We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great discovery, Good Food - with a Bird's Eye View of Haarlem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La PLace

La PLace
Grote Houtstraat 70, Haarlem, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 200 Restaurants in Haarlem
Cuisines: Dutch
Restaurant details
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great discovery, Good Food - with a Bird's Eye View of Haarlem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We found it is hard to find good priced meals in the Netherlands - we cannot say this is the best bargain we have had on our travels, but for Dutch prices which are normally quite high, this place is one of the best values available. As it is self-service, there is no service charge and no tips to pay.
The best time is to go is for lunch as the restaurant closes early evening.The restaurant is on the top two floors of the V&D Department Store. There is a La Place
canteen on the ground floor, with no windows, and quite dark. We advise you to skip that and instead head for the La Place at the top of the same department store building.
The layout is several food stalls displaying wraps, sandwiches, helpf yourself salads, grilled steaks, roast chicken, cakes, juices, etc. You help yourself,put the food on the tray and then queue pay at the tills. There is also free water available -take a free glass and fill it yourself.
After paying, you can take your food tray up another stairs to the terrace level where you can enjoy a Bird's Eye View of Haarlem with your meal - you can sit indoors or outdoors in the terrace . In some cities, you would have to pay a hefty premium to eat at somewhere with such a magnificient view, but here it's included in your self-service lunch. Actually, if you do not want lunch, you might probably even be able buy a coffee or a drink and sit down to enjoy the view.

PS: We highly recommend the Smoked Salmond, Saland and Cream Cheese Bap - the serving is so generous you will feel filled for hours after that. And oh yeah, it is tasty too - all for 5.90euros.

PPS: La Place also have a branch in the V&D Department store in Amsterdam but that does not offer the wonderful views we enjoyed at the La Place in Haarlem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good value city-centre self service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nothing to dislike here - lots of choice - all good value options for lunch. Better to have lunch here than a meal later - some could find that prepared food is fresher at lunchtime than in the evening. The light lunches like soup, filled bread rolls and focaccia were delicious - you just had free choice of what you wanted; going back to get items as you required. Cakes and coffee in the afternoon were great. Watch out if you have tea though - the teabags are not easy to deal with.
All in all a good lunch option for a budget.
Venicefan UK (visited branches in Haarlem & Amsterdam)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food and amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Located on the top floor of a shopping mall, this place is perfect to have some lunch after a day of walking around and exploring the charms Haarlem's old city center has to offer. I went here for lunch with my boyfriend, and we both had a deluxe burger with fries. The quality of the food was very good, it was very delicious, and the portion of fries was so big none of us could finish it! In addition, a highlight of the lunch was the beautiful view over the entire city of Haarlem and the old church and market square.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mingle With the Locals for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Happy to see the one review submitted in January, 2013 and I heartily agree with the reviewer. We rented bikes at the train station the previous September and a local recommend La Place for lunch. Mingle with the townsfolk and enjoy good, affordable Dutch food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great view, affordable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a self-serve restaurant located at the top 2 floors of the V&D department store. Get a seat by the window and enjoy the great view over Haarlem, with the Grote Kerk in sight, while you eat. My wife had a soup and chicken salad, while I had a soup and sandwich. Both meals were under 10 euros each. The selection is large and affordable. There are desserts, smoothies and pastries as well. Overall, a great place to dine like the locals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La PLace also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to La PLace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La PLace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.