We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toekanweg 2, NL 2035 Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Staying for 3 nights over Easter. Rooms very well appointed with large bathrooms. Only one complaint, the rooms don't have air conditioning and as Saturday was a very warm day we were far too hot that night. Opening a window I guess would solve the problem but we look out over a main road...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    92
    43
    19
    16
See reviews for
33
76
9
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Valk Hotel is undergoing gradual renovation so there are two general types of rooms – Standard (non-renovated) and Comfort (renovated). We looked at both and selected the Comfort Plus rooms as they were nicely appointed with 2 person bathtubs. With a 3 day rate, the price was reasonable for the quality of room and included free parking. The hotel lobby area is very nice, with a number of couches and tables for relaxing or working.

The hotel rents good quality 3 and 7 speed bikes for E8.50 a day, which is comparable to local bike rentals and very convenient. A ride to Zaandvoort through the dunes national park is a great ride for a day. Riding through the town to sight see or visit the grocery store also makes you feel almost like a real Netherlander. And in Haarlem you can do this easily whereas in central Amsterdam it is a lot more challenging.

We did not eat at the hotel, prices were typical for this type of hotel, quite high.

The rooms and beds were comfortable and spacious. A few niggling complaints; glasses and porcelain cups are appropriate at this level of hotel, plastic is just not the way to sip wine or beer or have a tea or coffee. But the towel heaters were great for drying clothes and the showers (rain and hand held shower) and tubs were spacious.

Rick Steves suggests Haarlem as a possible home base for visiting Amsterdam. Its not a bad plan as Haarlem is a lot calmer than Amsterdam but it is not a cheap alternative. Buses in Haarlem are E2.50 to go anywhere and not covered by an Amsterdam day pass. The train to Amsterdam is E8.50 for a round trip. So if you have a car, driving to a Park and Ride near Amsterdam’s ring road is a better deal.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are new but the standard ones are just fine - shower only. Take the parking lot side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I always like van der Valk hotels because they never dissapoint me. Not in a positive way, but more important: not in a negative way. This hotel is just a stroll away from the city center and has lots of parkingplaces. I stayed in a room in the newly build wing of the hotel, which was a perfect room. The food (buffet) is always magnificient in van der Valk.

Cons: a lack of personal attention, the hotel is a little dated and not very romantic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We've been here before but never in the restaurant which was excellent.
Especially the service by waitress Robin who looked after us.
It was that good that we visited twice in three days.
Only one remark, there aren't many nut free dishes,even the vegetarian was with nuts.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Västerås
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

After a quick and welcoming check in came the good surprise, the room. Big, airy and spacious with comfortably beds. There where no disturbing sounds so I slept very well both nights. The bathroom with bathtub and a separate walk-in "rain shower" was excellent. Stayed for two nights and had dinner at the restaurant on the first night. The staff was very friendly and serviceminded. The next surprise was when the waitress spoke in fluent Swedish to me. The food was more then ok and not expensive, compared to swedish measures at least. Breakfast was also really good, both cold and warm things and I didn't miss anything. I can highly recommend the hotel for business trips.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed for Just one night Rooms are very spacious, and spotlessly clean ,Hotel staff friendly.
stayed for dinner which was exceptional value with quality(they even threw in a bottle of house wine) Breakfast was amongst the best I have ever had with variety,offering fresh fruits,smoked salmon,as well as your usual continental and full cooked options.We took a taxi into Haarlem and returned same way approx 10 Euro.Haarlem is a beautiful town,and has an easy access into Amsterdam by rail (approx 15 mins)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel has a newer and older section. I stayed in the newer section and I feel like I might have been the first person to ever stay in my room. The rooms are very very modern with a comfortable bed. The bathroom is great, it has one of those overheard large rain showers. Overall I found the room excellent. The restaurant in the hotel is great, we had both dinner and breakfast there. The only downside I can find with this hotel is that it's a pretty long walk to get into Haarlem. The weather was really bad so I didn't try to walk anywhere from the hotel, but I really didn't see much that was within close walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Address: Toekanweg 2, NL 2035 Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem is located at the border of the historical center of Haarlem. From the hotel you can easily visit the beaches of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal and Amsterdam or The Hague. The hotel is located not far from the airport Schiphol. The city of Haarlem is certainly worth a visit with its beautiful canals, old buildings, inner-gardens and of course the famous Teylers Museum and Frans Hals Museum.Our guests enjoy free high-speed internet, free parking and free access to Anybody Healthcenter. We would like to welcome all business guests in one of our 14 meetingrooms, ranging from 13 to 900 m². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.