We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute quality from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steakhouse The Golden Bull

Steakhouse The Golden Bull
Zijlstraat 39, 2011 TK Haarlem, The Netherlands
+(31)23 5319733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 200 Restaurants in Haarlem
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Golden Bull will serve the unique, mouth melting and flavorful steaks in the whole Haarlem City. We are very glad to serve the Wagyu kobe style beef, New Zealand Hereford beef, Scottish Aberdeen Angus and Argentine Hereford together with the most delicious wines from Argentina, Chile, Spain, Italy and USA. Experience the great food, service and atmosphere at the "Steakhouse The Golden Bull".
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolute quality from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I visited The Golden Bull last night with 2 friends, my second time there, the first being last year. It didn't disappoint! As expected, everything was top notch, from the starters (I had chorizo) to the steaks (I went for the 300gr. Scottish) to the accompaniments and of course the wine. Thanks again for taking care of us!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    17
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I do not get the hype at all... Won't be going back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The night we were there (a Saturday) they were very understaffed, so we waited AGES between courses. Also, they brought out our steaks, but we waited well over 5 minutes for our sides and sauces, so it was cold when we finally got to eat it. Really disappointing.

The meat selection is good but the meal itself was pretty bland. The salad that comes with every steak is really bad. Cheap iceberg lettuce with limp chopped veggies... Gross.

Very expensive for what it is. I guess they're trying to cover the shipping costs for all the different types of beef.

The manager is very friendly, but the other staff aren't.

Decor is awful, with pretty grim-looking toilets.

Wilma & Albert is the best steak restaurant I've experienced in Haaarlem. I definitely won't be going back to Golden Bull. I'm genuinely shocked it's listed as the number one in Haarlem - this couldn't be further from the truth!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy steak face”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have NEVER had better steak!
I am what you would describe as a carnivore and this is my favourite place to have steak, so much so that i will not order steak at most other restaurants because it will not compare to them.

The waiters are great and the head waiter was so proud of being one of the best restaurants on trip advisor for steak in the haarlem area. They were polite and very professional but also super friendly and you really felt like they valued you coming to their place.

The decor could be improved but your eyes will be closed in pure delight from the taste of the food!

The pricing is cheap for the quality you get but is still an expensive night out. I come to this restaurant for special occasions purely because i am a student but i am willing to spend my money on good food and this is better than good food.

I love everthing about this place and i wish i had more money and could eat here every week!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent meat, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I followed ratings on Tripadvisor and went there yesterday with a friend. I was not disappointed. The meat is of very high quality, super tender and full of flavours. Staff is friendly and ready to give you all details you need on the products in order to make your choice. Service is good, not too slow, not 'intrusive' either.
I' ll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietzenbach, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect food, charming host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Following the reviews and in for a good chunk of meat, we decided to give it a go. And this place is awesome for the juicy tender meat, choice of wine and the hospitality. Very entertaining how everything was explained and we were guided to make the right choice. The steak was not just meat, it became a piece of art. And then we "only" had the Argentinian, will yet have to find out if it can indeed be better with the other steak nationalities being served. The evening was wonderful with a great finishing touch when fellow visitors teamed up with us to jointly toast on the nice things in life. We'll be back!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steakhouse The Golden Bull also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Steakhouse The Golden Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steakhouse The Golden Bull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.