We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in lovely Haarlem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Save Saved
You added Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Washington, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location in lovely Haarlem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is situated just off the main square in the lovely old city of Haarlem.Check in was excellent,well before noon and we were allocated a room to the rear of the hotel.(no view).the room was well equipped with all the usual amenities including an excellent bathroom. Wi-fi was free and good and the rooms were spotless with a huge long bed.(mind you the Dutch are a big race and probably need long beds!).
I would recommend this hotel on a room only basis as the breakfast is overpriced and pretty dire!
There is no restaurant but Haarlem has a host of good places to eat,all within 10 minutes walking distance.
Overall a very pleasant hotel with good rooms in an excellent location.Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: No particular tips.We just went for a standard room and it was satisfactory.There are no rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    98
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
77
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, the location is excellent and nearby too the city centre and transport links. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and even left a little anniversary gift and card so thank you!!

The rooms are lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely go back and stay again all in all a excellent hotel with lovely staff. We would highly recommend the Amrath

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. The locations is great, in the heart of old Harlem. Lots of restaurants and bars in walking distance. I arrived at 9am after a long flight from Australia and was worried that my room may not be ready - but it was! No problem at all.
Staff is very friendly and always helpful. All in all a top Hotel and I will stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is ideally located in the center of Haarlem, only a short walk from the train station. It was immaculately clean and very spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Apples and water coolers on each floor - great for first thing in the morning.
Relieved we had taken our own toiletries as the only thing in this room was a shower gel dispenser fixed to the wall which was empty! Had expected more from a 4 star hotel.
For what we got, we felt it was rather overpriced and not comparable to other hotels to this star rating or price w ehave stayed in - if returning to Haarlem (very likely as friend live in Heemstede), we would probably look at a cheaper alternative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
404 helpful votes 404 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for the second time for 3 nights. It is well located for the centre of Haarlem but a long way from the train station, a good 15 - 20 minute walk. Far better to take a cab. It is close to several restaurants and easy walking distance to the Teyler and Frans Hals Museums, both excellent.

The rooms are small and quiet and the wifi is complimentary and reasonable. The breakfast is excellent although a little pricey. The only problem is that breakfast is not served until 9am on the weekend and this was far too late for us. I would have given it 5 had it not been for this.

Room Tip: All rooms are double glazed and quiet. I like the top floor rooms the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Spotlessly clean, felt like I was the first person that ever used the bathroom. Very comfortable, no complaints other than it being a little expensive. The 'deluxe' name for the room is a bit over the top as its pretty standard the same as you would find in any other hotel but having said that I couldn't fault the room itself. Would definitely stay there again, location perfect for sightseeing and 10 minute walk from haarlem train station.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed for 5 days in May. Good location, close to city center. Walked to everything. Old, refurbished building with great gothic feel. Staff was very attentive, and room was nice. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Address: Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Haarlem
Best Western Haarlem
Haarlem Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.