We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good biz hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toekanweg 2, NL 2035 Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good biz hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Went there for business. Had a room in the new wing. Very comfortable room and spacious. The staff is friendly and provide good service. Breakfeast is great. Not too far from haarlem city center. Could smoke a cigar in the smoking room. Only bad point, it s very slow to check out in the morning.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    70
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
28
54
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay here when I arrived in Europe 3 weeks ago and as I am departing tomorrow. It's the perfect spot to stay just outside of Amsterdam and close to the center of Haarlem which is a cool little city to see while in the Netherlands. This particular trip started with Fred picking me up in the complimentary shuttle service from Schiphol Airport. I arrived to a nice clean room with super comfy beds. Had a great breakfast in the restaurant and then Stella and Venessa at the front desk saved me. Literally, went out of their way to find me another room to stay in as all of amsterdam and surrounding is sold out due to an expo in the area. The service is exceptional and I cannot thank them enough!

Some rooms are completely renovated like the one I had on my first visit. I am in an older room, but still very spacious, new LCD TV's and bedding is great. It's very clean. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

There are two wings One is old and that is the cheaper price shown but the nicer wing with the photo shown is expensive but not quite 4 stars They don't use fabric softener for the sheets and towels plus there is no hand lotion There is two beds put together and they call it a queen It is far from town and it cost us $10 a day for the bus The management was not helpful when we had an issue Very unprofessional find another hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night and would stay agian. Located in a commercial area its a 20 minute walk in to the centre with plenty of pedestrian crossings or public transport. Free parking and very comfy beds were the highlight. Didn't try the breakfast but we asked for extra milk and got it straight away. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very nice for the price. Spacious and clean. Bathroom was lovely too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, Norfolk
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Second time here, both times on a business trip and the hotel provided by the company. Large well furnished and appointed rooms and bathrooms, great walk-in shower. Everything in my room was new and spotlessly clean so I find it difficult to see how only 60% on TA would recommend ?!
They have a very strict bar policy - if there's a customer, it stays open !! Certainly no complaints in that department and the staff were all friendly and helpful
Didn't have an evening meal but breakfast was good with cooked and continental options, plenty of choice and lots of dining space.
Would happily recommend and definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

When I write this review only 60% of the hotel guests that wrote a review on TA were recommending this hotel. And I wonder why only 60%? It is a very big hotel with 2 wings (old and new), with a huge parking area and it is a great place to start exploring Netherlands. We opted for a triple room with breakfast. The room is located at the ground floor of the hotel and you have to cross the restaurant to get to the triple rooms. It has 3 beds, one big LCD Tv, safe, big bathroom with bathtube and shower cabin and no minibar. The breakfast is really rich, you will find boiled and scrambled eggs, american pancakes, dutch cheese, ham, croissants, fruits, tomatoes, cucumbers, cooked mushrooms, bacon. You can also take away your coffee which it is really a plus for this hotel. Orange juice is natural and I really loved it. If you want to explore the city you can take bus 3 or 73 from Schipolweg stop for 2 euro one way.
Now coming to the minuses I observed: 1) the walls are thin and you can hear everything your neighbours are talking about; 2) the reception wanted to block around 600 euro on my credit card if I would have paid my total bill of 490 euro at the end of my stay. The reception did not explain me well this rule and they asked me to insert my pin in POS to block the 600 euro. I rejected the payment so I paid in advance my real bill. Why should I pay 110 euro more and to receive them back God knows when if I will not spend more than my accomodation and breakfast bill?
Except this minor incident we had a really enjoyable stay here, visiting the flower fields of Noordwijkherhout, Noordwijk and Lisse, Keukenhof Tulip Garden, Noordwijk beach, Zaanse Schans functional XVIIth century windmills and Amsterdam.
I totally recommend this hotel both for business and holiday.

Room Tip: Ask a room in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were on a cycle tour and the hotel were able to provide safe storage for our bikes.
This felt more like a business hotel. It does have a gym and pool but we didn't use it,
Our room was large and beds comfortable.. not much of a view though! If you are wanting a double bed in Holland then you need to request it, ours were two singles pushed together and made up separately!
Bathroom had bath and separate shower and there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
Price was £85 for the night exc breakfast which we thought was reasonable for a four star hotel. Especially as we had paid 102 for a three star in Lisse the night before!
Hotel is a short walk to the old part of Haarlem which unfortunately had a noisy fairground in the main square which rather spoilt it for us as I imagine it would have been lovely! But its like a mini Amsterdam and I would definitely go back avoiding a bank holiday weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed if you want one as twins seem to be popular in Holland!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Address: Toekanweg 2, NL 2035 Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem is located at the border of the historical center of Haarlem. From the hotel you can easily visit the beaches of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal and Amsterdam or The Hague. The hotel is located not far from the airport Schiphol. The city of Haarlem is certainly worth a visit with its beautiful canals, old buildings, inner-gardens and of course the famous Teylers Museum and Frans Hals Museum.Our guests enjoy free high-speed internet, free parking and free access to Anybody Healthcenter. We would like to welcome all business guests in one of our 14 meetingrooms, ranging from 13 to 900 m². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.