We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toekanweg 2, NL 2035 Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Staying for 3 nights over Easter. Rooms very well appointed with large bathrooms. Only one complaint, the rooms don't have air conditioning and as Saturday was a very warm day we were far too hot that night. Opening a window I guess would solve the problem but we look out over a main road...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    71
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
27
52
9
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Valk Hotel is undergoing gradual renovation so there are two general types of rooms – Standard (non-renovated) and Comfort (renovated). We looked at both and selected the Comfort Plus rooms as they were nicely appointed with 2 person bathtubs. With a 3 day rate, the price was reasonable for the quality of room and included free parking. The hotel lobby area is very nice, with a number of couches and tables for relaxing or working.

The hotel rents good quality 3 and 7 speed bikes for E8.50 a day, which is comparable to local bike rentals and very convenient. A ride to Zaandvoort through the dunes national park is a great ride for a day. Riding through the town to sight see or visit the grocery store also makes you feel almost like a real Netherlander. And in Haarlem you can do this easily whereas in central Amsterdam it is a lot more challenging.

We did not eat at the hotel, prices were typical for this type of hotel, quite high.

The rooms and beds were comfortable and spacious. A few niggling complaints; glasses and porcelain cups are appropriate at this level of hotel, plastic is just not the way to sip wine or beer or have a tea or coffee. But the towel heaters were great for drying clothes and the showers (rain and hand held shower) and tubs were spacious.

Rick Steves suggests Haarlem as a possible home base for visiting Amsterdam. Its not a bad plan as Haarlem is a lot calmer than Amsterdam but it is not a cheap alternative. Buses in Haarlem are E2.50 to go anywhere and not covered by an Amsterdam day pass. The train to Amsterdam is E8.50 for a round trip. So if you have a car, driving to a Park and Ride near Amsterdam’s ring road is a better deal.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are new but the standard ones are just fine - shower only. Take the parking lot side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I always like van der Valk hotels because they never dissapoint me. Not in a positive way, but more important: not in a negative way. This hotel is just a stroll away from the city center and has lots of parkingplaces. I stayed in a room in the newly build wing of the hotel, which was a perfect room. The food (buffet) is always magnificient in van der Valk.

Cons: a lack of personal attention, the hotel is a little dated and not very romantic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aerdenhout, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We've been here before but never in the restaurant which was excellent.
Especially the service by waitress Robin who looked after us.
It was that good that we visited twice in three days.
Only one remark, there aren't many nut free dishes,even the vegetarian was with nuts.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Västerås
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

After a quick and welcoming check in came the good surprise, the room. Big, airy and spacious with comfortably beds. There where no disturbing sounds so I slept very well both nights. The bathroom with bathtub and a separate walk-in "rain shower" was excellent. Stayed for two nights and had dinner at the restaurant on the first night. The staff was very friendly and serviceminded. The next surprise was when the waitress spoke in fluent Swedish to me. The food was more then ok and not expensive, compared to swedish measures at least. Breakfast was also really good, both cold and warm things and I didn't miss anything. I can highly recommend the hotel for business trips.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed for Just one night Rooms are very spacious, and spotlessly clean ,Hotel staff friendly.
stayed for dinner which was exceptional value with quality(they even threw in a bottle of house wine) Breakfast was amongst the best I have ever had with variety,offering fresh fruits,smoked salmon,as well as your usual continental and full cooked options.We took a taxi into Haarlem and returned same way approx 10 Euro.Haarlem is a beautiful town,and has an easy access into Amsterdam by rail (approx 15 mins)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel has a newer and older section. I stayed in the newer section and I feel like I might have been the first person to ever stay in my room. The rooms are very very modern with a comfortable bed. The bathroom is great, it has one of those overheard large rain showers. Overall I found the room excellent. The restaurant in the hotel is great, we had both dinner and breakfast there. The only downside I can find with this hotel is that it's a pretty long walk to get into Haarlem. The weather was really bad so I didn't try to walk anywhere from the hotel, but I really didn't see much that was within close walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Address: Toekanweg 2, NL 2035 Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem is located at the border of the historical center of Haarlem. From the hotel you can easily visit the beaches of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal and Amsterdam or The Hague. The hotel is located not far from the airport Schiphol. The city of Haarlem is certainly worth a visit with its beautiful canals, old buildings, inner-gardens and of course the famous Teylers Museum and Frans Hals Museum.Our guests enjoy free high-speed internet, free parking and free access to Anybody Healthcenter. We would like to welcome all business guests in one of our 14 meetingrooms, ranging from 13 to 900 m². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.