We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian food as it is supposed to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jai Bharat

Jai Bharat
Oude Groenmarkt 24, 2011 HL Oude Stad, Haarlem, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 216 Restaurants in Haarlem
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: www.jaibharat.nl/
Bonaire
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Indian food as it is supposed to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We made reservation for five. Upon entering Jai Barat, we found only two tables for two (separated as well) not taken.
The owner miraculously arranged half of the restaurant to accommodate our party of five within no time.
The food is almost too good to be true. It would take me half the page to describe all the flavors and textures that you sample. You can choose for mild (read spicy) or spicy (be prepared) or true Indian (call the fire brigade for immediate assistence). The ambiance is friendly and good. The service trails behind due to poor communication skills of the waitresses.
Nevertheless highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Indian food in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We only recently discovered Jai Bharat and have been 3 times in the past month (once with company from the UK), and we now consider it one of our favorite restaurants in town. This is Indian food as it should be, nuanced and delicate, a symphony of spices. Everything is delicious, from the papadums & homemade chutneys to the flavorful tandoori chicken, fluffy garlic nan, heavenly Biryani and saag paneer. All served with care by friendly staff in a tastefully decorated restaurant with fully-stocked bar just across from St. Bavo. The homemade Kulfi (ice cream with almonds and coconut) is a must, so refreshing and delicious...the perfect compliment to an excellent meal. Our friend from the UK said it was the best Indian food he'd ever eaten. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant lacking true indian taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Liked:- Interiors like an Indian restaurant, staff
Dislike:- Taste of food especially Indian vegetables...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Made a reservation here for my husband's birthday. Being British, we miss the great Indian food we used to eat back in the U.K.-thought this would be a special treat however, it was anything but that.
Although I had made a reservation which had been confirmed by the restaurant (which has to be done via e-mail rather than an on-line reservation system), it appeared they weren't really expecting us & gave us a table by the door which could have been quite cold due to the inclimate weather but luckily it wasn't. Along with a bottle of wine, we requested a bottle of water & an apple juice for our son-the later two never showed up & it took the waiter a good 15 mins to get the bottle of wine to our table. When ordering, the waitstaff never asked how spicey we wanted our meals (mild to strong) & I assumed that if you didn't say, that they'd come on the mild side. We soon realized however that we should have made it a point to request at least one mild dish as nearly all the dishes were far too spicey to fully enjoy & definitely too "hot" for our son to eat. We ended up having to order more naan bread for him & luckily had brought a sippy cup of water with us which he needed when he attempted to try the rest of the meal. Nearly all the dishes were "runny". There was absolutely no substance to any of them. You "poured" them onto your rice which was not appealing in any way. Also, the basmati rice portion was far too small for two people to share. The best part of the meal was the ice cream desert-simply because we were all still hungry & our mouths were burning. There is nothing authentic about this Indian restaurant-including the waitstaff who originate from Bhutan, even if they were friendly enough.To top it off, our bottle of wine which ended up being the only beverage on the table cost 3x its retail price-way too pricey for this sort of establishment. My suggestion, try elsewhere. We will be the next time we have an Indian food craving.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I'm quite new in the Haarlem area so I was quite excited to find a good Indian restaurant.

The interior is relaxing and inviting with comfortable seating and a warm atmosphere. I found the staff to be friendly and accomodating. Also, the fact that they all spoke flawless English was a plus! Not essentially a family restaurant, I was pleased with their welcoming vibe to my 9yr old daughter.

The curry was excellent. Full of flavour and spice. They didn't try to compensate for flavour with that familiar curry burn which is impressive (but also means that if you like a chilli kick you shouldn't be hesitant to ask for some extra on the side!). Great spread, good size portions, tasty food. 2 thumbs up!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jai Bharat also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Jai Bharat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jai Bharat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.