We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quirky place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel
Spiegelstraat 4, Haarlem 2011BP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Durham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely quirky place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two children (9 and 7) and had one of the four person bedrooms. The building is in a lovely little Dutch traditional street and within 5 minutes walk of the city centre. The staff were really helpful and pointed us to some free off street parking. The communal living room is very retro trendy. When we got to our bedroom, we got a lovely surprise when we saw there was a traditional wooden swing hanging from the wooden beams in the ceiling (kids loved this). The room was a nice mix of tradition and modern refurb. Definitely recommend this place if you are visiting Haarlem. To top it all, the staff very kindly sent back to England my daughter's favourite cuddly toy which we left by mistake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
14
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

i have just stayed here for 4nights ,brilliant place,if you fancy an escape from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam,Haarlem is a nice city with excellent shopping and good bars and clubs,restaurants and friendly people.

I stayed in the provincie room which is a 14 bed dorm but really nice room and good comfortable beds and nicely designed room not like a typical hostel, there is a kitchen also if you want to buy and make food or drinks , the staff are approachable ,friendly and have extensive knowledge of the local area and can always help you. Tips ,if you like drinking you must try the local beer jopen which is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great Hostel in Haarlem. Room are ultra clean and have great themes. The beds and linen are luxurious. The furniture is so cool with the bunks built in and little touches added everywhere. There is a massive amount of space to move around in the dorms and with the high ceilings and natural light they feel airy.

The staff are very friendly, have contagious smiles and their service is brilliant.
The hostel seems to attract local families and groups so you actually know you are in Holland when staying here.

We were very comfortable at this hostel an we would stay here again.

Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I think the title says it all. The concept is brilliant and the love for their guests is noticeably everywhere. From the coffee to the music and from the advice to the general hospitality. I wish I could live there. Though I would mis my wife and son.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Back home today. But hello I'm local feels like home. Great hospitality and food very close to Haarlem centre. Went 3 nights and mis it already. Rooms are very clean and with al the themes they look very neat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved everything at this Hostel. It's every family athmosphere. Every Body is interested in your plans what to do today ,or suggest which Restaurant is the best in town. It is like your Mum who want to care an worries about you. We loved it to sit in the living room played some games or listen to the good music there.
The City Haarlem have exactly the right size and is very very sweet and nice.
We are sooo happy when we can come back to the local Hostel!!

Room Tip: Holstein Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The place is perfect in every respect. Immaculately clean, comfy high quality furnishings, lovely bed with fresh scented laundry and plush big pillow, beautiful location close to the canal edge in a historic building in Haarlem. The interior design is considered, consistent and functional though still has plenty of warmth and character. You can tell there is a clear vision or "dream" of the owners behind this place and it delivers.

One thing really stood out above all which is saying something considering how good everything else is. The people that work here are angels. Warm, friendly, with a big smile when you come in, you'll feel the love! They are very genuine and not imposing at all but totally up for a chat if you want. Gezellig! Is the word. You know when you're coming home after a long day that you'll be coming to a peaceful and friendly place, and you can either just go up to your room without being bothered or sit and read a book downstairs (they have lots on the coffee table). I'll be coming back for sure. Felt very safe the whole time, more like staying in a family B&B. I was kind of touched by how nice they were to be honest, this also extends to everyone else I spoke to in Haarlem, Dutch people are the best, I'll be back soon :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel

Address: Spiegelstraat 4, Haarlem 2011BP, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel offers 12 unique rooms all different. From a private with 5 meter high ceiling to a 14 person dorm to an old fashion 'Bedstede'. All bedrooms have a private shower and sink other have their own everything. Don't worry the toilet won't be more than a step away. Towels and linen are included in the price, I'll make sure that your bed is already made when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.