We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality all the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toekanweg 2, NL 2035 Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Dereham, Norfolk
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quality all the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Second time here, both times on a business trip and the hotel provided by the company. Large well furnished and appointed rooms and bathrooms, great walk-in shower. Everything in my room was new and spotlessly clean so I find it difficult to see how only 60% on TA would recommend ?!
They have a very strict bar policy - if there's a customer, it stays open !! Certainly no complaints in that department and the staff were all friendly and helpful
Didn't have an evening meal but breakfast was good with cooked and continental options, plenty of choice and lots of dining space.
Would happily recommend and definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    74
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
30
58
9
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

When I write this review only 60% of the hotel guests that wrote a review on TA were recommending this hotel. And I wonder why only 60%? It is a very big hotel with 2 wings (old and new), with a huge parking area and it is a great place to start exploring Netherlands. We opted for a triple room with breakfast. The room is located at the ground floor of the hotel and you have to cross the restaurant to get to the triple rooms. It has 3 beds, one big LCD Tv, safe, big bathroom with bathtube and shower cabin and no minibar. The breakfast is really rich, you will find boiled and scrambled eggs, american pancakes, dutch cheese, ham, croissants, fruits, tomatoes, cucumbers, cooked mushrooms, bacon. You can also take away your coffee which it is really a plus for this hotel. Orange juice is natural and I really loved it. If you want to explore the city you can take bus 3 or 73 from Schipolweg stop for 2 euro one way.
Now coming to the minuses I observed: 1) the walls are thin and you can hear everything your neighbours are talking about; 2) the reception wanted to block around 600 euro on my credit card if I would have paid my total bill of 490 euro at the end of my stay. The reception did not explain me well this rule and they asked me to insert my pin in POS to block the 600 euro. I rejected the payment so I paid in advance my real bill. Why should I pay 110 euro more and to receive them back God knows when if I will not spend more than my accomodation and breakfast bill?
Except this minor incident we had a really enjoyable stay here, visiting the flower fields of Noordwijkherhout, Noordwijk and Lisse, Keukenhof Tulip Garden, Noordwijk beach, Zaanse Schans functional XVIIth century windmills and Amsterdam.
I totally recommend this hotel both for business and holiday.

Room Tip: Ask a room in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were on a cycle tour and the hotel were able to provide safe storage for our bikes.
This felt more like a business hotel. It does have a gym and pool but we didn't use it,
Our room was large and beds comfortable.. not much of a view though! If you are wanting a double bed in Holland then you need to request it, ours were two singles pushed together and made up separately!
Bathroom had bath and separate shower and there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
Price was £85 for the night exc breakfast which we thought was reasonable for a four star hotel. Especially as we had paid 102 for a three star in Lisse the night before!
Hotel is a short walk to the old part of Haarlem which unfortunately had a noisy fairground in the main square which rather spoilt it for us as I imagine it would have been lovely! But its like a mini Amsterdam and I would definitely go back avoiding a bank holiday weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed if you want one as twins seem to be popular in Holland!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was second times to stayed in this hotel, rooms very well and comfortable. Good food. Staff very good to gave information. But this hotel a bit far from the city center. Sometime the bicycle for rent in the totel not enough, then need to walk a bit far to rent at the other hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room nearly to swimming pool, so very go to swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Staying for 3 nights over Easter. Rooms very well appointed with large bathrooms. Only one complaint, the rooms don't have air conditioning and as Saturday was a very warm day we were far too hot that night. Opening a window I guess would solve the problem but we look out over a main road...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Valk Hotel is undergoing gradual renovation so there are two general types of rooms – Standard (non-renovated) and Comfort (renovated). We looked at both and selected the Comfort Plus rooms as they were nicely appointed with 2 person bathtubs. With a 3 day rate, the price was reasonable for the quality of room and included free parking. The hotel lobby area is very nice, with a number of couches and tables for relaxing or working.

The hotel rents good quality 3 and 7 speed bikes for E8.50 a day, which is comparable to local bike rentals and very convenient. A ride to Zaandvoort through the dunes national park is a great ride for a day. Riding through the town to sight see or visit the grocery store also makes you feel almost like a real Netherlander. And in Haarlem you can do this easily whereas in central Amsterdam it is a lot more challenging.

We did not eat at the hotel, prices were typical for this type of hotel, quite high.

The rooms and beds were comfortable and spacious. A few niggling complaints; glasses and porcelain cups are appropriate at this level of hotel, plastic is just not the way to sip wine or beer or have a tea or coffee. But the towel heaters were great for drying clothes and the showers (rain and hand held shower) and tubs were spacious.

Rick Steves suggests Haarlem as a possible home base for visiting Amsterdam. Its not a bad plan as Haarlem is a lot calmer than Amsterdam but it is not a cheap alternative. Buses in Haarlem are E2.50 to go anywhere and not covered by an Amsterdam day pass. The train to Amsterdam is E8.50 for a round trip. So if you have a car, driving to a Park and Ride near Amsterdam’s ring road is a better deal.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are new but the standard ones are just fine - shower only. Take the parking lot side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I always like van der Valk hotels because they never dissapoint me. Not in a positive way, but more important: not in a negative way. This hotel is just a stroll away from the city center and has lots of parkingplaces. I stayed in a room in the newly build wing of the hotel, which was a perfect room. The food (buffet) is always magnificient in van der Valk.

Cons: a lack of personal attention, the hotel is a little dated and not very romantic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Address: Toekanweg 2, NL 2035 Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem is located at the border of the historical center of Haarlem. From the hotel you can easily visit the beaches of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal and Amsterdam or The Hague. The hotel is located not far from the airport Schiphol. The city of Haarlem is certainly worth a visit with its beautiful canals, old buildings, inner-gardens and of course the famous Teylers Museum and Frans Hals Museum.Our guests enjoy free high-speed internet, free parking and free access to Anybody Healthcenter. We would like to welcome all business guests in one of our 14 meetingrooms, ranging from 13 to 900 m². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.