amrath

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. The locations is great, in the heart of old Harlem. Lots of restaurants and bars in walking distance. I arrived at 9am after a long flight from Australia and was worried that my room may not be ready - but it was! No problem at all.
Staff is very friendly and always helpful. All in all a top Hotel and I will stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is ideally located in the center of Haarlem, only a short walk from the train station. It was immaculately clean and very spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Apples and water coolers on each floor - great for first thing in the morning.
Relieved we had taken our own toiletries as the only thing in this room was a shower gel dispenser fixed to the wall which was empty! Had expected more from a 4 star hotel.
For what we got, we felt it was rather overpriced and not comparable to other hotels to this star rating or price w ehave stayed in - if returning to Haarlem (very likely as friend live in Heemstede), we would probably look at a cheaper alternative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Address: Damstraat 10, Haarlem 2011 HA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Haarlem
Best Western Haarlem
Haarlem Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.