We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello. You are a Gem. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel to your Saves list
Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel
Spiegelstraat 4, 2011BP Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hello. You are a Gem. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I had the loveliest stay in Hello I'm Local. Greeted by friendly staff and moved from the 14 bed room to the all girls dorm as there was space for me there at no extra charge. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you have a nice time in Haarlem which is a beautiful and laid back city. The rooms are immaculately clean and the beds are so comfy. Plus it's only a 20 minute bus ride to the beach and a 20 minute train ride into Amsterdam. The photos and reviews of this place speak for themselves. You absolutely get a local boutique experience here. Tip: skip Amsterdam and commute from here! I highly recommend it!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
23
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here for two nights early week. It's the chicest hostel I've ever stayed in - all white walls, mismatched vintage furniture & a lovely courtyard. There's a calm & welcoming atmosphere in the common areas.

We stayed in the double room with maps on the wall which looks over the street. There's a pub over the road which only opens later in the week so we weren't disturbed but I don't know whether that might be a bother on the weekends. The bed & shower were huge & there's plenty of hooks for hanging clothes (no wardrobe though if thats a deal breaker for you)

The dutch breakfast for €5 was lovely & very filling and theres a good selection of drinks behind the bar at reasonable prices.

We want to go back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Quirky and lovely hotel/hostel. We stayed in a private 2 person room which was clean, comfortable and i loved the dutch decoration. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Communal areas are really nice and the dutch breakfast (not included) was delicious and good value. Well located for walking into town but would be quite far on foot from the train station. As it was, we arrived by bicycle which they stored securely in their garage so that didn't bother us. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very individual so I'd recommend looking at the website to choose the one you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Friendly staff, great atmosphere, nice interior, just a 5 minute walk from the city centre. Our room was a bit warm, beds are perfect... and I will recommend this for friends, couples, businesses and solo travellers! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

my friend Go and I had a very very good time at Hello I'm Local. Lottes welcome was warm and she overloaded us with useful recommendations. we wouls love to say Hello again, later this year. Haarlem and the beach offered us a lot of zen and Joy

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stay here! It's clean, modern, nice decor, good wi-fi, comfortable beds, nice and helpful staff.
Haarlem is also fifteen minutes by train from Amsterdam so why not live here while you explore Amsterdam?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vorden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this hostel. The rooms are beautifull, nice and clean. The location is perfect, close to everything. We went with 7 ladies, and booked two seperate rooms. The rooms we booked are on two different floors, but still we had al the possibilities to be with all 7 of us because the rooms are big enough! The staff couldn't be more helpfull. We had a perfect time at Hello I'm Local.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel

Address: Spiegelstraat 4, 2011BP Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel offers 12 unique rooms all different. From a private with 5 meter high ceiling to a 14 person dorm to an old fashion 'Bedstede'. All bedrooms have a private shower and sink other have their own everything. Don't worry the toilet won't be more than a step away. Towels and linen are included in the price, I'll make sure that your bed is already made when you arrive. With a group and want to rent all my 56 beds, please contact me. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.