We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel
Spiegelstraat 4, 2011BP Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Rottenburg am Neckar, Germany
1 review
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The place to stay at when you're in Haarlem! Very clean rooms, nice helpful staff and good,good breakfast and that all comes for little cash. The neighborhood is so quiet at night and you'll be in town centre in max 15 minutes by foot.
Might be hard to adapt to the old random-worn-out-hostels again after this experience :) I'm definitely gonna come back!
Huge recommendation, 5 stars+

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

When considering the interior, it's more like a hotel. When considering the hostel staff, it's more like a nest for just born bird babies.
Go ahead and try to prove these thoughts wrong! I think the staff has to have a very very bad day if your experience ends to be something else than mine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The title pretty much says it all. I might add that the design is comfortable (they tried to source everything local from Haarlam), there are good nibbles, and the staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. On a spare evening I was pointed towards a excellent characterful restaurant bar with live music.

I will end by saying that they should emphasise that they have a courtyard with wood burner, as it was a nice place to end a long day and I am not sure it was mentioned on the website!

Room Tip: I stayed in the 8 person room. It had good bunks, and everyone there was quiet and respectful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

One of the best hostels I have stayed in - so much so, this is actually my first time reviewing anything on Trip Advisor. But this hostel was so comfortable, welcoming and special that it deserves a few words.

If you want a hostel that treats you like an adult, with a desire to have a clean hostel, good bathrooms & shower, and some quiet at night, this is for you. It's still got a great social atmosphere to it but in a pleasant way.

It's also worth considering if you only want to be in the madness of Amsterdam for the day time.. Haarlem is only about 15 mins on the train (2 or 3 stops) from Centraal Station. For me, it was the perfect way to be able to have easy access to the city but pay less for accommodation - and get something special in the process.

The staff are very friendly and inviting - they make an effort to remember each guest's name and are always on hand to offer advice on things to do, help you with anything generally or just to chat. There's a great common area where people play board games and chat and drink a local beer. Across the street, is a really small pub with a bulldog (but friendly one) keeping watch over things through the day. I never felt things weren't safe there - even though the lockers under the beds don't actually have a facility to lock it securely, the whole vibe and atmosphere of the place lends itself to everyone watching out for and respecting each other's things.

The room I had was fantastic - although 8 beds, they were well spaced out and had individual reading lamps. Upon entering the room, there was even a small hallway type area with a door leading to an en-suite shower and sink (the bathroom was right next door). The beds were already made up fresh, with a big duvet and decent pillow. Good, clean kitchen facilities also.

Only downside for me was a group of party people in my room on my second and last night there - the usual no respect for their fellow travellers, lights on, talking to each other loudly on coming back from their night out but can't fault the hostel for that, it's the chance you take anywhere..
All in all, great hostel in a really lovely location, close to all amenities and well worth a stay. If only more hostels could follow this example!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

With the exception of the shared dorm style accommodations, this hostel is closer to a boutique hotel than a hostel. The decor was stunning. The overall vibe was comfy, clean, elegant, and unpretentious.

My bed was super comfy and the sheets, towels etc were all very clean. I ended up spending one of my nights sipping drinks by the fire instead of going out to a bar. They even have a cute lobby bar that serves snacks and drinks!

Loved my stay would definitely recommend staying here instead of staying in Amsterdam. Wonderful way to finish up my trip to the Netherlands.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Hello, I'm Local. The people who run it are friendly and helpful - and speak perfect English - and Haarlem itself is worth a visit. It's close enough to visit Amsterdam without having to stay there.
We stayed in two different private rooms during our stay. Both were clean and comfortable and innovatively furnished.
There's a nice fireplace out in the courtyard too.
Breakfast is not included, as it is at many hostels, but for 4 or 5 Euros, they will serve you some delicious breakfast or there's a fridge if you prefer to bring your own food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

On a trip through the Netherlands, we checked in at Hello I'm Local, and this was by far the best hostel we stayed at in Holland. Friendly, helpfull staff, clean rooms, toilets and showers and close to the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel

Address: Spiegelstraat 4, 2011BP Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel offers 12 unique rooms all different. From a private with 5 meter high ceiling to a 14 person dorm to an old fashion 'Bedstede'. All bedrooms have a private shower and sink other have their own everything. Don't worry the toilet won't be more than a step away. Towels and linen are included in the price, I'll make sure that your bed is already made when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.