We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine bar with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wijn & Ko

Wijn & Ko
Turfmarkt 20, Haarlem | Noord Holland, 2011CL Haarlem, The Netherlands
+31 23 737 0240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 216 Restaurants in Haarlem
Price range: $34 - $34
Cuisines: Dutch, International, Continental, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Wijn & Ko (Wine Guide Grootspraak's "Wine bar of the Year 2015") is a Wine cafe for the real wine & food lover. Ther is an extensive choice of wines by the glass (co owner and vinologist Cathy Moerdijk imports her own wines) against very reasonable prices. The kitchen is under supervision of Master Chaf and co owner Imko Binnerts. Is serves small "bites" to enable you to enjoy your glasss or bottle of wine even more and a 3 course menu is served with choice between seafood, meat or vegetarian dishes. Wijn & Ko is about enjoyment in a very relaxed atmosphere with just the two or together with great friends. For just a glass or a great dinner, you are more than welcome!!
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great wine bar with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wijn & Ko is in a great location at the Grote markt in the centre of Haarlem. It has lots of wines by the glass, arranged by price. Food is of excellent quality. Most are appetizers such as hams, bitterballen (of course) prawns, cheese platter etc, but there is also a daily menu. The steak is excellent.

There is a bar area and a dining area. Every time I went, it was full. So, I recommend booking in advance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect location for the sun in the market square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

After touring this pretty town we needed to eat and drink. We found this restaurant on one end of the square on market day. We had a nice table next to the building so we could watch the world go by. We ordered 2 appetizer platters, 1 cheese and the other meats. We also ordered the house rose by the glass. It's different in the Netherlands as they come by with the bottle to refill your glass instead of bringing new glasses each time. Saves on dishes. The food was just right for a nice relaxed lunch after a morning touring.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the best places in Haarlem, with the best bitterballen too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I love this place, It's my favourite place to eat in Haarlem, and I always enjoy it. Unfortunately the secret's out, as it's always busy!

There's outdoor seating at the front, overlooking the Grote Markt, but also a small terrace at the back (although I'm yet to see people sitting there).

Inside, you have a bar area with high stool tables, a small restaurant area, but also a cellar room with a large table - a possibility for a large group, I guess?

DRINKS: Come here for a glass of wine (the menu is extensive and the staff are well-versed in it), with a few, excellent bar snacks. My husband and I have tried bitterballen in most places in Haarlem, these are the best, hands down. There's other bar snack options, such as prawn croquettes, nuts, olives, Spanish hams, tuna sashimi... Quite mixed!

DINING: As for the dinner, truly delicious! They have a tiny menu (fish and chips or beef medallions in peppercorn sauce) and then they have a daily set 3 course menu for €25 (I think...) Always fresh and delicious! It's usually fish, as this is the sister restaurant to the well renowned fish restaurant Vis & Ko. The steak is great, the only downside is that the Caesar salad that it comes with is a little too rich for my liking, so it's a heavy meal overall. However, I've had it a few times, so it's obviously not a huge problem ;)

They have an amazing cheese selection as well, so save room for a cheese platter.

If you're in Haarlem for one night, this should be the place you go! I'd recommend booking.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent wine bar with food and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The front part of Wijn & Ko is the bar section, but beyond it is a nice, quieter dining area. Besides an extensive wine offering, there are light appetizers to pair with wine or their special meals of the day (limited menu). I had the brandied chicken, which was served in a crock with veggies and potatoes. It tasted very good and you could see the fresh herbs in the dish. Of course, the wine was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They do have some English menus.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“excellent food en wine but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Diner with friends and family, above all a winecafe where there is just one menu (take-it-or-leave-it). 3-course diner costs 25 euro at time of review, lot's of good wine's on the chart at affordable prices, range 3,50 Euro to 6,50 Euro a glass. Service is good and friendly but portions are small and took a long time between courses. You have to pay extra for side plates, salad, fries etc.

The restaurant has a good standard but is small and very noisy, we had to raise our voices to hear eachother, and no credits cards are accepted! This is a big no-no in my opinion, only cash or 'pinpas', this is really not done for such a profiled restaurant, but wil give it a 4 star because of the good price/quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wijn & Ko also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Wijn & Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wijn & Ko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.