We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away in a side street but well worth finding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Brick

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant Brick
Breestraat 24-26, Haarlem, The Netherlands
31235511870
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 200 Restaurants in Haarlem
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Congresbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tucked away in a side street but well worth finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very nice atmosphere, also has a roof terrace upstairs which is very popular and has to be reserved. Lovely food especially the veal and the duck. Great service.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh market food with a refined touch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This restaurant opened in October 2011, in the centre of Haarlem and I was really curious to try it!
What is the problem with the new spots in Haarlem?
It is always difficult to be spontaneous, and you need to book the table in advance!
Another thing I do not really like is when there is 2 rounds,... you take the risk if you come early to be told to move on as soon as you finished your dinner.

Nevertheless, I could easily book a table for 2 from 1 day to another, and I have to go to a concert straight after, so I did not suffer the pressure from the restaurant, but more from the Philarmonie! ;-)

The place is really cozy and well decorated, warm. The waiters were all very nice, helpful and making efforts to speak English!
The open kitchen is situated at the entrance, so you can see the people working.
We get a table on the 1st floor, and I loved what I discovered when I realized that I seat exactly on top of the kitchen that I was discovering from a glass floor!

We had some Ribera del Duero red wine. Quite young with some asperity, but still balanced and powerful with plenty of dark fruit.

As starter, I ordered smoked chicken salad with green leaves and fennel and a tarragon and yogurt dressing! Very nice!

Then I ordered the deer ribs served with some nice gravy and purple potatoes and Brussels sprouts. The meat was wonderful, tender and perfectly cooked! Really nice!

For dessert I tried the Toblerone mousse and orange salad. A little bit disappointing.I did not recognize the chocolate bar taste and it was really sweet and there was not enough orange to counter balance it.

The experience was nice. I would recommend then to go for the 3 courses menu at 25 Euros, that will keep the bill decent!

You can also stop by and just have some snack or a burger and be seated next to the kitchen on high table.


A ppetit Voyage is your globe-trotting connoisseur: helping you change your mind about food, wines and cooking!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“What a great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing night here with friends. We decided to go for the menu of the chef which gave us no choice, we had to trust the chefs judgement ! Couldn't have been better. The wine list was pretty good too and reasonably priced. Extremely friendly helpful staff. Will most defiantly go again as soon as possible.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We ate here last night for the first time and we will be back. Food was delicious my boyfriend took the menu, I chose carpaccio as a starter, best ever that I had. Main course was also good and next to this service super attent. Loved it, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Brick also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Brick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Brick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.